We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked Cabarete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hooked Cabarete to your Saves list
Hooked Cabarete
Calle Los Cocos 120/121 | Cabarete, Cabarete 120121, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Roses, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place and fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had an awesome time with my friends staying at Hooked.

Walter and Jeanette are fantastic hosts and the location is just super.

I came to surf with my friends and unfortunately the waves where not that good but we still had a great time and met a lot of other lovely guests staying at Hooked.

I can only recommend you stay here if you come to Cabarete

Location is great (very close to beach), rooms are well maintained and have everything you need andSecurity is great

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We live in Santo Domingo and traveled to Cabarete for Holy week long week end. We found Hooked at the last minute by internet. It turned out to be the best choice we could ever make! The weather was really bad which could have ruined our week end but it didn't matter at all thanks to the great experience we had in this hotel, hanging with other guests from all over the world and with our hosts Walter and Jeanette. We spent our stay around the swimming pool in the lovely garden, enjoying yoga classes and partying in Cabarete, the perfect mix for a great time for me and my boyfriend and we had tons of fun. To say a word about accommodations, they were big and we enjoyed the hot water any time of the day, not really easy to find in DR. Every room has a terrace and a kitchen and a hammock. So if you're not really the sport type, you can just go for hammocking! I loved it and would definitely come back!!! Thank you Walter and Jeanette!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have been here for 2 times (alone and with my Exboyfriend) and I just can say. ITS AN AMAZING PLACE. The owners Walter and Jeanette make u feel like home and have a sympathic ear for every matter. When the weather or the swells are not good you have also the opportunity to do a WELLNESS PROGRAM (Massages, Yoga Lessons, Detox etc), can read or listen to music at the Chill Lounge or u can get some Spanish Lessons. There are a lot of People who TRAVEL ALONE, the place is quite small so you get to knew each other fastly...also its so quiete and relaxed here that u can find a rest everytime..the nice BBQ Area at the Pool invites you to be and cook together.I will come here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just echoing what others have said. We traveled pretty extensively in the Dominican Republic and the hospitality at Hooked was beyond an thing else we experienced. You immediately feel like family, they introduce you to the other guests and even find you if anyone is going to the supermarket. The grounds are immaculate, the lodging is bright and airy,and the beach is a pleasant quarter mile (or less) walk.

We were here as a small family, and it is great forthat-.even a good assortment of games. But there were all sorts there--all very friendly. If I could give it six stars I would

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I just loved my three weeks-stay at hooked in feburary 2013! Everything was perfect: accommodation, service, help and the other guests.
Jeanette and Walter, the new owners, make this place feel as comfortable as home and take amazing care of their guests, no matter what you want or need (for example a little milk for your coffee or a ride to the supermarket). They also offer a lot of tips for things you want to do: find a nice restaurant, a spanish course, surf lessons or a board rental, trip to the waterfalls, ... Hooked offers basically everything you might need for an amazing stay: you can rent a scooter, do yoga, book surf lessons with their partner house of waves (great thanks to Jesmarin!) or go on trips with mat or helmut. I for my part especially loved the getting in touch with the local people working there, even if it was just to say a few words of thanks in spanish or listening to bachata.
Although my sister and I had quite different interests (she is more of an active and party girl whereas I enjoy a secluded time on my holidays) both of us were able to spend our time at hooked just the way we wanted. The apartments and the terasses give you privacy and space to read or write, you can relax in the sun or the shades of the coconut palm trees at the pool or talk to all the amazing people who come to hooked.
I had it all - "me-time" with my books, hanging at the pool, surfing at the famous encuentro-beach, having barbecue with a bunch of the most interesting people and making new friends, going out to party and dancing in cabarete. The only downside is the wanting to go back there immediately :)
Thank you again, Jeanette and Walter!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed for 5 days and 4 nights at the "Hooked Cabarete" in Playa Encuentro near Sosua.
To a local surf hotspot, I was guided by fate and a small, cozy mom and pop environment.
It is not a hotel or can not be labelled, but enough to say the owners Walter and Janette are wonderful hosts and very generous with their amenities.
I can not wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be similar, I do not know for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our second time at Hooked. While we loved the place the first time, new owners Walter and Jeanette have really made some nice new additions and upgrades, while not losing any of it's charm. Great place for surfers, sun seekers and adventure travellers.

Scooter rental is available through hooked, though next time we're renting a car, the scooters aren't something for serious island exploring on - though perfect for quick trips into Cabarete and Sousua.

Their surf school partner House of Waves are top notch too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hooked Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooked Cabarete

Address: Calle Los Cocos 120/121 | Cabarete, Cabarete 120121, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hooked Cabarete is the accommodation located closest (500m) from the world-class surf spot called Playa Encuentro in Cabarete. Our guests are active people who "hate" big All Inclusive resorts. We cater to wave surfers, kiters, wind surfers, divers, hikers, mountain bikers, Yoga enthusiasts, Spanish learners etc Our studio apartments are located around a pool in a tropical garden. Our place is very quiet, safe and clean. The owners Jeannette and Walter Derungs are Swiss who have lived mostly in the USA before settling in the DR. Our goal is to make sure our guests go home with happy memories of a interesting and relaxing vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hooked Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked Cabarete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.