We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Dominican home and famiy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Celuisma Cabarete to your Saves list
Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km from Cabarete, Entrada Camino del Sol, Cabarete, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Cabarete
Cobourg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Our Dominican home and famiy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This was our second time at this resort. Last year for three weeks and this year for four weeks. Do we have any regrets? Definitely - that we didn't discover this hotel sooner. We have stayed at other hotels in the Dominican Republic for the last 28 years. All have their good points and some things we would change. But remember, a hotel is a place to hang your hat so to speak. What really makes or breaks your vacation is your attitude and the the people around you. Are there some things that need attention? Yes. But none that are critical to your enjoyment. If you ask politely, the staff will do everything they can to fix things. As has been said in reviews here many times, this is not a 5 star resort nor are you paying for 5 star amenities. If you want everything to be "just like home" - then stay home or pay more.
It is a testament to this hotel that it has loyal repeat customers from year to year. We certainly intend to keep going back.
I mentioned already that the key here is to have the right attitude. If you don't worry so much about some of the things that could use a little upgrading, you will find that you have much more energy to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and the even more beautiful staff here.
It has been said before, but bears repeating: The staff here are second to none. If you allow them to, they will become good friends with a place in your heart. This year as we were about to leave, my wife was crying and I have to say, my eyes were leaking a bit too.
We have started to save our pennies and can hardly wait for the next 11 months to pass when we can see once more our Dominican family and other friends we made.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    90
    47
    41
    60
See reviews for
57
136
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

This was not our first time at this hotel, we have been going for several years now and this time we went with family and friends and they also loved it. Most people love this place but if you are going to be picky and complain about a little rust in a sink or some paint missing on a door, then you are just too fussy and should go to a 5 star hotel. This place is relaxing, the rooms are cleaned daily. There are 2 pools and these are also cleaned daily. The beach is absolutely beautifull but the ocean a little ruff but that's good for those who love the waves. The food, well once again, you must be extremely fussy not to enjoy the variety of this buffet and we found the food to be of excellent quality and freshness. Also there was good food in all the "a la carte" restaurants". The people at this hotel are what makes your holiday worth it all. They are the best . They will try and do everything in the power to make your stay memorable. We are all looking forward to going back. Once again thank you to everyone, we absolutely "LOVE" this place.
Maria xxx

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

i am warning any 1 who is thinking of going to this hotel,,its disgusting the food is rotten,,blooded pork,,cockroaches every where,,rooms terrible bottom of our door was missing,,rust all in the bath,,and when i open'd the window it fell apart(no lie),paint on the tv,,as we got there the pool was out of use,,they were painting the sun umbrella's with white emullsion,,honest...nice staff,,but that hotel and what i say is the tip of the ice burg,,we payed $861,,to move to playa dorada..the gran ventana,,it was a world apart stunning food out of this world the beach was nice,,but back to celuisma DONT GO THERE OR ITS SISTER HOTEL IN PLAYA DORADA,,the beach was full of fags,,debrie,,bottles,,its in the middle of no where,,im from the valleys of south wales and we are hardy people who are not always used to luxury and dont demand the best im warning you,,STAY AWAY and DONT FLY WITH THOMAS COOK,,they tell u its all inc,,they charge for drinks snacks(at very high rates)on the plane,,the meals are dire,they charge u 4 ear phones,,they are not helpfull,and they want your last penny,,hope this helps,,we ps we wernt the only couple who moved that day 2 lovley people from devon did aswell,who were a seperate party,,and his wife was honestly in tears

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I gotta tell you,having been to Cuba a couple of times I was disappointed Dr had no Cappuccino, but one of the staff the staff there was named just that. He was my favourite in the entertainment crew so was Jean. I also found Calvin in the bar mixed my drinks very well, it was unusual. If you have a problem with the rooms I recommend u speak to either Eddy or Leo (both are cute, so was Cappuccino, and Calvin) made my stay lovely. I was picky with the food too repetitive. The Thai restaurant was fantastic. Beach is lovely in the mornings. The sellers on the beach were a bit annoying during the day. Overall I enjoyed my time there, I forgot reality. Once coming home I felt I left myself there. The entertainment and activities was fantastic.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

Been going to this resort for a number of years, Just came back from my second home from a 3 week stay. My wife and I had the time of our lives. Every year it gets better and better. People can complain all they want but this place is PARADISE. The complex is very small so you get to know everybody within a few days, anywhere you walk you are close to the buffet restaurent, your room, the pools and the beach.

The food is very good with a lot of variety. The staff in the buffet restaurent will serve you your drinks and hug you to welcome you.

The staff starting with the manager Richard, the reception team Christopher, Edie, Javier and Leonardo will do everything possible to make your stay unforgettable.

Now the animation team starting with the boss Joan, Cappuccino, Minime, Luciano, Jose, Franklyn, Johanny, Claudia, Stefanie and Jessica will do everything in their power to please you by being very friendly and offering you nightly show that will make you laugh and make you dance the night away if you want to.

Again for the people who complain, this is a 3 star hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

This was our 5th time staying at this same resort. We are from small town Canada and have high standards, particularly when it comes to cleanliness and safety. We chose this hotel at random the 1st time, but continue to return there because it meets every one of our needs and more. Let's break it down.

