We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velero Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Velero Beach Resort to your Saves list
Velero Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Calle la Punta #1 | Carretera Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Quebec City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

If you are looking to get away from the madding crowd and the cattle call of the all-inclusive hotel, this the place for you. This condo complex that rents out its units when the owners aren't there is a perfect, quiet getaway in a great location. Each room has a view of the ocean. Some have kitchenettes, some don't. Manager Diane Tremblay does an outstanding job keeping the place in tip top shape. She surveys the place ceaselessly and makes sure everything is running smoothly and is immaculate. I would like to thank her for her wonderful hospitality, as well as that of all of the staff. The place has 24-hour security, which is reassuring, and the guards are friendly. The front desk staff are kind, particularly the night clerk, Wilson Sims who was especially helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and our kitchenette was well appointed (except no oven) with a gas cook top, toaster oven, coffee maker, microwave, pots, pans, bowls, etc., and enough dishes and cutlery for four. The bed was very comfortable. We had three people cleaning our room every day, including doing our dishes when we "cooked in." Even cooking on a holiday is a breeze when you have Janet's supermarket literally a two-minute walk away, with everything you need from beer and vino, to soup, to nuts (even Stacey's Pita Chips and Tostitos), and then the hotel staff does your dishes for you to boot. The infinity pool is pretty, clean and cool (they plan to repaint the bottom soon, so don't let that dissuade you). The grounds are well maintained. Just watch out for the mosquitoes in the shade and at dusk. It was fun meeting some of the condo owners and getting the skinny on the life in the neighborhood, and a taste of the retired life in paradise (something to aspire to). It gave it a more "homey" feeling than a hotel feeling. Cabarete is not too overdeveloped yet, and it is the mecca for kite sailing and windsurfing. The constant breeze makes the hot sun and humidity easy to take. If you want a multitude of restaurants and a very lively night life, it's only a short walk up the beach. We didn't eat at the hotel much, except breakfasts which were good, but not outstanding. Apparently, they are working on improving the restaurant, which is good because the site and view is the best on the beach. We ate out every evening, and we particularly enjoyed the Casanova restaurant, that has everything on the menu 1/2 price from 4 to 6 PM, even the lobster which was tender and succulent. Try to get Stephanie as your waitress because she is a sweetie. We didn't do a lot of sight seeing, just took a moto-concho or the local bus (a crowded van actually, but at 25 pesos per person, who cares) to Sosua a couple of times to snorkel and hang out at the beach for the day. Shopping in Cabarete is good, if you care to do so. There is one store called Kana Rapai Bazar that makes funky handbags and other cute things from recycled materials and they package things in quaint brown paper bags; a twist on the typical tourist fare, with an authentic local touch. It's just too bad that the locals don't use more pollution-friendly bikes and cars, because the air is blue with exhaust on the street. The other thing some people might not appreciate is the dogs that wander into the restaurants, but I didn't really mind because I love dogs. Also, it would be good if the vendors didn't bug you to buy things all the time, but especially when you're eating. That got tiresome pretty quick. You just have to be really firm with your no, gracias, and they'll move on. The weather kept threatening, but the wind blew the clouds away. You can play Cleopatra or King Tut on the canopy beds at the Velero and watch the sunset while sipping the Spanish champagne you picked up at Janet's market. The beach right in front of the hotel is not great at all, but you can walk up the beach a few hundred yards and rent a chair with full service for 100 pesos per chair per day. The beach is plenty long in both directions for good walking and/or jogging. For Canadians, there's a Scotia Bank in Cabarate, so you can get your pesos there instead of getting American money first and converting it. You just need to take your passport to the bank. The hotel front desk exchanged US money for us into pesos for a very good rate, so we appreciated that. The gym is small, but functional. The hotel arranged for a taxi for us to and from the airport ($35 US per person each way) with a clean, recent model minivan with a driver called Junior. Super nice. All and all, it's hard to beat the Velero Beach Resort Hotel in Cabarete. Thanks to Diane and her staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    42
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
74
118
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We made the terrible mistake of staying at the awful Paraiso Cabarete and had to escape to the Velero which is so much better - like chalk and cheese. We stayed in a junior suite and also a deluxe room and these were very nice with fanatastic views. Resort and Island not great but this is not the fault of the Velero!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Velero Beach Resort is a little piece of Heaven....a home away from home. This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this little gem of a resort in Cabarete, Dominican Republic.
Reservations via the internet are a breeze and a follow~up call to confirm our stay was made easy by staff that is multi~lingual, and extremely friendly.
We asked the hotel for a taxi to meet us at the Puerto Plata airport and our driver was waiting for us, sign in hand, after we had collected our luggage.
A short 30 minute drive from the airport we arrived at Velero and were warmly greeted by the front desk staff.
Diana, the manager, was also there and said if we needed ANYTHING, all we had to do was ask.
I remembered Diana from a few years ago...and she is hard working, friendly, and genuinely cares about her guests, staff and the resort. She does an outstanding job keeping the place beautiful and everyone happy.
The rooms are immaculate and cleaned daily by a helpful hardworking staff.
Our room was on the ground floor, had a full working kitchen, TV, a/c , Wi~FI, plenty of seating, and a comfy bed. There is a patio immediately outside a sliding screen door with table and chairs.
The pool is about 50 steps from the patio and the beach 50 more steps beyond that.
The beach is a beautiful horseshoe shape with all manner of water sports going on. Swimming, kite~surfing, wind~sailing etc. In the afternoon when the offshore winds really pick up, the sky is full of bright sails and people skipping across the water at high speed.
There is a restaurant on site that prepares delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
We ate breakfast there daily, lunch a few times and dinner twice.
The staff here also does an excellent job.
It's difficult to find a prettier place to enjoy a meal. The thatched roof restaurant sits directly above the beach and the sounds of waves crashing...blue skies and diverse music make this a thoroughly enjoyable place to unwind.
Velero is a place to relax, enjoy and unwind.
We love the feel of this small resort and will continue to visit in the coming years.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at the Velero for a forthnight and had a great time. The hotel is beautiful and the staff very friendly and nice. Wilfredo in the bar should be particularly mentioned - such a nice guy!

