We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly and close to the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked Cabarete

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hooked Cabarete to your Saves list
Hooked Cabarete
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Los Cocos 120/121 | Cabarete, Cabarete 120121, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Cabarete B&B and Inns
bellevue
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, friendly and close to the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We arrived very late, Nino and the dogs were there to great us. They were very thoughtful and supplied us with a very nice breakfast - now that is service.
Patty & Anna

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hooked with our 3 and 6 year old daughters. Hooked is a boutique hotel that is about 2000 feet away from the surf break Encuentro.

We wanted a vacation where we could go surfing in the morning, go to the beach or out for activities with the kids during the day and go out to eat in the evening. We got to do all of this and more. There is so much to do in the Cabarete area.

The hosts Nino and Frieda were great and a pleasure to work with. They were nothing short of spectacular in terms of recommending activities, arranging a rental car, taking us to great restaurants and providing us with great advice about the local area.

When we come back to the Dominican Republic we will stay at Hooked.

.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Hooked cabarate is not an all-inclusive luxurious hotel, but for someone who wants simple and laid-back stay, it is a wonderful place. Florian, the manager, is such a cool guy and he did whatever he could do to make our stay enjoyable. It was fun to hang out with him and his personality was a big plus:) Although not located in the center of main tourist place, we could take a bus, scooter, or taxi to the cabarate center, so for the person like me who prefer quiet and not-touristy place, it was great. The room is spacious and clean with full kitchen. Lovely garden with a swimming pool. I truly enjoyed my stay and hope I can go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Our host Florian really loves his job and who wouldn't! Warm water year round, easy walk to one of the most consistent surf breaks within the area.
Very safe and clean lodging, comfortable but not too fancy or sophisticated. Easy to get to town for shopping and partying but quiet when you need to rest and relax.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We were greated by Florian (hotel manager) the moment we arrived. Florian ("flo") is a cool guy around the same age as us (35?) and he really is doing his best to make sure your stay is great. When you are in a foreign land its important to have a point man, and he fits the bill from recomendations for dinner, to tours, to letting you know where to be for the most waves. Hooked Cabarete is a diamond in the rough, or shall i say a fortress in the rough. huge walls and a huge wooden gate with two big dogs guarding the hotel (and you) from any intruders. I have been all over central america and other places so i know all about getting things stolen and the security needed. its safe, or at least as safe as can be. we didnt need to lock stuff in a safe or anything like that. the rooms are comfortable. very clean and sheets and towels tended to every day by the maid. we didnt notice any critters or mosquitos either. we didnt need A/C as the temperature at night was perfect. i'd say about 60 degrees. Hooked is not "on the beach", nothing is, but it is the closest to the break, indeed you could hear the surf pounding in the morning, always a good thing. overall I would describe hooked as a small intimate hotel with beautiful grounds, good for anyone from a guys trip to bringing your girlfriend to bringing little kids, to flying solo. also I am note a kiteboarder but nearbye is a worldclass kiteboard beach. so there is lots to do. nothing is pushed on you but everything is there if you want to try it. you dont need a car considering the surf is right there, and if you are on a budget there is a bus that comes along the main road and takes you to town. If you want you can rent a scooter with the hotel just to get to town (cabarete) for food. We rented a truck so we also traveled up the coast and surfed another wave completly by ourselves. we brought our own boards but the surf shops have decent stuff if you want to rent.
Warm water, waves, sun, palm trees, chill safe scene. I was very happy with this trip.
Cabarete: the nearbye town. very cool. think Jaco costa rica but nice. very nice beach and lots of great restaurants and bars. sure it can be touristy on the beach, and pricey, but you can also find a lot of local food and cheap places to drink.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Me and my husband were looking for a nice, small, not too touristy place not too far from the airport of Puerto Plata. We found this wonderful place Hooked Cabarete. It's like a boutique hotel with 8 studio-apartments all on the ground floor around a beatiful, large, tropical garden with pool. When we were there, quite some people that staid there were surfers or kitesurfers since Hooked is the closest spot to the surfbeach, but it was not like a young surfcamp. We didn't come to surf, but felt totally comfortable staying there since there are so many other things to do as well. Together with some other guests and the manager, we went to the 27 waterfalls (which was so great) and the owner showed us some beautiful, scret places along the north cost. We also went a day into the mountains on the quad bikes they have, we snorkeled, went horse back riding at the beach together with the neighbour friend of Hooked who has some nice horses, and made some nice long walk along the beaches (at some places where we walked it felt like being on a deserted island, so nice and quiet). Florian, the manager, helped us a lot with finding out what to do and where to go and he also recommended the nicest (and cheapest) restaurants. We also had a barbecue together with the other people at Hooked and went out to a restaurant in the mountains.

Our room was beautiful, clean and we even had our own little kitchen. And a nice private terrace with hammock! The combination of doing all these great things together with the super relaxed room and garden, made our vacation the best. We will be back!!

Sabrina & Tom from the Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed here as a solo traveler and had the good fortune to meet Florian the manager who made my stay very enjoyable. The two dogs are good company, the rooms are nice and simple, the sercurity is great! Great internet service.

The rooms are simple but pleasant, they have a few different styles to choose from. Florain the manager is most helpful and a great guy. the grounds are beautiful and relaxing. They have scooters on site, (be careful, roads are rough and traffic crazy).

Only a 10 minute walk from the surfing beach, mellow crowd, beautiful beaches.

Had a small problem, but Florian is quick to help out!! Cabarete has lots going on and plenty to do!

I enjoyed my stay and will be back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hooked Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooked Cabarete

Address: Calle Los Cocos 120/121 | Cabarete, Cabarete 120121, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hooked Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hooked Cabarete is the accommodation located closest (500m) from the world-class surf spot called Playa Encuentro in Cabarete. Our guests are active people who "hate" big All Inclusive resorts. We cater to wave surfers, kiters, wind surfers, divers, hikers, mountain bikers, Yoga enthusiasts, Spanish learners etc Our studio apartments are located around a pool in a tropical garden. Our place is very quiet, safe and clean. The owners Jeannette and Walter Derungs are Swiss who have lived mostly in the USA before settling in the DR. Our goal is to make sure our guests go home with happy memories of a interesting and relaxing vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hooked Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked Cabarete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.