We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was looking for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kite Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Kite Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kite Beach Inn
5, Cabarete | Kite Beach, Cabarete, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what I was looking for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

After reading the reviews here, I had high expectations of staying at the Kite beach inn.

The locations is good, if you all you want to do is kitesurf, but if you want to get into town quickly for a bite to eat, then the 20 minute walk into town gets a bit lengthy the 3rd day.

There were 2 things that I really didn't like about the inn:
The noise levels in the evening was way beyond acceptable, the rooms have zero noise insulation from fellow guests, and because it's right next to the road, you hear all the traffic.

The biggest issue I had with my stay though was the cleanliness of the place. Hairs from the previous guests all over the bathroom and sink and crawling insects in my room, made me leave early.

Maybe if your young and used to hostels, this is the place for you, it wasn't for me

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCSUSA, Owner at Kite Beach Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The guest and I have exchanged one private message and Kite Beach Inn would like to thank him for his inputs. However, as I am unable to get his full name, information on the room he stayed at and his check in date, I can only address his concerns in general.

First, Kite Beach Inn is located directly on Kite Beach which is a 20-minute walk to downtown Cabarete, or a 3-minute ride on a moto concho. We do, however, have a beachfront restaurant/bar on premise that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are also several other restaurants within a 5-minute walk but they do not open for dinner.

Second, Kite Beach Inn comprises of 2 buildings and we do have some rooms that are by the road. These rooms are our least expensive rooms and are usually rented out with discounted prices or deeply discounted long term rental rates. The building by the road was built with thicker walls and double paned windows for extra sound insulation based on materials that are available in a third world country. So, we are aware of potential sound problem and did what we could to improve it. With 2 buildings, we do have quieter rooms and we always try to accommodate guest’s request if they ask for a quieter location.

Third, as owner, I am as concerned as the guest about the cleanliness issues. We are very sorry about the cleanliness issues this guest encountered. Be rest assured that it was an exception, not the norm. As I was unable to determine which room the guest stayed at and when, I cannot backtrack to see who cleaned the room and who checked the room after it was cleaned. I have met with the cleaning staff and my managers and addressed this particular issue.

Fourth, Kite Beach Inn is located in a tropical location. Even though we spray for insects every time a room is cleaned, it is possible that any leftover foods and such can attract insects. Again, we will pay special attention to this matter.

I would like to thank the guest again for his inputs. We are paying special attention to the issues he brought up.

Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Kite beach Inn is a well kept and well run place at a great value. I'd choose this place any time over a 3-4 star hotel that doesn't run as well. As other reviewers noted, Danilo and Giovanna are just awesome and Lucy and Jim very welcoming.

We really enjoyed our stay here.

The details: The managers of the hotel have a great process for keeping things ship-shape and it shows:

The Rooms: Clean and comfortable, our AC actually worked and was quiet. The staff did a great job keeping the room clean and sand-free.

The Bed: Clean, fresh, and comfortable.
The Bath: Super clean. Ours had no sign of rust, grime, or anything. Decent water pressure and hot water.
Internet: No issues with the wifi signal in the room or the hotel common areas (right to the beach)

Tips: There's a place to hang laundry on the top floor. If available, you can borrow a water container and buy water from across the street. Coco Loco is on the grounds and great! We were allowed to use kiteclub's air compressor to pump our kites (big blessing for us).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First time in Cabarete, got to the Kite Beach Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews and I have to say I was not disappointed. The Inn is super clean, right on the beach and everybody there seems to be extremely friendly and helpful. The owners Lucy and Jimmy are always around to be sure everything is OK and Danilo and Giovanna (help with managing the place) are really great people. The small bar is really nice and cool, excellent place to hang out after a day on the water.
Overall a really great place. Will be back soon!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was our first trip to Cabarete and based on other tripadvisor reviews we chose Kite Beach Inn-- and it was exactly what we were looking for! We were there for a week and couldn't have been happier! It's small, friendly hotel, right on Kite Beach, tucked away from the more touristy part of Cabarete and is filled with kiteboarders. We were taking lessons at Laurel Eastman Kiteboarding school, about a 15-20 minute walk down the beach, which is how long it takes to get to the town of Cabarete in general from KBI. From Kite Beach Inn it's a 20 minute drive to Puerto Plata airport as well.

