We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Tangerine to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cabarete
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had a great time on my trip to Cabarete with my two best friends.

Cabarete is a beautiful beach - whether it's morning, afternoon, or night (at night, it's best to walk in 3s, and I would say it's very reminiscent of Beyonce's 'Drunk In Love' music video). Yes, it gets really windy and the waves might consume you (lost my sunglasses (it's ok, they were $5)), but compared to the current frigid temperatures in New York, we all didn't really give a sh.

Anyway, the resort..

Wifi:
The resort lobby sometimes has wifi, sometimes doesn't.
Front Desk: "maybe tomorrow."
We shared the 10 hour wifi for $15.

Notable food observations:
We craved the pizza every day - had it as a snack, had it with dinner. Always.
Good salads with a nice variety.
Orange-colored icecream = supposed to be creamsicle-flavored? = tastes like medicine
From the dessert section, it was always a hit or miss. Mostly miss.
Fruit isn't that sweet. It's okay.
..Overall, it does the job if you're hungry.

Bar:
We made the bad choice in drinking too much at the beach bars our first night (they're so much fun! Great great music to dance to) so we never really experimented with the alcoholic drinks at the resort.
However, I can say that if you are a religious coffee drinker like I am, order the cafe con leche at the bar.

Room:
The interior design definitely needs an upgrade - but it was fine.
Hot shower? Ha. The one time I got a warmer-than-lukewarm (not hot) shower was at 9AM one morning. It was glorious at the time, but I was yet again disappointed the following evening. So..so cold.
There were always mosquitos in our room. One kept biting my friend while she was sleeping one night. It kind of sucked we had to sleep with insect repellant on.
On our last day there, there was a centipede that crawled onto a towel. Awesome times.
Weak toilet (tmi, but seriously..).
2 large towels for 3 people. You do the math.

Misc:
Dude at the towel desk definitely gives you the stink-eye if you don't bring it by 5:30PM. Seriously?
The other staff are very friendly and always smiling.
Resort is mostly targeted for families/kids.
Don't get anything at the souvenir tables near the pool at night. They tried to sell me 5 magnets for $65. Oh, these magnets aren't made of gold?

All in all, I would say this resort does the minimum.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for having chosen our Viva Wyndham Tangerine to spend your holidays. We appreciate you took the time to express your experience in www.tripadviser.com. We are deeply sorry that your experience was not as good as we would wish you to.

We wish to assure you that here at Viva Wyndham Tangerine we take any comments as a constructive criticism. Our management will take note of your comments to evaluate how we can improve. We thank you again for your comments and for having been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine, we wish to restore your confidence in our product and hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    416
    222
    102
    86
See reviews for
263
349
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place worked for me. I'm a kiteboarder and this is what I needed location wise. I don't know what other people (not kiteboarders) do there. If you just get there for an all inclusive experience, go to Puerto Plata (or Punta Cana). Much better resorts and great variety there. This place is windy and has a rough ocean (big waves) almost every day.
I skip all pros and focus on the problems (just don't want to make it another 10-20 pages boring review):
The biggest issue for me was the hot water absence. Cannot get over it. After the whole day on the water, especially the evening time, it would be nice to have a hot shower in the room. Never happened. The water was barely warm or room temperature at most.
It was one of the rooms above main buffet area of the resort. Very noisy spot before breakfast (starting from 6:00AM), kitchen exhaust, with all smelly fumes, was right under our balcony (there is a need for a good oxygen mask, do not hope to get some fresh ocean air there).
Had to replace an air conditioner unit (it was roaring loud, absolutely unbearable).
DRINKS!?!?! No brand name hard liquors anywhere!!!!! Some local generic brand called “ROYAL” as a bad substitution for all hard liquors developed world knows. Morning headaches and stomach eruptions are guaranteed. We could survive on cerveza only or there are all kinds of liquors available in the supermercados outside of the resort. So, do some shopping, if you r thirsty.
They walk horses on the beach, so you can imagine what surprises await you on the sand. You have to walk carefully and watch every single step there.
There are some more little pitfalls here and there, but I don’t think they are worth mentioning here. I think they have to do a little push to make it a better resort (the hot water availability and good drinks would easy add an extra star to the resort).
The bottom line is it’s a very specific location, mostly for the water sport guys. If you are looking for white beaches, calm waters, kids friendly environment, fine dining and drinking, romantic something – this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Do not stay above the main buffet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine. We are deeply sorry we couldn’t meet your expectations.

We truly regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations. Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your recent stay in Dominican Republic.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Viva Tangerine welcomed us back for the Fifth time. with open arms and once again gave us a marvelous, memorable holiday.

This resort is rated as a 3.5 but we rate it with a 4 . we hope you can understand why after you read this review.

