We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scuba holiday in Dominican Republic at a Hotel that made us feel special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Grand Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Number 5, Playa Laguna 1, Cabarete, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Scuba holiday in Dominican Republic at a Hotel that made us feel special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

First time to Dominican Republic, mainly for scuba diving and we chose to stay at Grand Laguna Beach at Sosua close to Puerto Plata. This Condo/ Hotel was more then we expected. First class in every aspect. We had a three bedroom condo on the third floor with a perfect view of the Ocean. The beach is beautiful, with easy access. Our condo was exceptionally decorated, with high speed Internet and all the TV channels you could want. Tim the owner went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed and gave us advise on what to do. He hooked us up with an excellent dive master. I have dove a lot of places in the world, Sosua was a pleasant surprise. I did not expect such exceptional, cavern dives, wreck dives and reef dives. Sosua has it all. Great diving, great restaurants, and everyone I met was so friendly, I felt I was at home. After one week, I knew everyone in the hotel and had my favorite hang outs in town where I met so many people as well. Maybe one day it will be. Definitely will go right back to Grand Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were excellent. Most likely will be purchasing a unit soon. Priced a way below marke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLBRDR, Owner at Grand Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks Scott F for the great review. I love hearing that you felt at home, that is the environment we are striving for. Mi casa es su casa! also thanks for inspiring me to try diving too!! look forward to seeing you at Grand Laguna again. Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to Grand Laguna Beach in the beginning of May , it was our first rental vacation experience. As soon as we arrived everyone was very helpful from the check in staff to the maids bringing fresh towels and linens. We rented a large luxurious 4 bedroom walkout condominium, the hotel was beautiful with a large salt water pool including a stone covered bar and waterfall , Laguna's Beach is down a beautiful forested jungle walk full of coral Rocks amongst vines and 100 year old vegetation, it felt like our own beach that we walked almost every sunrise and sunset! The hotel is 7 minutes to Sosua and 13 minutes to Cabarete both filled with shopping, supermarkets, kite surfing, some of the best scuba diving and snorkelling in the world!, restaurants, and nightlife. The hotel also offers a ton of excursions we rented a boat, went snorkelling, deep sea fishing, dune bugging. An adventure hike known as the 27 waterfalls, full of natural springs,caverns and cliff jumping. It was one of the best vacations that we've ever taken , If you are sick of crowds and looking for a great time to spend with friends or family while meeting some great people along the way than this would be a great vacation for you!! Cannot wait to return soon.

Room Tip: Many different options from ocean views to easily accessible rooms. Modern feel with personal comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLBRDR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you, Greg G, for such a positive and in-depth review. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to experience so many of the adventurous attractions available during your stay with us. We will be sure to have a whole list of new activities to try for when you return! Thank you again for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again soon on the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked a week at Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort stayed one night Hated the hard sell time share crap .Was totally Blessed to go on line and find Grand Laguna Beach and let me tell you we had a great time the local Knowledge of day trips and Diving
owner Tim hooked us up with a Local Diver who took us on un hurried dives day trips
cave diving,wrecks ,walls etc......he took us to restaurants on the beach Lobster steak salad ya nice.Tim from Canada tells you if its great or crap all meals we had where 5 star !!!!!!!
went sand Buggie racing on sand water , OMG so cool not little ATV where talking racing 1600 cc engines......Trip to a sand beach where they are Filming Colombia Survivor......
email me for pictures was a life time trip
exitsocal@aol.com

Room Tip: rent beach view ..but really all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLBRDR, Owner at Grand Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you Waynefur555 for such a nice review! I love the dune buggies too. We have one hundred restaurants within ten minutes of us, some are average, some are good and some are great!! I am glad you liked the places I selected for you. I look forward to seeing you soon! Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a huge ground floor condo which was perfect for our family. It was new, luxurious and had everything we needed. The resort is beautiful. It is a short walk to a mainly secluded beach and the waves are great for body surfing. The pool was right in front of our condo and it is salt water so that was a treat. Much better than disgusting chlorine. You will need a car to get to all the great restaurants and bars in Sosua and Cabarete. Great golf courses close by. Supermarket a few minutes away. Everything was awesome. Everybody we met at the resort was really friendly and helpful if you need any information about the area and what to do. Great value as well. Just go!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLBRDR, Public Relations Manager at Grand Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you, Torontobelly, for such a glowing review! It is very nice to hear that everything was to your satisfaction, and that everyone was so friendly. We put a lot of work in to making sure our guests are well taken care of, and to hear such kind words is truly fulfilling. I think you will be happy to hear that for future stays we will have transportation set up to make it easier to reach all of the amazing locations. That way no time will be wasted before getting in to all sorts of amazing adventures! Thank you again for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a great time. Everyone was very accommodating to our needs, and the apartment was nicely furnished. The beach was a short walk from the condo and was never busy. The pool was very nice and had a waterfall. The complex was close to both Cabarete and Sosua and there was lots to do, however a car is recommended. We have stayed at all-inclusive resorts and we found this to be more enjoyable because there is more freedom for eating etc. and it is not crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there Jan1-10, 2013 and were pleasantly suprised. At first I was a tad leary about booking privately as I have only been to all inclusives before.I was absolutely blown away by the value and luxury of the Grand Laguna. We stayed in a two bedroom two bathroom ocean view suite which was very roomy, clean, modern and elegant. The staff and hosts were very friendly helpful and down to earth. They suggested us a variiety of different attractions and fun places to visit. We had a rental car and found it very easy to get around the area to see the sights and enjoy the local cuisine. The beach is also very private and well kept. A+++ vacation and experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Grand Laguna was a very beautiful hide away in paradise. There is great finishes and modern furnature throughout.It is close to the action but for away enough to be a quiet getaway. The beach is private and there is allot of land for my dog to run around. Great staff as well.

Room Tip: There is 1 bedrooms , 2 bedrooms,3 bedrooms and a 4 bedroom, so it depends on how many people. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Laguna Beach

Address: Calle Number 5, Playa Laguna 1, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Laguna Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.