The hotel itself is clean, well-kept, nicely and recently renovated, new bathrooms, free wi-fi, has a comfortable bed and very affordable. Owners Lucy and Jim were friendly and very helpful and made you feel right at home. You can literally walk out of your room, have breakfast or lunch, and then launch your kite right off the beach!

Kite Beach Inn's courtyard opens up to a cozy beach bar, Coco Loco, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. (It's owned and run by very friendly Polish folks, so the menu has some surprising items for the Caribbean-- like pierogies!) Right next door is Kite Beach Club, which serves a great breakfast and is also a kiting school.

If you don't want a crowded all-inclusive resort or a big, nameless trying-to-be fancy hotel, Kite Beach Inn is the best place to stay in Cabarete!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Friendly people, great vibes, friendly dogs, beautiful views—a bit of paradise that makes you want to extend your stay for another month.

We just finished a week stay at Kite Beach inn and were extremely pleased! Jim and Lucy were super nice and accommodating, there was defiantly a welcoming community vibe around the area that you didn't feel so much down at Bozo beach.

If you are going to Cabarete to kite board, or just need a place to chill out, then this is the place for you. Very affordable rates and great service/help when needed. Plus, they have AC and hot water, which surprisingly extreme and some other hotels do not.

The restaurant/bar on the property, Coco Loco was full of friendly vibes and a great spot to hang out at after a nice day on the beach. Plus there are a couple other spots to eat/have a drink during the day, full of more, friendly people.

Stay at this hotel when you head over to Kite Beach, it was our best vacation ever, you will not regret it :)

Room Tip: Just write Lucy and she will help you make your stay worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon HIlls,
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We love the Kite Beach Inn. The rooms are modern, clean and have all the amenities you need including a luxury walk-in shower, frig, cooking surface and free wi-fi. The Inn is right on the beach, close to the kite surfing school next door. The owners, Jim and Lucy, do everything they can to make your stay amazing. They arranged perfect weather :), a scuba trip, zip lining, a visit to a monkey park, and a canyoning trip to 27 Waterfalls, the highlight of our visit. We couldn't ask for better hosts.We will definitely be coming back for the best in Cabaete.

Room Tip: The KBI has rooms with different amenies, to fit your needs and budget. Be sure to share your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a great place to stay! The location is tough to beat and the accommodations are spacious, comfortable and well kept! Financially, it is a great value! However, even more importantly, the hospitality is outstanding! Jim, Lucy, Danilo and Gio went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable and convenient. Even the night security guard went out of his way to help us! We looked at other hotels during our stay, with thoughts of returning soon. We found one or two that might be a little higher end (with much higher prices), but quickly came to the conclusion that we will definitely stay at Kite Beach Inn on our next visit! Bottom line: You can’t beat the value, location and hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kite Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to say a big "Thank You" to all our guests who wrote a review for Kite Beach Inn. We added 15 new units, renovated all 10 existing units and just re-opened at the end of March, 2012. My husband and I and our staff try very hard to take good care of our guests and provide them with a wonderful vacation experience when they stay at Kite Beach Inn. We are very proud and grateful that our guests had a great time here and felt that they are being well taken care of. Many of our guests have become friends and we can't wait to see you back.

A big "Thank You" from the Kite Beach Inn Management Team

Lucy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kite Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kite Beach Inn

Address: 5, Cabarete | Kite Beach, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kite Beach Inn is a 25-room ocean front hotel located right on Kite Beach in Cabarete, on the north coast of the Dominican Republic. We cater to kiteboarders and vacationers looking for a beach vacation. We have the best valued rooms right on Kite Beach. Our amenities include: free high speed internet, beach front restaurant/bar, swimming pool, 24/7 electricity with large backup generator, on-site security, maid service, concierge service, communal kitchen plus more. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to make your stay as pleasant and as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kite Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kite Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.