We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the Road-Beware: bottom shelve licquor!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Tangerine to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cabarete
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Middle of the Road-Beware: bottom shelve licquor!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

On the good side:
We went on the Living Social Deal at the end of October and we did receive a Oceanview room.
The hotel is dated but very well kept. We arrived early and our room was not ready but we left our baggage with the bell boy and went on to enjoy the pool and the bar (see "On the bad side"). Mattress was hard, pillows were horrible. Bathroom was ok.
Everyone was friendly. Buffet was good, however, the flies were annoying but it is the tropics.
On the bad side:
If you are a drinker: BOTTOM SHELVE LICQUOR... cheap (generic) licquor, leaving aftertastes and you could notice, for example that it was not Amarretto what you were drinking... stick to the Presidentes, which will be served in small cups and you will have to refill very frequently.
The guests were mostly locals and Europeans, Speedo's here we are! You will notice that Europeans are very secured of themselves. Some guests were loud and obnoxious. Pool had a very limited amount of towels available for guests.
Overall, it was what we paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Madam,

We really appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor.

We thank you for your remarks and appreciate your critic evaluating the offer and value.

Keep in mind that your observations are very important to us; please be sure that they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    416
    222
    101
    86
See reviews for
263
348
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed November 3rd to 10th. The resort is small and everything easily accessible. Beautiful well kept grounds and the wait staff are very friendly and efficient. We were three, 50 something women travelling together & had requested a 2 ground floor rooms. Upon arrival we were given third floor walk ups. Okay, we could over look the mistake and never pushed the issue even though one of us had a bad hip. What we couldn't over look however was the reception cheating us when we exchanged money and we're not talking a little! Once in Cabarete, we went to the bank to find out the exchange rate and at this point in time realised the front desk had shorted us by several hundred pesos. We had no proof as we didn't receive a receipt from the front desk when we exchanged money. The next day, one of my friends wanted to change $50 Canadian and the same man on the desk was going to give her 685 pesos! At this point I told him that $20 Canadian is worth 700 pesos as per the bank in town so my friend should receive 1750 pesos. A woman working on the desk intervened, calculator in hand and viola, $50 Canandian turned into 1750 pesos. The male clerk said he thought my friend wanted $15 changed to pesos even though he very clearly looked at the money on the counter before saying 685 pesos. At that point we noticed that reception started giving guests receipts when exchanging money. I don't think we were the only people who were scammed this way. I also questioned why the exchange rate for Canadian money was less than American when on the World Currency Market the Canadian dollar is higher. Their response was that in Dominican, American money is worth more than Canadian. Really????

The rooms were clean and spacious and the maids did a fabulous job. Special shout out to Julio in the Italian restaurant! The hardest working and most friendly on the resort. The front desk staff should take some lessions from him.

When I go on vacation, I like to sit on the beach and swim in the ocean. Couldn't do that at this resort as they're known for kite surfing and of course you need wind and waves for that. Wind and waves we got and lots of them. The ocean was so rough that the waves knocked you over and under. This isn't the fault of the resort but if you're looking for pristine aqua water and white sand, go somewhere else.

The food was pretty good for the Dominican as were the drinks. We would not go back to this resort due to the front desk and the rough waters.

We rated the service as poor based strickly on the front desk experience. Take them out of the equation and I would have given service a 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I also went on a LivingSocial deal and it was our first visit to DR. The resort was very well kept, the food was adequate, our room was spacious and not one complaint (other than no ocean view as advertised) but hey, who needs the view from your room? One should be on the beach anyway. The staff was friendly and attentive. If you're expecting a 5 star, stay home, but you really get what you pay for. You can't beat the beautiful beach, friendly vendors that will leave you alone when you smile and say, "no gracious; no mas" and and the Mexican restuarant was the best of the 4 choices there. Just be sure to make your reservation. You can have a great, relaxing time there - "attitude is EVERYTHING"!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feed back, it is always nice to know when our customers have fun and enjoy their stay in our property, we will be more than glad to see you back in our Viva wyndham Tangerine in Dominican Rep.

Sincerely,

Guest Service manager
Viva Wyndam Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went for a LivingSocial deal and had an amazing time! It was the four of us and the property was casual and beautiful, which in my opinion perfectly reflects the essence of the Dominican Republic. If you are an easy traveller, then you would be pleasantly surprised. The bathrooms are probably a bit "sub-par," but I was there for enjoyment of the area and not there to be pampered. The beach, pool, bars and rec areas are beautiful and within walking distance of a strip down the beach. There is also a DELICIOUS restaurant called Maraja's just 5 min away. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for you review… it is always nice to know when our guests enjoy their stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine especially when they get involved with our Dominican culture as you did. Thank you for having chosen our property to spend your holidays and please keep in mind that for us it will always be an honor to have you back.

