We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Tangerine to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cabarete
A TripAdvisor Member
“ Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Nice hotel. Good location. Do not stay in the main building where the buffet is if you like to shower in warm to hot water. If you do, you have to tell the front desk to turn on the hot water half hour before you shower. Pool upkeep could be better. Beach is nice. Lots of waves. If you prefer nice calm, clear water you can drive or cab it to Sosua Beach. If your into pina coladas, you can get it in the whole pineapple...You can also hit the beach behind the restaurants in cabarete.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for you positive comments about your stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine, We are pleased we could meet your expectation and thank you for comparing value and services. It was nice to read you point of view, we hope you can visit us once again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    416
    222
    100
    86
See reviews for
263
348
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic vacation at this Wyndham resort. We weren't sure what to expect from all the previous reviews-so our expectations weren't very high; but we were pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was. Yes, there are newer and more luxurious resorts, this one is a little bit older, but it was VERY clean. The grounds were beautiful, and well maintained with mature plantings; we enjoyed just strolling around. The food was delicious and a good variety with the different restaurants. The beach was the best, we swam everyday!!! The resort offered boogie boards, kayaks, paddle boards, and a catamaran(escorted). All were available at no additional costs; we just tipped the staff for all their assistance with everything. KiteSurfing Capital in this area, too!! Activities galore: Water aerobics, zumba, volleyball, bocce, shows, and more. This beautifully located resort had it all..but what made the difference was the amazing staff!! They were all very pleasant and did a fantastic job at helping all guests. We would recommend this resort to all......breezy, cool, gorgeous beach; good food; nice rooms, abundance of activities, and wonderful staff---for the money, you can't beat it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for you positive comments about your stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine, We are pleased we could meet your expectation and thank you for comparing value and services. It was nice to read you point of view, we hope you can visit us once again.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a marvellous time at Viva Wyndham Tangerine. Food, drinks and service were ideal. Entertainment each evening at 9:45 was good -- a few were a little corny, but a few were excellent. We had 9 beautiful sunny days, then the tenth day, it poured rain all day. Sun came out next morning, but we had to leave around noon. Only one problem -- they have little sand fleas -- they call them mosquitoes, but I call them "No Seeums".. Take bug spray with you, but if bitten, Vicks Vapo Rub takes the itch away. Spent Sat. evening at Bravissimo -- Had surf & turf for dinner, then excellent show, then an hour and a half at the Casino. Don't buy Rum at the Rum Factory. We bought a larger bottle for less money at the Duty Free. Cable Car Ride was very nice, but only pay at last minute in case the weather is not good.

Room Tip: We were in the 2100 section, which was too close to the road -- better to be in 2400 or even 2500.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at Wyndham tangerine for 2 weeks in Jan/Feb with my husband and it was a great experience. The hotel was all over pretty well keep or had ppl working to maintain it. The outside area was beautifully planted with flowers at palms. It was perfectly maintained and looked lovely. The inside was OK and they were painting when I stayed there.

Our room was OK but a little run down, the beds were pretty good to sleep in, very good compared to the normal European hotel beds. There was not enough hot water and you did not know when you had it. We had a room in the main building and there were some noise from the breakfast service waking us up early. I would recommended they put in new doors that keep the noise out. It is pretty easily fixed. The cleaning lady was very good and clean when we wanted it clean. She was excellent.

The food service was very good, the buffet was so good we did not use the other restaurants even if we could for free. They have different Themes on the food each nigh, relation it every week I think. Lots of fresh fruit, salads and hot and cold dishes. The Caribbean food was excellent, they had this chicken dish and beans one evening. Yum. Always nice deserts to and the vanilla ice cream was heaven. The only negative is that there is no diet soda available.

All the people working there were very polite and helpful. They always greet you back or first when they know your face.

They also have a small but well functioning exercise room. Some of the excipient is a little old but very well maintained. The man that works there is a very good training instructor and really knows his stuff. He has a nice polite behavior and really take good care of the place and the people training there. He will instruct you and help you if you want it or need it.
Almost all the staff train there and they are super fit a very good face out for the hotel I think.

There is an entertainment crew on the hotel too if you like that sort of thing. They work real hard and are extremely professional and nice. They have shows every nigh. I only watch a little of one but it was good.