The Viva is a small resort, not fancy, not luxurious, but it has everything to make you feel welcome and pampered. You will know that everyone who works here, wants you to have the best of times on your vacation. The staff are the Bones of this resort, they are always so friendly, so helpful and always have a smile..YOu will feel llke Family very quickly.

RESORT AND GROUNDS
Oh my. YOu will love strolling the walkways. They are so well manicured and cared for and clean, with lovely flowers and trees and gardens. You will Love the beautiful visual presentation of this resort. The main walkways from the reception to the Beach is really a sight that remains with you.

THE BEACH
It is The best beach. with miles to walk .with the most beautiful shades of turquoise in that ocean to soothe any soul.Some condo's along the way but really, it is still a soflly developed shoreline. A 10 minute walk will take you to the lovely town of Cabarete where you will enjoy a taste of the Dominican culture and the most friendliest people you will meet. Quaint restaurants on the ocean side and lovely shops on the street side. Please go . it will be worth every moment and every picture you take. Priceless

THE ROOMS
Adequate. not special. but they are kept very clean and comfortable. The bedding and pillows and draperies need some updates. We had no problems with hot water or a/c..It met all of our needs. But don't look for luxurious.

THE BUFFET
Actually it was quite good, every day there was enough choices for everyone. We especially loved the fresh salads daily and the lovely breads ,the chicken dishes or turkey , pasta and vegetable choices. The red and white wines were tasty. Breakfast was delicious, always fresly made omelettes , eggs etc. After a few meals taken at the buffet, the waiters know who you are, where you like to sit and what wine you like. They are fantastic.

We also enjoyed the Mexican a la carte and loved the meal and the ambiance. It was a very nice experience. The SnackBar has delicious fresh pizza and french fries daily. YOu will love the location overlooking those turquoise waters.

THE POOL
Both pools were excellant, kept clean and the perfect size. We had no problems with lounge chairs. The main pool was beautiful, overlooking the ocean and lots of beach activity to enjoy. Some days we also enjoyed the secluded pool at the palace. We really liked the tanning beds and the peace and tranquility there .

THE BAR
It was fantastic and friendly. It had a great selection and very nice sitting area around the pool- shade when needed. Sometimes very busy but never a long wait. Great bartenders.

THE OCEAN

Lovely to look at but it sure can get pretty rough, especially in the afternoon with the heavy winds. We noticed in some areas there has been some considerable erosion of the beach . leaving a wall of sand. Have never seen anything like it before. But it is fabulous to watch those amazing kite boarders and wind surfers. The beach vendors are strolling with their wares but we enjoyed talking with them and getting to know their stories. They don't bother you once you say "no thanks". The morning is just super for a swim in the quieter ocean. Peacefull.

We had trouble with wifi at the resort. sometimes when we went to the front lobby, you could get it, sometimes not..
The resort has other ammenities you may like. The gym and spa, jewellry store(talk him down for a pretty price on that laramar or other gems) and the gift shop. We used them all.

We are budget minded, sun seeking, sea lovers and beach walkers who appreciate the all inclusive experience. We consider this a small and quiet resort and worth every penny to us. Our Many Thanks to our Family at the Viva Tangerine for giving us a little bit of Paradise. Cheers

the

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your generous comments and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Resort. We are also delighted to hear that you are part of our group of loyal guests, whom year after year honor us with their preference.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a very near future!
Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We went to the Caribbean (Jan 29 - Feb 13 2014) looking for white sand beaches and blue calm waters. This area is not the place for that. This is a great place to go if you want to participate in or watch kite surfing. We found the ocean to be rough and the beaches very windy all the time and got blown off the beach around 3-4 o'clock many days. Not so bad as there is lots of room around the pool which got filled with sand on a couple of days from all the wind. The food was good not great, with plenty of variety. The staff were great right from Hector hauling our heavy bags up to the third floor when checking in, our housekeeper’s efforts, to one of the DJs (Erwing) who sat down for dinner with us on a few nights. Junior and Ronaldo were always offering drinks as we walked into the buffet for our meals. We were surprised by the first 7 or 8 days having heavy but brief rain showers 3 to 4 times a day. The power also went out for the first 8 days straight. Not a big problem as they immediately fire up the generator. We had hot water all the time as well as a good working AC system. I had booked a King size bed through Flight Centre but this info didn't get made clear to the resort so upon requesting they offered us another room the next day but it was on the ground floor and we liked being up on the third in building 11 so stayed put. Be warned, the internet is very bad in DR, the resort offers free (albeit slow) Wifi in the lobby which we used to quickly? check email and Whatsapp most nights while trying to avoid getting bit by the bugs. We took some long walks along the beach and also walked into Cabarete a few times which is about 10 minutes East of the resort. I took my Open Water Dive course at Dive Cabarete in town, (check out my review on that). The beach on the outside of the wall is crawling with vendors hawking their wares, at one point I counted 20 of them. They are persistent but will go away if you give a firm no, until next time. We found that there was some topless sunbathing on the West side of the beach and that the vendors stayed out of the area more when that was going on. We didn't find the Dominican itself had a lot to offer in the way quality tours and such. A lot of travel was involved and in talking to folks not a huge payout. Our highlight was scuba and snorkeling in Sosua with Dive Cabarete. We did check out the Chocolate Cafe in Cabarete, Corinna was very nice, great drinks and good food, also better free Wifi. We didn`t see much wildlife, and few lizards and geckos, some ants in our room and bees on the palm trees. The currency exchange rate is better at the front desk than at the place by the Buffet. All in all it was hot and sunny, the staff were great, animation team very pleasant and active, some good evening shows, some so so ones. We did buy some jewellery on the resort, picking up some Larimar (only found on DR) and amber combination earrings and necklace. We made the best of it (we were on holidays after all), this just wasn`t the right place for what we were looking for. This is just one couples opinion. Happy Holidays!

