We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little hole in the wall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uno Mas

Uno Mas
Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 92 Restaurants in Cabarete
Cuisines: American
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Prince edward island canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun little hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a cute little bar on the street but on beach side. Its got a famous "gasolina" shot and some great drinks like the Naughty Nancy. Its small but service and atmosphere really big. Fills with regulars and tourists and always great conversation at Uno Mass

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place for after work drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This teeny weeny bar is great and the hosts are even better! Nancy and Mike are very friendly and welcoming. Nancy has the biggest smile and is always happy. They make great frozen drinks with or without alcohol and the gasolina shot is not for the faint hearted! Their juices are fresh, the atmosphere is inviting and it is a great place to start an evening or even to relax and wind down after a long days work. It is one of our favourite places to have a drink.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place for drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Uno Mas is the best place in Cabo to have drinks before dinner, or just while out doing other things. It can be hard to find but the easiest way is to look for the Giggling Marlin and go across the street to the little mall. Uno Mas is just outside the shops and snuggled into the circle of outdoor vendors. They make the best Margarita in town and it is only $3.50. Their other drinks are also exceptional, best we have ever had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is a sunny place for shady people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We did lunch at Uno Mas today to change it up from the usual Gordito's and to start our series of food reviews in Cabarete.

The Mood:
Uno Mas is a sweet little spot that could fit in your grandma's kitchen. It's packed away on the beach side of the main road, over looking the street, not the beach, but you're only a few steps away from the sand.
The place is lively with a fresh tropical feel and colourfully chalk-decorated walls. They specialize in alcoholic fruit juices and smoothies hence their appropriately cheeky slogan "Chill the F@#% Out."
Judging by all the writing on the wall, Uno Mas seems to be on the fence as to whether it loves its life or can't wait for it to finally be over. The staff will lovingly blend you a west-coast-health-freak-standard smoothie, but you don't need to ask them twice for them to pour a half pint of their home-mixed liquor they cheerfully dub "Gazoline." (yes, the stuff actually is served out of a red gas can) The place is like a chain-smoking yogi dressed in bright pastel shades of Lululemon. A quote on one of the chalkboard walls sums it up better than I ever could: "This is a sunny place for shady people"


The Food:
As for the food. I saw a pound of wings on the menu and didn't bother reading the rest. Gabriel got quesadillas with a side of guac. The quesadillas were somewhat lacking and on the bland side, although the condiments accompanying them were pretty good (sour cream, salsa, guacamole.) The wings on the other hand were delicious and tasted just like the place felt… tangy enough to pep up your mood, but finger-lickin' good enough to undeniably know they're killing you softly. I had a Caesar to accompany my meal. Tim apologized profusely for the lack of bacon, but I was already impressed with the stuffed olives and pickle slices. I could have done with less ice and with a glass, not a styrofoam cup, but as a Caesar lover (which apparently Gabriel is not) I was very satisfied and quenched.


The Staff:
The staff left us with a good first impression. Tim served us. Tim's from Texas, we didn't have time to ask because he was headed off to run some more errands–we got there kind of early (noon) and he still seemed slightly hungover from thursday night festivities–but we assume he's from the Austin part of Texas. Tim's got a sail boat moored in Luperon–safest harbour in the Caribbean, about 2 hours west–where he met the bar's owner Eddie. Incidentally, that's where my parents' boat is moored, and that's where I first met Eddie myself, and sang at his bar there, and proceeded to have a few caipirinhas, only to NOT recognize him just a few months later here in Cabarete, but my contextual amnesia is a story for another day.

They Pass:
Overall we like Uno Mas. We'll have to spend an evening there to really taste its life force before we give you our final answer, but it seems quaint and fun. Prices are in the Tourist range, but that's only fair when your location's on the beach. Our meals and drink came out to a grand total of 900 pesos (including a 100 peso tip) According to goole that's 21 US dollars and 69 cents (10bucks each) Food is tasty but not the best or most unique you'll ever try, just good enough to stuff your face over tuesday trivia or between rounds on the shot wheel. Atmosphere is light, fun and welcoming. One day if they renovate I'll suggest trading out their high-tables and stools for a multicoloured mechanical bull.
(reviewed on wetravelandblog.com)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in the Caribbean
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Meeting Place to start the Party..!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Eddie and Tim are the Bomb..!!!...Lot's of helpful knowledge of the Town and amenities.. Things to do and places to go....Lots of friendly Gringo's popping in and out... Wonderful view from the street front Bar.. Great Tropical Smoothies to De-tox in the mornings, and Special Marquita's for the afternoon..!!!! Great spot to meet w/ friends and then go out to the beach for the all nite partying.... Music and wifi....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uno Mas also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Uno Mas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uno Mas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.