There is also a photographer on the hotel. A Italian woman named Erica. If you have time and money ask for a photo-shoot, she is insanely good. She did one for me and I was WOW, absolutely WOW. If I knew she was that good I would have done a couple also with my husband. The pictures that hang in the booth really do no represent how good she really is. She does photo art, and is worth every penny!!! If she takes a snapshot of you, go ask about it in her booth at evening. Erica works with a very nice polite man from Haiti. You will have the most wonderful memories afterwards with her pictures.

The beach outside of the hotel is pretty. But there are to many sellers that wont leave you alone. If you like me want some peace and quite, just take your towel and walk 200m in each direction and you lost them. Totally peace. I used to walk the beach every day and it is 4 km with almost totally secluded beach. You mostly have the beach all to yourself with only the sound of the sea. If this is not paradise I don't think it exist.

This is also kitesurfers paradise, it is so much fun to see them kite and show of every afternoon. And if you like me find it fun go to kite school. There is a great school right next to the hotel called Big Air. I can recommend it.
I have been to Cabarete 14 years ago, it is a lot more there now but it still has it charm. Walk along the beach front and drop into a pub or get something to eat. It is a charming place. In the alleys down to the beach you can buy nice T-shirts and jewelry.

Cabarete is more quite and more "real" than some of the other places on the island. It is a surfer hot spot and there are lots of them here all the time. If you want quite water to bath in, take a taxi to the beach in Sosa. it is a nice beach, good diving and snorkeling with lots of pretty fish. Lots of tang fishes very pretty.

There is also a doc in the hotel if you should need that. We got the stomach flu but got meds and got better. The people working in pharmacies is also very helpful.
overall I am very please with Wyndham Tangerine and I had a great stay.

Room Tip: We had a room top floor in the main building. We had a totally private veranda there. Negative was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your generous comments and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back in a very near future!
Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Best beach ever ! This resort is good for the price. The food was ok, the Italian Restaurant is the best. Room was nice,everything immaculate, people were nice. Not many Americans. The beach was BEAUTIFUL ! Water awesome, kite surfers in the afternoon, body surfing and boogie boarding all day. Vendors on the beach are a nuisance but they're trying to make a buck. If you are a beach person who loves waves, this is the spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your remarks and especially we are happy to know that you had a great vacation at our Resort.

Thank you for recommending Viva Wyndham Tangerine. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were robbed the first night we were there. They have a pin in the door for a lock. The person who stole 780 USD, shook the door and the pin fell out and then broke into our room safe stealing mine and my grandmothers money. They didn't believe us, we had to fight to have the police called. When they finally arrived the resort staff and the police went through our belongings including my parents belongings in the room next to us. They even looked behind the pictures hanging on the wall. We were treated horribly, we have video of my step dad shaking the patio door and it took 30 seconds for it to come unlocked. They wouldn't even refund the money for the safe! The resort is beautiful, the beach was okay, but they way my grandmother and I were treated was horrific. We will NEVER return to this hotel! We have been to the Dominican quite a few times and know of a lot of people that go there. They will not step foot on your resort. Even showing them the video and the key hole on the safe they didn't believe us. When asked who had the master key they told us at first that there wasn't one. Only to find out later that they do have one and there is no way they would use the key to break into our safe. If you go to this resort make sure you're not on the ground floor and make sure you're able to walk up flights of stairs because the elevators are not in working condition. We felt so violated and disappointed! Please keep your money on you at all times because the safes aren't safe at all!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Western Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel location was good, near the beach and close the local people. Ocean circulation were hard already close to the beach. Hotel room was good. Hot water came when it was needed, shower and toilet worked well. None of the fauna is found in the room. Only the air conditioner produced a headache. It was really loud and either too cold or not working at all.The hotel itself was not a noise nuisance, but at the gas station next to the locals celebrate by playing music all night. Food and drinks were good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamRes0rts, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are pleased you could enjoy your time in our resort and hope to see you here again soon.

We are sorry for the inconvenience with the noise caused by the locals celebration in the gas station, please be aware that we have met with the local authority for then to help us to eradicate this inconvenient

Thank you so much for you comments, we feel grateful that you spend a satisfactory holidays with us at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Tangerine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.