We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again... Still love'n it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coconut Palms Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Palms Resort
Vista de Caribe, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Cabarete
Big Trout Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Back again... Still love'n it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here last year, and have happily returned. For us, it is the right combination.
(see my last year's post.. “We give it 5 out of 5, because we had a great time.”).
Before you come, call ahead and get the Resort to arrange for a Taxi from the Airport. Pablo will answer and speaks English. Give him your time and flight number. It is a $30US ride. Tell him you want to stop at the Playero (the largest supermarket in Sosua). Get all your groceries there, they will wait for you. We give an extra tip for this.
At the resort, after you check in, men will carry your suitcase up to your room. You should carry enough US$ for this too.
We cook in the room every day. (bring a sharp knife)
We arrive in Oct. and leave in Dec. and take a 3rd floor room. There is a breeze most nights, so we sleep comfortably with sheets. All rooms have a ceiling fan and this unit came with 2 floor fans (which we never use).
About water... walk to the sister resort Coconut Groves. There is a very small store that sells 20L of water for 50Pesos ($1.30) and deposit of 200Pesos.
The free WiFi is located in the Games room and is strongest near the Office. On Friday (Nov. 2) they installed 2nd free WiFi at the bar, so now you can Sip-n-Surf.
The Resort offers daily free shuttle to Cabarete or you can take a Carro to town for a 50Pesos for two.

So...
The rooms are clean, clean, clean.
The Resort is clean, clean, clean.
The staff is friendly. Many speak English.
(and) Timeshare resorts have Timeshare Salesman.... that's just the way it is.

As always, do your research and make sure it is right for you.

Room Tip: Try for a 3rd floor room facing the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    36
    19
    23
See reviews for
52
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Outdated, slow service, noisy, and "ladies of the evening" entering during at all hours, in front of our nine year old....So much racket that I could not sleep, staff did nothing to alleviate the situation. You just do not need this if you have a family. No A/C on the third floor rooms; and mosquitoes make it unwise to leave windows/doors open for the breeze. There are MUCH better options, especially ones where you don't have to walk a 1/2 a mile to the beach....

Food was good; and the people generally nice....but this is a low tier resort. We checked out after one night and went to Be Live in Puerto Plata. Review on that to follow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Although the hotel is out of date, the staff is very, very friendly. We visited with a group of eight friends for a relaxing vacation and for the most part, we had a relaxing vacation. However it was not a perfect vacation for the following reasons:
1) We received very poor customer services prior to our visit.
2) The rooms do not have air conditioning
3) You have to purchase drinking water!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just returned and had a great vacation but there are a few things that brought my review down to three stars.

Pros - Check in was super simple, welcome drink was awesome and staff was great helping us to our rooms (our group had three). I was expecting a big push for a timeshare sale (we went there as a gift of a timeshare owner) but there was none (however, more on that in the cons section)
- Pool is STUNNING. Was recently painted and the water temp was sublime. When we weren't eating or scuba diving, we were practically living in the pool.
-Bartender was super nice (happy happy!). Josiree (sp?) was his name and even happy hour drinks were strong. We were impressed with the prices - very low in our opinion.
-Housekeeping staff were the friendliest staff at the resort. We tipped them each day and they always washed all our dishes (we did some cooking in the rooms).
-Food at the restaurant was pretty good (we only ate a couple times). Try the Dominican breakfast - I so enjoyed that.
-Live music two nights. I can't remember his name but he played a mean guitar and we really enjoyed him.
-Luis (Loco) who identified himself as the resort activities director was super friendly.
-Onsite jewelery guy...we did a bit of shopping in Sosua and Cabarete but found the onsite guy had the best prices on larimar.
-Room layout was great, very spacious and had everything we needed for cooking. We had a group of 8 and had no problem congregating in one room for meals.
-Very inexpensive to stay there.
-Gorgeous view from the balconies in two of our rooms.