Room Tip: `Contact the resort in advance to clarify you are getting your choices. We preferred upper floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your feedback about your experience in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine. We are please to know you enjoyed your stay despite that the beach was not what you expected.

Thank you again for your nice reviews, please keep in mind that it will always be a pleasure to you and your partner in our property.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This place is such a generic bad all inclusive... Only stayed here because had no choice after needing a new hotel last minute, and nothing else was available. Bad breakfast, can't speak of any other meals as I spent no more time there than necessary, preferring to buy food elsewhere.. Tons of kids and families, if that's your thing then by all means it's not a bad deal.. Property itself was worn, humid, and oldish, like from the 70's or 80's.. Pool areas were nice minus all the kids, place was filled w typical middle america tourists and russians, the latter of which have infiltrated the country in the past few years. Just not worth the money at all in my opinion. Maybe only if you have a family and need to feed multiple mouths for cheap.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else. perhaps velero if you want all inclusive. cabarete is best done a la carte thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
On behalf of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to bring your opinion to our attention.

We are deeply sorry that our property was not suitable for you. As an all inclusive resort we advertise our property for all kind of ages and families and are always trying to fulfill our customers, no matter their ages, with lovely memories of a fun and relaxing holidays we are very sorry we could not accomplished that with you.
We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent the week of February 11- 18th at this resort and had Jennifer from Guest services arrange our wedding ceremony. Jennifer did a truly amazing job and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. We had our reception at the Maraja restaurant beside the resort...Jennifer co-ordinated the ceremony with them so we could get married in the gazebo...you will find my review of the restaurant on their page.
We had 61 guests with us on the trip and the hotel was great...there were minor issues with some of the hotel rooms but as soon as we called they were quickly taken care of. The staff were very friendly and fun.
For an all inclusive the food was really good...the desserts were heavenly.
Erika the photographer from the resort took amazing photos at our wedding...I have posted a few below.
Our son had an accident while we were down there and Jennifer and the other guest services' staff again went above the call of duty to make sure we understood everything and even called the hospital to check in on him. Medical care in Dominican at Centro Medico Bourginal was beyond amazing.
We are so appreciative to everyone at the Viva for their care and support over the week...everyone had an amazing time.I would highly recommend this resort to anyone...we loved our week despite the accident and felt at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your Vacation/Wedding in our property Viva Wyndham Tangerine, it was a pleasure to know form the more relievable source that your wedding was a thrive and part of this was thanks to our staff hard work. Well thank you for having chosen us for your Vacation/Wedding venue and thank you for telling us and all trip advisers’ readers that our property and it staff are excellent.

We certainly hope your son in law to be a lot better now.

Please keep us in mind when you and you husband start looking for a place to celebrate you honeymoon, as we will be more than glad to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Not a 4 star hotel but great value for the money. Rooms are older but clean. The first day we got there the room we were given we weren't happy with so we wanted to up grade to a ocean view room but was able to get it the next day. The ocean view room in the main building is well worth it. The view is amazing. No hot water at times once breakfast is served so get up early if you want a hot or warm shower. I got sick for 3 days so having this room was a good idea. Not sure if it was from the water as was to be safe and I brushed my teeth with it. Use bottled water that is supplied daily. It could of been from the heat as well as a big change from -40. A good variety of food at the buffet. The beach is good, a short walk to Cabarete makes it a great location. Also across the street is a market where you can buy anything. The staff is amazing and can speak English. Bring $100 $1 US bills worth of tip money and you will never be without and you will have 10 new friends by the end of the week. Despite the problems we will go back. Great for anyone. From Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.

Room Tip: If you a quiet room don't stay In the main building as once breakfast starts its busy until 10pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Tangerine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.