We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go in cabarete...!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Save Saved
You added Viva Wyndham Tangerine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The place to go in cabarete...!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were there with a group of 40 persons the second week of november....we loved it....everybody was happy...no one complain (not easy..!!!) thanks to all the staff for their constant smile ....food was very good ...guest service always there when we needed them...areas very clean ...so one more time thanks a lot and for sure see you next time!!!!!....keep smiling!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us… we are very happy you chose our property, Viva Wyndham Tangerine, to spend a lovely week with your group which by the was great, QUE VIVA LA ZUMBA…

See you next year…

Guest Service manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    397
    204
    96
    84
See reviews for
254
329
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Church Road, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After visiting Viva Wyndham in October and February, I would recommend a fall trip vs mid February, unless you are an avid kite boarder!...The winds in October were mild, while February winds were high. The resort itself is very nice with a very accomodating staff, friendly service. I liked the resort atmosphere...if you like to have music and activites throughout that day, the main pool is the place, however if you like peace and quiet there is an adults only pool area. Nightly entertainment was good...the performers are excellent in what they do. Food is average, large selection in the main restaurant, a Mexican restaurant, as well as Italian and a snack bar. If you are a drinker, the bar only has "generic" booze and draft beer. I ventured to the local marcado and purchased bottled beer for my room...The resort also has a disco for socializing.
The beach was awesome!...sandy bottom and wide sunbathing, walking area...the only drawback on the beach is there are many beach vendors!..I befriended one vendor by making a purchase, I then asked him to tell his co-vendors to please not bother me...which he did and it made my stay so much nicer...Also, the beach in October was more enjoyable vs February as the kite boarders were plentiful in February and the high winds made for blowing stinging sand...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stage as it is noisy until after 11 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Madam,

We are pleased you could enjoy your time in our resort and hope to see you here again soon.

Thank you so much for you comments, we feel grateful that you spend a satisfactory holidays with us at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

We appreciate your feedback and that you have taken the time to write these comments.

Sincerely,

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

On the good side:
We went on the Living Social Deal at the end of October and we did receive a Oceanview room.
The hotel is dated but very well kept. We arrived early and our room was not ready but we left our baggage with the bell boy and went on to enjoy the pool and the bar (see "On the bad side"). Mattress was hard, pillows were horrible. Bathroom was ok.
Everyone was friendly. Buffet was good, however, the flies were annoying but it is the tropics.
On the bad side:
If you are a drinker: BOTTOM SHELVE LICQUOR... cheap (generic) licquor, leaving aftertastes and you could notice, for example that it was not Amarretto what you were drinking... stick to the Presidentes, which will be served in small cups and you will have to refill very frequently.
The guests were mostly locals and Europeans, Speedo's here we are! You will notice that Europeans are very secured of themselves. Some guests were loud and obnoxious. Pool had a very limited amount of towels available for guests.
Overall, it was what we paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Madam,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We thank you for your remarks and appreciate your critic evaluating the offer and value.

Keep in mind that your observations are very important to us; please be sure that they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed November 3rd to 10th. The resort is small and everything easily accessible. Beautiful well kept grounds and the wait staff are very friendly and efficient. We were three, 50 something women travelling together & had requested a 2 ground floor rooms. Upon arrival we were given third floor walk ups. Okay, we could over look the mistake and never pushed the issue even though one of us had a bad hip. What we couldn't over look however was the reception cheating us when we exchanged money and we're not talking a little! Once in Cabarete, we went to the bank to find out the exchange rate and at this point in time realised the front desk had shorted us by several hundred pesos. We had no proof as we didn't receive a receipt from the front desk when we exchanged money. The next day, one of my friends wanted to change $50 Canadian and the same man on the desk was going to give her 685 pesos! At this point I told him that $20 Canadian is worth 700 pesos as per the bank in town so my friend should receive 1750 pesos. A woman working on the desk intervened, calculator in hand and viola, $50 Canandian turned into 1750 pesos. The male clerk said he thought my friend wanted $15 changed to pesos even though he very clearly looked at the money on the counter before saying 685 pesos. At that point we noticed that reception started giving guests receipts when exchanging money. I don't think we were the only people who were scammed this way. I also questioned why the exchange rate for Canadian money was less than American when on the World Currency Market the Canadian dollar is higher. Their response was that in Dominican, American money is worth more than Canadian. Really????

The rooms were clean and spacious and the maids did a fabulous job. Special shout out to Julio in the Italian restaurant! The hardest working and most friendly on the resort. The front desk staff should take some lessions from him.

When I go on vacation, I like to sit on the beach and swim in the ocean. Couldn't do that at this resort as they're known for kite surfing and of course you need wind and waves for that. Wind and waves we got and lots of them. The ocean was so rough that the waves knocked you over and under. This isn't the fault of the resort but if you're looking for pristine aqua water and white sand, go somewhere else.

The food was pretty good for the Dominican as were the drinks. We would not go back to this resort due to the front desk and the rough waters.

We rated the service as poor based strickly on the front desk experience. Take them out of the equation and I would have given service a 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I also went on a LivingSocial deal and it was our first visit to DR. The resort was very well kept, the food was adequate, our room was spacious and not one complaint (other than no ocean view as advertised) but hey, who needs the view from your room? One should be on the beach anyway. The staff was friendly and attentive. If you're expecting a 5 star, stay home, but you really get what you pay for. You can't beat the beautiful beach, friendly vendors that will leave you alone when you smile and say, "no gracious; no mas" and and the Mexican restuarant was the best of the 4 choices there. Just be sure to make your reservation. You can have a great, relaxing time there - "attitude is EVERYTHING"!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feed back, it is always nice to know when our customers have fun and enjoy their stay in our property, we will be more than glad to see you back in our Viva wyndham Tangerine in Dominican Rep.

Sincerely,

Guest Service manager
Viva Wyndam Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went for a LivingSocial deal and had an amazing time! It was the four of us and the property was casual and beautiful, which in my opinion perfectly reflects the essence of the Dominican Republic. If you are an easy traveller, then you would be pleasantly surprised. The bathrooms are probably a bit "sub-par," but I was there for enjoyment of the area and not there to be pampered. The beach, pool, bars and rec areas are beautiful and within walking distance of a strip down the beach. There is also a DELICIOUS restaurant called Maraja's just 5 min away. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for you review… it is always nice to know when our guests enjoy their stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine especially when they get involved with our Dominican culture as you did. Thank you for having chosen our property to spend your holidays and please keep in mind that for us it will always be an honor to have you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and three of my friends go there for our vacancy and we have fun but not more. The room is ok, the food is good but not in great quantity. the best thing is the animation, the animator are very good and entertaining. The activities are ok but not for all ages. The beach is beautiful and the sea too. But i don't recommend to go there if you're less than 35. We have fun but its only because of us and not the hotel.

Room Tip: only at second floor and third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir,


We are pleased you could enjoy your time in our resort Viva Wyndham Tangerine.
Thank you so much for you comments. We appreciate your feedback and that you have taken the time to write these comments.


Sincerely,

Ana Luz Lopez
Viva Wyndam Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Tangerine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.