We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Capella Beach Resort to your Saves list
Barcelo Capella Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio 4750, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Juan Dolio
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Last time I was here was a few years ago....decided to stay here again....it was descent...they sold half the hotel, so the building with the newly renovated rooms and the best part of the beach no longer belongs to the hotel. The hotel was packed most of the time we stayed there. It was difficult to find sunbeds on the beach. Massages on the beach were great. There are many vendors walking by, but if you say No thanks, they will leave you alone. They are not harmless people. The food was descent, but sometimes the food trays were empty and it took the staff a long time to replenish the food. At times it was difficult to also find a table to sit at the restaurant. Entertainment was also descent, so was the disco.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Raechka,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you have choosen our property for your last vacation.

Thank you for letting us know your overall experience, we take note of your comments and will take the actions to improve in the restaurant and entertainment, your comments are the only way that we can improve and know where we have to work in order to obtain total satisfaction of our customers.

Again we thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you again in the early future.

Best Regards,

Mr. Patricio Vigouroux
General Manager
Barceló Capella Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    350
    271
    188
    222
See reviews for
254
410
54
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

When we looked into this resort it is was and is listed as a 4 star resort. We clicked on the photos that are attached and decided to go ahead and book. We have heard good things about the Barceló chain and were excited to go on our much needed vacation. When we arrived I was a little concerned as the outside looked a little run down but yet “authentic” looking. I arrived inside and literally walked right past the front desk as it is literally tucked away in the right hand corner and not quite visible. We were assigned our room and our concerns were becoming more and more up front. The buildings on site are very very run down. We were taken to our room which made us want to cry, thinking we are here for a week; I almost wanted to turn and go home!
We are not prissy and snobby people. We have vacationed in many parts of Mexico, Jamaica & Cuba and stayed in resorts that were 3 stars and were in better condition than this one. I went back to the front desk and asked if we would be able to get moved to a better room. The lady & man behind the counter looked at us in shock. I explained how we booked this expecting a 4 star and this is definitely more like a 3. I asked about possible staying in one of the new looking building which is on site. I was shocked to find out that the new building were sold around a year ago and turned into residential suites. The best they could do was moving us to a main floor room with a patio, but still in the old and run down building. So we did take them up on the offer and moved.

Our room was in such need of TLC. The tile floor was literally chipped everywhere. The broken pieces were either glued back in or replaced with silicone. The furniture consisted of warped wood. The bedding had cigarette burns throughout. The lamps shades were rusted. The mini fridge was also covered in rust. The ceiling and walls had races of mold that had been covered over in paint. The curtains were yellowed. The area rug was so worn that the fibers were missing in parts. There were gaps around the door where you could see outside without opening the door. The bathroom was disgusting with a stained tub, rusting faucets and screws either missing or falling out. Again missing tub surround tiles were replaced with silicone. The taps that didn’t fit flush against the wall were filled in with yes more silicone. There was either chipping paint or rusted screws on the door frames. The hallway to our room was dark, unlit and felt unsafe. As well as there was a pile of garbage left in the hallway for a couple of days.

The service there was also the worst I have ever experienced in all of my travels. At meals we would have to get our own beverages and even cutlery & napkins at times. It wasn’t that they were over worked as the resort was quite empty looking to us and they had a lot of staff. Plus it wasn’t that we didn’t leave because we did. Any other resort after the first couple days the staff would see you coming and have a table and bring your drinks and keep them full. Not here! At the bars the drink selection was very sparse and some drinks you were required to pay for. Again nothing we ever had to do!

Speaking of bars…many were closed hours before the sign stated. So we would get up to go to the other one only to find them closing also. There wasn’t even a lobby to sit in and have a drink, and I don’t always mean an alcoholic one but not even a soft drink or coffee. We did find some outdoor patio furniture however the cushions were missing and the metal pushed into your legs making for a very uncomfortable rest. Other resorts have coffee, cappuccino and soft drinks readily available…Not here! Another disappointment was the food. If you missed a meal you had to wait until the next one. The snack bar was seldom open and the selection was quite sparse. I never expected to have to set an alarm to be sure to have a meal when on what is supposed to be a restful vacation.

The grounds were also in need of some loving. There were dead leaves all over…all week!!! Where were the gardeners? The shrubs were in need of a manicure. The pathways & sidewalks were quite dangerous as the materials used were constantly changing. There were parts that contained marble, stone, cements crushed asphalt and even rock. There was even a broken light post next to the stairs that had exposed wires…not very safe!

Our Sun Wing Representative was rarely there and weren’t able to book any excursions. As we were looking forward to possibly parasailing, zip lining, going on a catamaran & snorkeling none of that happened, so yes yet again another disappoint.

Room Tip: simply don't book here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Shnigglepops,

Thanks for choosen Barceló Hotels & Resorts.

We are very sorry that you had a bad experience during your last visit to our property.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you had in your last visit, you can be sure that we will follow all the problems you mentioned and we will revise each one in order to see how we can improve in each area as our main goal is to solve the problems that our guest have had so we can give a better service in a future visit from you or from other guests.

Again please accept our apologies for the inconveniences and thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,

Patricio Vigouroux
General Manager
Barceló Capella Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I'm not one to complain but this was one of the worst resorts I've been to...

Service:
Front Desk = Horrible

Buffet = depends on the day and where you sit...sporadic

A la Carte = disappointing...there was barely anyone at the resort and yet we waited almost an hour for service at both a la cartes for disgusting food...we ended up eating at the buffet after both times...

