We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really yummy Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta e Vino

Pasta e Vino
No 50 Calle Principal, Cabarete Cabarete, Dominican Republic
1 809-571-0554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 92 Restaurants in Cabarete
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pasta e Vino DR is an Italian Trattoria located right at the beach in the sporty north shore town Cabarete in the Dominican Republic.Pasta E Vino offers home made recipes passed down through generations in owners' Gino and Louisa's family. They are both frequently spending time in the kitchen for quality control. Open Wednesday until Monday through low season and 7 days a week in high season.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really yummy Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My friends and I stopped in for dinner at Pasta E Vino. It sits right on the beach of Cabarete. Our waiter, 'Pedro' spoke English and helped us with our order. He was very friendly and brought us a shot of mama juana after dinner 'on the house' after our meal. My friends ordered the fresh fish and I had a pasta that was really yummy. It is a wonderful experience to sit on the beach and dine by candlelight with your toes in the sand enjoying a really good meal. I recommend this little gem!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cabarete's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Cabarete is a smaller town on the northern side of the Dominican Republic and is home to most visitors who love Kite & Sail Surfing so it was a surprise to see a great Italian Ristorante that serves great Italian Cuisine. The decor is very simple chic and blends in with the locale.
Pasta e Vino recently opened and is gaining ground on regular visitors.
I highly recommend this Restaurant which has a great feel of an authentic Tratoria.
And even during the low season this place has consistency in the quality of food and service and surprisingly worth the cost.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pizza, good value specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The first time we went we tried the pizza. The base was lovely , not too thick not too thin...the ingredients on top were fresh and tasty- very authentic.

For starter we had the meat anti pasti, definitely some of the best cold cuts on the island .
We returned two days later and ate from the specials board, bruschetta, shrimp soup and lobster for 750$ RDS.. All three were top quality

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food, ambiance, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pasta e Vino is a beachfront restaurant that offers a wide range of choices, from Pizza Margharita
to a filet surf and turf. Many pastas are also available. The beachfront setting affords a view of the palm trees and ocean beyond, except at night, when there are stars in the inky sky. I ordered a fixed menu including a Caesar salad, and Mahi Mahi served with a Sicilian olive sauce. The fish was fresh, not frozen and was delicious. Dinner was accompanied by sides of a sauté of mixed vegetables and potatoes. A tasty complementary bruschetta was served first. The waiter, Tony was excellent. His service was correct and fresh silver provided with the change of courses. Wish I had been able to share the tiramisu mentioned by other reviewers! Yes, there are cheaper restaurants in Cabarete, I feel that Pasta e Vino delivers value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a fantastic restaurant. I ate here with my girlfriend. I had a mixed seafood and steak plate. It came with lobster, fish, calamari, shrimp and steak. My girlfriend had a similar meal, but without the steak. The meal was excellent. The food was seasoned perfectly. I was very full, but I could not stop eating the food was so good. We also had a mixture of bruschetta. One was traditional, one with eggplant and the last with roasted peppers. They tasted fantastic. What great flavor. The staff was very professional and attentive. I definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta e Vino also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Pasta e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta e Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.