We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan 20-27, 2012 Fantastic value for my money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Celuisma Cabarete to your Saves list
Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 km from Cabarete, Entrada Camino del Sol, Cabarete, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Cabarete
Welland, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jan 20-27, 2012 Fantastic value for my money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The thing we remember best is the staff, they are the best we have ever encountered anywhere. They really make you feel welcome and do not expect tips for what they do.
The hotel was built as a great hotel many years ago, they have done a reasonable job of maintaining the rooms in the buildings . There are rooms over the lobby that need work but they are not in use.
The food is ok and there is an omelet chef in the morning that will make one to your order, this is a pasta bar for lunch and roast meat sliced for you at dinner.
The beach is kept cleaner than some 5 star places I've seen. The ocean always has waves but it is safe to body surf and splash about in the waves. The kite surfers love the constant breeze, it is interesting to see them in action.
Cabarette is in decline, it was open for tourists before many other areas of the country and there is a lot of vacant hotels around. Everyone in the area can speak at least some English.
We wandered over to a large closed hotel next door [Paraiso del Sol] , we met the security guards and they let us tour the place. It was a great hotel in it's day. Now there are fish in the swimming pools. Scotiabank re-possessed this place 4 years ago.
Hotel Celuisma is a great value because it is not being filled near it's capacity, you get lots of personal attention from staff and you never have to worry about finding lounge chairs at the beach or pools.
The bars give great service but are only stocked with Dominican liquor that is a fairly good imitation of wiskey, amaretto, tequila etc.
There are brief shortages of everything but the staff will help you through those times.
The quality of the guests is way above average, they get caught up in the friendly atmosphere, expect to meet some new friends.
Anyone that has any specific questions that I may be able to answer is welcome to contact me barry1fitzgerald@gmail.com

Room Tip: The evening activities move around so you will have at least 1 night of music from the show until 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    90
    47
    41
    60
See reviews for
57
136
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
georgetown ontario canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

just spent the best holiday season of my life at THE CELUISMA~~~~~~The best staff from the beautiful entrance of this building all the way to the beach where you can find the two best kite-surfing instructors in the Dominican Republic ( hello Javier & Miguel----thanks so much)---this place is so great that i almost do not want to tell people about it so that it will stay the exact same as it is~~~~i read some of the reviews that were negative and have realized that the people who wrote them just do not know how to have fun------this is not meant to be the Ritz ~~~it is the true Dominican experience where you can walk the beach for a mile either way and see what the pirates saw hundreds of years ago----a few locals--a few animals and thousands of coconut trees-----the food is great and the staff prove day in and day out that you have chosen the right place to vacation----the hotel is a peaceful paradise yet a two minute ride away you are in the middle of Cabarette where you can party your face off all night long----the best of both worlds---the animation crew will amaze you with there entertainment skills( great shows at night) the bartenders will seem like family the kitchen staff will spoil you the reception staff will inform you of everything you need to know--the grounds crew will provide you with the piece of heaven that is THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC and the security staff will watch you have fun as well as have fun with you wherever you go------if you love to enjoy life then go to THE CELUISMA-----if you do not then stay away and do not ruin this atmosphere--------a giant thank-you to everyone at the hotel----i will see you again in 2012-------patrick from canada

Room Tip: ask to see what is available and settle in for a great vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I didn't expect much after reading the reviews so I was pleasantly surprised.
Went on a package tour at $900 including taxes from Toronto which is a great deal for flight, hotel and meals.
A week isn't long enough. Most everyone I met there was a repeat customer who were spending 3 to 4 weeks at a time there.
Food was good. Prices at nearby restaurants and grocery store were comparable to prices in Toronto.
Animation dance team was fun to watch each night. Don't expect high production values.
Excellent bar tenders, I was impressed with how well they remembered names.
Walking into Cabarete Kite Beach takes about an hour along the beach. Taxi ride into town should not be more than $5, watch out for those that will charge you more.
Hair shampoo is not supplied.

