We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only real authentic Dominican cuisine in Cabarete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandro

Sandro
Calle Principal, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 92 Restaurants in Cabarete
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The only real authentic Dominican cuisine in Cabarete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Even though Cabarete is in DR, the town has been taken over by Europeans. I was very dissappointed at how many american and european styled fast food places there were. Not sure why I would want to travel to a country in latin america to have burgers, fries, chicken fingers, pasta, and escargo, and german sausage. But this is what Cabarete has become. There was one silver lining in the cloud here. And that was "Sandro's". I asked a Dominican local where we could get some real Dominican food and he pointed us here. Sandros is across the street from the hotel strip. The only of its kind. We were treating to the best authentic experience we could find. We had black stewed beans, white rice, ripened plantains, braised beef, mangu ( national dish, made with mashed green bananas) fried salami, and stewed goat over yellow rice. Amazing! if you are looking to take a break from the american/european fast food culture of cabarete =, then take a walk over to Sandro's.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local Dominican Food at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very ordinary looking from the street, would not have tried it had it not come highly recomended by my Realtor. The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced, the service very good and personable. I would highly recommend this for an authentic meal in the Dominican Republic. Dont go looking for great atmosphere, what you save in $$ is well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diver-traveller1
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food in Cabarete!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Not a fancy joint, but the staff is super friendly and the food is simple but delicious! Can't wait to come back to Cabarete and eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great local afforable flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Simple local food. Authentic. Not tourist crap and very reasonably priced. The place to go if you want to try some real dominican food. recommended to us by the locals and we were not let down!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good prices good food but it could have been better.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

For some odd reason, my family wanted to drive all the way to sandro's and eat lunch. We arrived around 1 and took a seat. It took awhile for someone to get up, get the menus so we could order. The food arrived 10-15 minutes later. It was alotttt of food. We ordered the pollo frito (fried chicken) cerdo guisado (pork and gravy), arroz (rice), habichuelas (beans), tostones (mashed and fried plantains). The food was good but it was lacking in quality. The cerdo was fatty. The pollo was boney. The habichuelas were watery. We ate it and washed it down with fruit drinks. I got chinola (passion fruit). The others got pina (pineapple) and limon (lemon).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandro also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Sandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.