Room service = nothing special fridges weren't always stocked and no clean towels

Rooms were damp and mouldy air conditioner didn't work and came home with damp smelly clothes

Beach was rocky and I was unable to swim...the other reviews are right ya like the vendor line up one right after another to try and sell you things...you say no to one and not a half second later another person selling the same thing comes up to you to sell the same thing you decline to buy from the previous person...

Food was okay at the buffet

Only one bar open (beside the buffet)

No activities by the pool

Grounds were nice but I didn't just pay for nice grounds

Only saving grace to this trip was the fact that we had a vehicle and friends in the area who took us to their beach which was swimable and their bar which didn't have watered down drinks and amazing food! We also got to hang out in San Pedro which was always a good time...

Over all would rather spend the extra money for a nice resort in Cuba than stay here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Candicimo82,

Thanks for taking the time share your review and for choosing Barceló Hotels & Resorts.

We are sorry that you had a bad experience during your visit to our property.

We would like you to give us all the information about your bookings, as we want to investigate the rooms where you stayed and verify this situation that you report about the mold, we also took note of the other problems you mentioned and revised each one in order to see how we can improve. Our main goal is resolve the problems that our guest had so we can give a better service in a future visit from you or from other guests.

Please feel free to send us the information to the email: capella.dir@barcelo.com

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences and thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,


Mr. Patricio Vigouroux
General Manager
Barceló Capella Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The grounds and beach area are beautiful, the food is good and night shows are good but the rooms especially the bathroom need major upgrade. My wife and i had our room changed twice because we complained about the bad conditions they were in. I hope they invest in remodeling the bathrooms , if they do this resort is a great place to go.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 2nd and 3rd level, stay away from ground level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Luis S

Thanks for your review.

We are glad that you and your wife have chosen our property for your last vacation and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We took note of your comments about our rooms and we will revise each one in order to make the corrections and guarantee total satisfaction to you and to all our customer in a next visit.

We look forward to have you again in our property.

Best Regards,

Patricio Vigouroux
General Manager
Barceló Capella Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I decided to honeymoon here and it was the worst decision ever. The rooms smelled of mold and mildew. There was mildew on the sheets, mattress and on the lampshades. There were bugs in the bed and all over the bathroom. The shower curtain was a plastic liner. There was also rust in the tub. I cried from the moment we arrived and told my husband, I want to go home. I am not staying here. We requested an upgraded room and was declined, but we got in contact with Apple and the hotel then gave us an upgrade. Problem was it was a bigger room with the same conditions in addition there was a water leak from the ceiling and a broken toilet that would not flush. I refused to sleep in the rooms - they were so nasty, so we slept on the beach in beach chairs our first night. The food was not good either. While we were eating stray cats would come up to our table. I did not have a full meal while there for an entire day. We refused to stay there and demanded to be upgraded to a different resort. The next morning, Apple found us a better resort and it was the best.....!!!! Never go to Barceló Capella!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Sharika J.,

Thanks for your review and for choosing Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your honey moon.

We are sorry that you had a bad experience during your visit to our property.

We would like you to give us all the information about your booking, as we want to investigate the rooms where you stayed and verify this situation that you report about the mold, we also took note of the other problems you mentioned and will revise each one in order to see how we can improve our service. Our main goal is resolve the problems that our guest had so we can give a better service in a future visit from you or from other guests.

Please feel free to send us the information to the email: capella.dir@barcelo.com

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences and thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,

Mr. Patricio Vigouroux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were a group of 20 people across 8 rooms- couples, families and singles. The location was great, not a whole lot near by, but we weren't leaving the resort much. I LOVE that the dive shop we used (Neptune Dive) was on the property. So great! We just walked to the shop, hopped on a boat, and we were off (see my review of Neptune Divers). The food was okay, not really what I am used to in an all-inclusive. Limited a-la-cart restaurants, and the buffet, though it changed daily, had limited fruits and veggies offered. I would have expected a lot of produce for a tropical island. The towel situation was utterly ridiculous. They are constantly running out of towels and towel cards. It seems like an easy problem to fix, yet it happened day after day. The hospitality here wasn't as good as we have come to expect, and we have stayed at Barcelo in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. It is almost impossible to get coffee before your breakfast gets cold and don't try to pour it yourself or they will get on your case for doing so. Also, I think some of the staff might be prostitutes (men, too). I'll just leave it at that. Overall, it was a good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Randi C.,

Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation, we appreciate that you took some time to share your comments in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your family vacations, We took note of your comments and revised each one in order to see how we can improve in each case. Our main goal is to solve the problems that our guest had so we can give a better service in a future visit from you or from other guests.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,

Mr. Patricio Vigouroux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The grounds and beach were beautiful but the room was old with an overwhelming mold and mildew smell. There were cracked floor tiles throughout room. The sheets were dirty. I would not stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bcapella, General Manager at Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Donna B.,

Thanks for choosing Barceló Capella Beach for your last vacation, we appreciate that you took some time to share your comments in Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry that we didn’t filled your expectations.

We took note of your comments and revised each one in order to see how we can improve in each case. Our main goal is to solve the problems that our guest had so we can give a better service in a future visit from you or from other guests. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our grounds and beach.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,

Mr. Patricio Vigouroux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Capella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Capella Beach Resort

Address: Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio 4750, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Capella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Capella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Capella Beach Hotel
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Barcelo Cappella Beach Resort
Capella Beach Resort
Barcello Capella
Cappella Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Capella Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.