We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked Cabarete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hooked Cabarete to your Saves list
Hooked Cabarete
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Los Cocos 120/121 | Cabarete, Cabarete 120121, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt like family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Honestly I was skeptical of going to a place in a different country that I had no idea about. When we got there it was like we were family. He personally took us to get groceries and get our money exchanged then showed us around the town. I really dk their intention is to make money I think they just love this job and love the different people from all over the world staying there. Always felt safe, and at one point we left our room with all our money and valuables laying around, not knowing they did room service every day, and every cent was just moved off to the side so they could clean for us, never felt the need to use the safe provided. They were so kind, and all of the people staying there were some of the coolest people I have ever met! Highly recommend if you are going to stay around this area you stay at this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Take us back! My husband and I just returned from a weeklong stay at Hooked Cabarete and have nothing but good things to say about it.

The rooms were extremely clean and private and the grounds were beautifully maintained, not to mention the fun surf that is only a short walk down the road!

Walter and Jeanette were wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed, and had great advice for what to do and where to go in the area.

The trip exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

5 stars plus 5 more. If you want to have an absolutely perfect Caribbean vacation, stay at Hooked. The accommodations were great, hospitality was amazing, and the grounds were extremely quiet and relaxing.

Hooked gave us everything we were expecting out of this vacation and then some.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Hooked Cabarete. The rooms are very clean and nice. The owners are great people that went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. It's a great place for families or just friends to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Walter and Jeanette were great hosts. The place was beautiful and located in a quiet area just outside of Cabarete. Encuentro beach was a 10 min leisurely walk from Hooked and an easy one. The beach was a nice alternative to the hectic beach in Cabarete. And, if you're up for a longer walk, it is possible to walk to downtown Cabarete via the beach. Carlos does an awesome job on the grounds of Hooked making it like a little oasis after a long day of taking one of the tours out of Cabarete.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Perfect location for surf, beautiful place and Walter and Jeanette is such wonderful hosts. Made me feel welcome at once and greeted me even when I arrived in the middle of the night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you are looking for a magic place in Cabarete area - Hooked is the one. First of all the location (but not the best of all). It stays right at the surfing beach - playa Encuentro - 10 min walk and you are the first one in the water with the fist lights before all the beach-taxis and shuttles arrive. Second - the place. It is very safe and secure, it gives the feeling of getting into a little oasis: lots of greenery, coconut palms with fresh cocos kindly served by Carlos, the gardener. A big swimming pool, a hammock at your doorstep, BBQ spot and a little 'living room' outdoor where you'll find lots of games to play and books to read. Aaaand... a Nespresso Coffee machine! Just imagine enjoying a true great coffee every morning before jumping in the water. Well, if you are a coffee lover as I am - it is a BIG thing seriously as you it's not easy to find an espresso shot in dominican apart from some fancy cafe' in the village.
There is a yoga terrace too, full equipped to be mentioned. As for a yoga teacher myself I would highly recommend attending the class at Hooked. One need it after surf, before surf and just to feel your vitality so connected to the nature, followed with the sound of it, just surrounding you. It cannot be compared with any city-studios you may be following....
My third point and the main one is the Hooked owners Walter and Janet! And the whole family they created. Staying there you become a part of it, a member of this little Hooked community but not just a random guest of the hotel. They were too much helpful to us, amazingly welcoming. We felt so comfortable from the very beginning so we wanted to let everyone know, to share, bringing our friends for dinners or just to chill at the pool - and everyone would feel the atmosphere.
The place is totally recommended to stay there. Even if you have only 1 day to stop on your road - you should definitely choose it, or come and stay over the winter. no regrets promise.

Room Tip: any room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hooked Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooked Cabarete

Address: Calle Los Cocos 120/121 | Cabarete, Cabarete 120121, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hooked Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hooked Cabarete is the accommodation located closest (500m) from the world-class surf spot called Playa Encuentro in Cabarete. Our guests are active people who "hate" big All Inclusive resorts. We cater to wave surfers, kiters, wind surfers, divers, hikers, mountain bikers, Yoga enthusiasts, Spanish learners etc Our studio apartments are located around a pool in a tropical garden. Our place is very quiet, safe and clean. The owners Jeannette and Walter Derungs are Swiss who have lived mostly in the USA before settling in the DR. Our goal is to make sure our guests go home with happy memories of a interesting and relaxing vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hooked Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked Cabarete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.