Cabarete is not very exciting if you do not kite, but the hotel is one of the best places I've ever stayed. You have to rent a car for the day to see the surrounding areas, unless you might get bored (I'm easily bored, sadly).

Playa Grande is worth a visit - very nice and large beach with hardly any visitors. All in all - a splendid stay in DomRep. Even though the shopping was, well, not so much...

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

The hotels website has a pretty fair description which is also true in reality. The location is quite but yet close to resturaunts, the beach and night life. The staff are very friendly and there is a family atmosphere. We just love the place. You can easily buy food from the Janet's supermarket 50meters away, or buy dominican or chinese take awey down town. Mostly, we eat in one of the beach restaurants nearby.
The pool is very clean and located close to the beach. However, the only thing we miss is a pool for kids. Bring a bucket with toys to play with at the beach.
Allover, we are very satisfied and will certainly choose Velero (means sailboat) if we come back.
Wei and the family from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed six nights in a standard room with two beds and really enjoyed Velero.Each room also has a 1/2 refrigerator, a TV that got ~ 100 channels, and a nice clean bathroom.

We found the Hotel and grounds to be Very clean, while Diane and her stafff were all Very Nice, and Always willing to please or help in any way. They had two computers in the Business Center which were free and no issues with internet speed.

Our stay included breakfast each day which was very good and it was a two minute walk to Janet's Supermarket. At Janet's I purchased 1.5 Liters of water $1.50, Presidente beer in six paks for 89 cents each, even suntan lotion was only $12-13. Also brought back 5 pounds of Dominican coffe at $2.22 each.

My son took 3 kiteboarding lessons from Elvis and was Very pleased. Elvis was a Perfect person to get introduced to the sport with, while being Very helpful, safe, and someone who really knew his stuff. He was also a lot less expensive than some of the more formal schools and a Great guy too!

Velero is a Very Nice, relaxing place to stay, while also having access to some of the best Kiteboarding in the world.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

I had an excellent stay. Perfect location at the end of the beach away from all the hustle and bustle, but close enough when you want to hang out at a beach bar. Hotel staff was very personable and arranged all of my activities. Super Mercardo and other busnisses a short walk away. Great Value!

Make sure you try the Mama Juana and drink plenty Presidente's at the bar across from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velero Beach Resort

Address: Calle la Punta #1 | Carretera Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Velero Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velero Beach Resort was the first luxury Cabarete hotel to be built and the visionary architect chose the best location on the entire beach to build. Our grounds are sheltered from the wind for the non-windsurfers, but 5 meters into the water the windsurfer or kiter will have access to the trade winds. Velero Beach Resort is the only one of the Cabarete hotels to have a small reef right out front that forms shallow tidal pools at low tide. These are perfect for the toddlers to play in protected from the waves. Our restaurant is also the only one in Cabarete that is directly on the water for perfect sunsets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Velero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velero Beach Hotel Cabarete
Velero Beach Cabarete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velero Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.