Sincerely,

Guest Service manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and three of my friends go there for our vacancy and we have fun but not more. The room is ok, the food is good but not in great quantity. the best thing is the animation, the animator are very good and entertaining. The activities are ok but not for all ages. The beach is beautiful and the sea too. But i don't recommend to go there if you're less than 35. We have fun but its only because of us and not the hotel.

Room Tip: only at second floor and third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir,


We are pleased you could enjoy your time in our resort Viva Wyndham Tangerine.
Thank you so much for you comments. We appreciate your feedback and that you have taken the time to write these comments.


Sincerely,

Ana Luz Lopez
Viva Wyndam Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I will start by saying you definately get what you pay for and we paid for the living social deal so maybe that is our first mistake.
There are so many things that I am unhappy about I will start with the few things that I did enjoy. The entertainment staff were great, very friendly and worked their butts off all day everyday. The grounds, pool and beach are nice and taken care of. And the espresso is good from the bar in the mornings. Other than that I would not give this resort a second thought.

For the not so great stuff...
We were greated by unfriendly staff at the front desk, they were not happy to be there and not helpful with the many issues from the get go. When we got to our room I discovered that there was still sand in my bed from the previous guest that stayed in our room...I would assume because the sheets looked dirty besides the fact that they had sand in them. When I tried to get them changed it was an ordeal. Again, the front desk was not wanting to help. We also discovered that each room gets 2 bottles of water per room per day. I would think that since it is an all inclusive resort that water would be included but no. I was told that if I wanted more bottled water to take the bottle to the bar to get refilled. Umm, NO! When in a foreign country you should always drink bottled water just to keep from getting sick! So we had to buy bottled water from the gift shop or the gas station across the street. By the way, the ladies in the gift shop were less friendly than the front desk people. I know all of them because I had to buy a lot of water from them. When we arrived and went through the line at the front desk with no help, we were told what our room number was and sent on our way, no direction or info on restaurants or when and where to find food. You know, only certain restaurants serve food for specific meals, like the buffet had breakfast, lunch and dinner but the other two restaurants were dinner only and must have reservation to dine. If you dont know any of this and try to go to dinner you will be surprised to find out that you have no options...not good. The bonus when this happens is that you are forced to go down the beach for food and it is 100% better than what you would have had at the resort. The drinks are MUCH better down the beach as well. Your options at the resort are cheap rum or cheaper rum or tequila. No thanks. We were there for 5 days and only ate at the resort one night. As for the title of my review, there are 3 ladies restrooms in the general areas and 2 of the 3 of them had no toilet seat! Why? I cant understand that. There are many more things to complain about but I will end with this. I had a good time because of the company I was with and thought that the Dominican is beautiful but I will not ever visit this resort again. I hope this helps you plan your next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear. Mrs.


Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine. We are deeply sorry we couldn’t meet your expectations.

Please be informed that our house keeping department organize cleaning program every day therefore your comments regarding sand in your bed is very difficult to be responded, but we guarantee you that it is impossible that your sheets have not been changed before your arrival, probably during the cleaning process due to the wind some sand entered through the window.

All our guest receive in their room daily as courtesy 2 bottles of water, the bottles could be refilled from many dispenser located in different area of the property, the water supplied from the dispenser is absolutely purified and constantly tested from external laboratory, therefore guest could be sure that they will drink safety water.


We are sorry that you did not enjoy any food of the tree restaurant at our property, please be aware that your observations are very important to us and they will be considered in order to improve our services.

We thank you again for your comments and for having been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine.