Room Tip: There were a few things wrong with my first room, ceailing fan looked like it would spin off the cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

holes in floor boards, public seat areas waterlogged and filthy, shower too hot to stand under, toilet flush faulty, sink taps clogged and slow flowing, tap top missing, plug missing, food bland and lukewarm - I've been home a week and still running for the loo, toaster caught fire in my wifes face, plug socket simply blew up next to where we were eating, ran out of red wine, restaurant has holes in roof, aircon packed up, karaoke machine packed up, film night dvd wouldnt work, fire extinguishers out of pressure, outside and common area lighting faulty in too many areas, hedges need cutting back away from paths. Only about 15 people in the place, big hotel next door closed down, security warned us it was a bad area to go out in. Couldnt wait to leave but had to take immodium to be able to travel. We have travelled all over the world including many times in the Dominican and this is the WORST we have experienced

Room Tip: only have 1st floor, rain flows in the doors of ground floor. Better still go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I went for the first time in july and within 2 days I was so relaxed, the staff are top quality and make you feel a million dollars, the rooms are not fantastic but your only sleeping in them they clean and tidy and sufficient for your needs, theres so much going on, the animation team are out of this world and if you join in your holiday will be one in a life time, all the staff just cant do enough for you. And if anything breaks down they are quick to fix it. Foods good and they put alot of effort into providing a variety not a vast amount but enough choice. I've been 4 and 5 stars hotels but I have never at the end of my holiday felt so relax and fulfilled then when I have been on this one, when it was time to come home normally I'm ready and willing to come home not this one I'm back at christmas and will go many more times god willing. GOOD ON YOU HOTEL CELIUSMA CABARETE YOUR THE BEST

Room Tip: You can change when you get there they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed for two weeks Sept/Oct. The hotel is a little way outside of Cabarete but there is a shuttle bus which runs every morning. It's well worth going as it is a busy bustling place with lots to see. Regarding the hotel, we would agree with the other good reviews which this hotel has been given. Ok it's a little tired and could be done with a spruce up but it is spotlessly clean, our pretty room and bathroom were thoroughly cleaned every day and the public areas are all very clean. Because it was quiet when we were there, we counted around 30 guests in total, the pools and beach are lovely and peaceful - no fighting for sun loungers here ! A special mention must be given to the animation team - they do a fabulous job without being pushy. The only downside for us was the food - we had upset tummys which, it can be argued, could be due to the heat, a little more alcohol than usual ! and different ways of cooking. However, having said that the food was never hot enough for our liking and we ate several times in Cabarete where there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants. All in all though, we had a lovely relaxing holiday. Look beyond the peeling paint and hopefully you will see how lovely this place is. Go on - I dare you - you'll have a fabulous time.

Room Tip: We had room 301 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

when we first checked out the reviews on here about this hotel we were horrified at some but we had been to other hotels with bad reviews but still it was worrying,anyway all those bad review was nothing that we found infact we had a great 2 wks at the celuisma.no screaming kids,blow up beds in pool & very quite so nice & relaxing.we picked the best time of year cos there can`t have been more than 25 guests in the whole place so plenty of room by the pool didn`t even need to put towels on sun beds to save them & there were even germans at the hotel.
The hotel does need some doing up it is tired looking but what does it matter,in our room same again abit tired but everything worked the air con worked so well it was like the arctic in the morning,the ceiling fan squeeked but it worked,the fridge was nice n cold to put our water in.we always had water in the bathroom & plenty of hot water .the room was good for what you need it for to sleep in.
the food was ok some of it was abit too long under the heat lamps but over all you won`t starve,O & if you like us have been to other places where you dressed for dinner this hotel you don`t or no one bothered to anyway.
the entertainment team where really good they had so much energy it tired you out just watching them.
the trips we went on were really good,monster truck safari,pleasure island,the cable car,river boat safari.we did the blue lagoon which was rubbish it isn`t a lagoon its a cave thats collapsed then filled with water which i do have to admit was blue don`t bother with it.

if you scuba dive then go with DIVE CABARETE they are english i had a great 3 days diving with them & if you can do the zingara wreck its deep 36m but well worth it one of the best dives i did.

So in conclusion the hotel the food & the staff was all very good the advice i`d give show the staff some respect & you will have great fun hope this helps.

Room Tip: there basically the same except the apartments.by the pools are nice we had our room nr the resturan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Celuisma Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celuisma Cabarete

Address: 2 km from Cabarete, Entrada Camino del Sol, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celuisma Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Celuisma Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Paraiso Tropical
Paraiso Tropical Cabarete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Celuisma Cabarete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.