1. Rooms. We were in room 601, bottom floor, right outside the main buffet area. Upon arrival (quite late on a Thursday night), we noticed the light was out in the bathroom. They immediately came to replace the bulb (gotta tell them at the front desk...if they don't know, they can't fix it). We had two double beds, a large bathroom and plenty of closet space and drawer space. Could the furniture be replaced? Yes. Could it have used a coat of paint? Yes. But really, if old furniture and cracked paint are going to spoil your vacation in paradise, then I can't understand where you're coming from anyway! Every day the maids came in and cleaned everything, even changing the sheets daily.

2. The Beach. The beach was approximately 55 steps from my bedroom door. It was cleaned daily (many guests throwing garbage on to the beach but the lifeguard would try to gather everything up at the end of the day and the next morning, for sure, it would all be gone). It was pretty rough during this trip so we didn't get to swim as much as usual, but we'd rather err on the side of caution in this kind of a situation. The beach vendors are the same ones from year to year. Say no FIRMLY, and then smile and offer for them to sit down and you'll have a friend for life. Or let them go on their merry way. They're just out to make a living but understand that no means no when said firmly.

3. The pools. The pools were cleaned every single day! I hadn't witnessed this before as this was the first trip I was up and about before 7am! I only saw the results, but this time I saw the in process as well.

4. The food. I'm not a big fan of Mexican food so I didn't eat at the a la carte, and I'm allergic to shellfish so we stayed away from the Thai a la carte, thus relying exclusively on the main buffet. I always shake my head when I read on here about how everything is repetitive! Sure it's repetitive if you eat the same thing every day. But on any given day I could eat chicken, beef, pork or fish. I could dress that with potatoes, plantain, rice or pasta. I could add fresh veggies like lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers, etc. Or cooked veggies like broccoli or cauliflower, etc. So, if you can't come up with your own variations with THAT much to choose from, I really want to know what is on your family's menu 7 days a week!

5. The Location. We love the fact that this hotel is not in the heart of Cabarete. It's off the beaten path, and for us that is a positive thing! It's quiet, it's safe...and yet you can get into Cabarete easily should you so choose. It's about a 5 minute taxi ride which will cost you $10.00 per carload. So ask around, get some others to join in if you think that's too expensive. Or rent a car. The DR isn't the only place in the world that doesn't have absolutely everything it has to offer within arm's reach. We rent a car when we vacation in Florida or L.A., why should we presume everything will be at our front door here? Such silly notions other patrons of this hotel come with...Cabarete is a quaint little town. Lots of shops for souvenirs. There's a great little music shop by Jose o'Shea's...a little Irish pub in the heart of the town! The beach is so nice as well, although we wouldn't have known how to access it had we not done some asking on our 1st trip here. If you're into nightlife and bar scenes, this is a pretty hot spot. Not my scene but paying 20 bucks in taxi, probably between a group, for a night out? Even in my small town here in Canada, that's not possible, so again I'm not sure why the complaints.

6. The Entertainment. I have been to resorts before and have been entertained by their animation teams, but never before have we been so warmly welcomed and treated as family . We were pleasantly surprised to see some new shows as well...they are continually building on their entertainment base. So often I read these reviews, and people are almost always liberal in their praise of Joan and his animation staff. This is not exaggerated. They work extremely long hours and t heir sole purpose is to keep you entertained and to ensure that you have a spectacular vacation. Not one of them disappoints.

So, there's my review. If you're someone who appreciates a beautiful location, and hardworking staff, who understands that this IS a "third world" country and is ready for an amazing time, this is definitely the resort for you. Enjoy!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, North Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

I returned from a week's holiday at this hotel only a few days ago. My partner and i booked this holiday through a travel agents and had not seen many pictures of the complex before we left, although i did read the reviews on this website, and i was slightly worried after reading some of them!!

Both my partner and i loved the complex. As other reviews have commened 'you get what you pay for'. Although this is true, the complex, staff and food were fantastic. The hotel is not too far away from the airport which is another bonus.

The complex was clean, however the smaller pool did look a bit dodgy towards the end of our holiday, but the big pool was cleaned daily. The rooms were nice and spacious and there was maid service every day. The rooms could do with modernising but that wasnt a major issue.

The food was fantastic! We ate mainly at the buffet restaurant which had a wide variety of food to suit all. The mexican restaurant was also great, nice atmosphere. My partner and i didnt enjoy the thai restaurant as much but that was down to a personal preference (not big lovers of seafood!). However the set up for the thai restaurant is very idyllic.

The only major down point to this complex was the evening entertainment. The entertainers tried their best but it was very much Butlins style!

Overall this is a lovely hotel. I wouldn't necessarily book this hotel again but that is only because next time i would choose a larger complex, especially if i were to go for 2 weeks.

If you do remember anything from this review remember this...

STAY AWAY FROM TONY (the hotels representative aka CONMAN!) AND THE ALASKAN COLONEL SANDERS LOOKALIKE!! They will con you into sitting in an office for over an hour whilst trying to sell you a time share. This happened after our 1st breakfast there so beware!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celuisma Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Address: 2 km from Cabarete, Entrada Camino del Sol, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celuisma Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Celuisma Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Paraiso Tropical
Paraiso Tropical Cabarete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celuisma Cabarete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.