Cons-Our second day, we had letters slipped under our doors about the timeshare sales pitch (although they called it an 'important informational meeting' so we could learn about the resort) and in return we would get $25 (which cracks me up - all our past timeshare pitches gave at least $100, up to $200 for attending). Most of us were scuba diving every day so didn't want to waste our free time with the sales pitch so we didn't schedule it. We ran into the timeshare guy (Billy Banks) on Tuesday and he asked why we hadn't called him yet to schedule the meeting so he could share details of the resort with us (like how to get to the beach, how to use the transport to town, how to get fresh water). We told him we were busy and he said he'd catch up with us later. Wednesday, he found us all in the pool and again asked why we hadn't scheduled. We told him we weren't interested in purchasing and that we were busy. He made a snide comment about 'yeah, it looks like you're busy'. My complaint is that if it was truly that important that we receive this information, wouldn't we want it at checkin instead of waiting until we've been there 5 days and figured out all that stuff already?
-Water. Every other place we've been where the water isn't safe to drink, we've been provided with ways to get drinking water (either through bottles in our rooms, or access to filtered water). We got 1 free gallon and then had to buy gallons at the bar for a little over $2 a gallon. Since this place doesn't have AC, you can imagine how much water we went through, so this got pricey.
-NO AIR CONDITIONING!!!! This was a shocker. Of the three rooms in our group (all two bedroom suites), only one had small 'swamp coolers' in the two bedrooms. Yes, there was a breeze, but sleep was difficult many nights as it was just too hot (I can't imagine what it's like in summer!). Plus, because there are no glass panes on the windows so the breeze can get through, we were kept awake by a myriad of noises at night (birds, cows, guy pruning trees all night long, roosters, packs of dogs)
-The pillows were horrible - so musty smelling.
-This is a matter of personal preference - it is not near either town (Sosua or Cabarete) which meant a cab ride whenever we wanted to go outside the resort.
-Restaurant service was pretty lackluster.

Would we stay there again? Probably not. However, we managed to have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were ripped off at this resoirt by the timeshares sellers; their supervisor name is Don Gaines. From the 1st day we arrived, they started making pressure on us to upgrade our timeshares while selling our current RCI timeshares in Florida. Despite many no efforts, we finally gave up and took it but under 2 conditions:
1. We could cancel the agreement within 10 days ("1 paper fake agreement" like my lawyer said).
2. If we cancel the sale of our timeshare that will cancel the agreement to upgrade within 10 days.
We did cance it 2 days later but up to today havent received our $800 refund. We cancel it for the reason: after researching online, many recommend not to buy timeshare at this resort because they are liars and you will never receive your rental fee as stated in the agreement.
We are very frustrated and i am trying to sue them if they dont refund our $800. Unfortunately we live in the US.
We went in August 2012 and stayed in a 3 bedroom there with plenty of roaches and bugs. There is no AC and some lights switches didnt work. The room wasnt cleaned and smelly. The bathroom showers are very very old and not working properly despite the hot water faucet. They have no gym, the only nice settings there are the small pool and food. Also their tours are more expensive than the ones offered in the city by the same tours company. Be careful travelling at this place. We do not recommend it. Bobby

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I went to stay at the coconut palms August 18-25 of this year with three friends for my birthday. From the moment i stepped off the plane i was in love with this beautiful country. We stepped foot onto the beautiful steps of the coconut palms and immediately I had a drink placed in my hand, my bags off my shoulder and several smiling faces (Pablo at front desk.) The staff was so helpful especially Ariel at the front desk who helped us with everything from where we could get a good deal on shopping items, to great recommendations for clubs/restaurants; everything a good receptionist should do.

We were able to hang out with, and make friends with many of the security guys including Eddy who was more than helpful and an overall fantastic guy.

We stayed in the 3bd 2bth suite, while one room had a malfunctioning A/C it was tended to immediately. The Tiki bar was great, and at 10pm my friend had a craving for fresh juice and before our eyes Javier made us fresh pineapple juice. Its things like that that make this place great. I had the best time and am returning this December/January. I am both in love with the magnificent people, and the beautiful country. I had tears in my eyes as my plane took off as i didn't want to leave, and couldn't imagine myself being away from this place. I have made life long friends in the DR and have a second home right there at Coconut Palms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

my husband and i went to the resort for honeymoon first not even one drink on the house only if we accept 2 hours of hear about timeshare . in the rooms the tvs was terrible connection no cable very old tvs when we were in the pool nobody offer or ask if we need something and after we tell them the we not wan the timeshare the persons in charge stop talking to us we reserve for 9 days we stay 4 hello to billy..

Room Tip: a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Address: Vista de Caribe, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Cabarete
Coconut Palms Cabarete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.