Sincerely,

Viva Wyndam Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I just got married and went to the Dominican Republic for our honeymoon. We bought the Living Social deal. Immediately upon arrival at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine, we were greeted by our "concierge." He showed us around the property while we waited 20 minutes for our room to get ready. He told us we were VIP and showed us the "VIP area" which was a small area in the corner of the property with a wooden table and chairs. The VIP part was we got to use white, cheap cushions on the wooden chairs. Wow. He then said they had something special for us the next day. We would get free breakfast and lunch if we went to their other resort. Basically he was trying to push their sister property on us. We agreed to go at 8:00 am the next morning to get him to stop pushing it. We cancelled later on.
Next we were shown to our room. According to our living social voucher, we were supposed to have an ocean view room. That is not what we got. Our room overlooked the pool with no view of the ocean in sight. The room was extremely small. There were cracks all over the walls and the ceiling. The sheets and blankets were stained brown and yellow with holes all in them. The air conditioning unit was hanging out of the ceiling. There was a small 17 inch tube tv with fuzzy channels. The bathroom was extremely small. There was a stand up shower that was 3 feet by 3 feet.
We asked to switch rooms. They told us they could have one ready for us in 3 hours. While we waited, we went to the spa and got a massage. This was the only positive experience of the trip.
We then ate at the buffet. There were 2 restaurants on the property (1 Italian and 1 Mexican) but they only take day of reservations and they must be made before 3:00 pm. Since we arrived at 3:15, we couldn't make a reservation.
The buffet was well below standard. The only edible items were the pizza and the pasta station, which were bland and not much to them. There was a station where a chef was making beef kabobs. We watched him take the tongs sitting on the tray with the raw, uncooked meat and pick up a cooked kabob and serve it to a guest. This was our last straw.
The alcohol was a disappointment as well. There was only one beer served which was a light beer called El Presidente. It was watered down and not good. The wine wasn't any better. The white wine was very watered down and the red wine was very bitter tasting.
After an unsatisfactory meal, we were taken to our new room, which was exactly 2 rooms down from our old one. It was exactly the same except instead of a king bed we had 2 queen beds. There were no cracks on the walls and the sheets were not stained. We did have a slight view of the ocean, seen behind the pool. However, there were bugs crawling all over the wooden dresser by the TV and the white, sheer curtains covering the balcony door were brown and had holes in them.
Shortly after checking out our new room, we opened our door to find a maintenance man, who we had not called sitting by our door. He and a maid came into our room and went into the bathroom. They did not speak or understand English so they couldn't explain why they were there. The man took out tools and began fixing the door handle to the bathroom which apparently was jammed. The previous guests must have requested this fix.
That evening we went down to the front desk where we found a man guarding the front entrance with a shot gun. This was very alarming. Although he was there to protect us, it was terrifying to think that a shot gun and guard was needed at this resort. His presence confirms that the "resort" was in an unsafe area.
The next morning around 8:00 am , we were awakened by a loud pounding on our door. When we didn't answer someone unlocked our door and came in!! When we jumped out of bed, they were gone. I opened the door but did not see anyone there. There were no maids or maid carts around. We decided right then we were leaving.
We had to go to the front desk to purchase a card so we could use the computers in their computer center. We bought a card for one hour but when we opened it and entered the code, it said it was good for only 30 minutes. The code would not work on any of the computers. We then went back to the front desk and got a new card. Again, it was only for 30 minutes and not the 60 minutes we paid for. We were able to login on one computer but could not access the internet. The computers were very old and the computer center smelled badly, much like the other areas of the resort. We never got on the interne so the front desk reimbursed us but in pesos.
While dealing with this, my husband got cornered by the concierge from the day before. He hounded my husband as to why we did not go to the other property and tried to convince us to go. He was very pushy and unrelenting. We said we didn't want to go but he kept on.
The property as a whole was older and worn down. The buildings were cracked and needed repairs. The flowers and plants were very nice and welcoming. The pool was nice, although we didn't get to enjoy it. There was also a small jacuzzi that looked nice. The women at the front desk were very pleasant and tried to be accomodating. However, it's hard to be accomodating when the resort has so little to offer.
Our reservation was for 6 nights, but we stayed only 1 night. It was worth the extra money we paid to change our flight so we did not have to stay one more minute in that place. We do not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamTangerine, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir,


Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in our Viva Wyndham Tangerine; We are truly sorry that your experience was not what you expected.
Please be aware that your observations are very important to us and they will be considered in order to improve our services and facilities.

Please notice that we have a weekly meals calendar for our Buffet Restaurant with a different theme each night, a variety for lunch and breakfast as well as 2 a la cart restaurant with Italian and Mexican cuisine however we apologize if what we offer was not to your taste.

We thank you again for your comments and for having been part of our Viva Wyndham Tangerine.


Best Regards,

Viva Wyndam Tangerine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Address: Carretera Sosua-Cabarete, Cabarete 00000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Tangerine 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Hotel Cabarete
Wyndham Cabarete
Cabarete Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Tangerine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.