We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Paseo del Sol #5, Perla Marina, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Cabarete B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This place is paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I brought a group of 9 women here for a wellness/fitness retreat and Natura Cabana far surpassed my expectations. The setting is simply beautiful, each cabana is a unique treasure, and the food & staff were amazing. I will definitely be repeating this trip next year with more friends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    29
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
71
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is one of those places you're reluctant to write about - because you want to keep it to yourself and not have it inundated with tourists! Having said that - I'm sharing my little paradise with you, hoping that it still won't get too discovered.

It's an intimate, cosy, quiet place with only 10 bungalows. We were there for a week - over March break - and it felt like we had the place practically to ourselves. The beach is gorgeous, very private, and offers lots of fun in the wild waves.

Dinners were unbelievable. The chef, Antonio, is world-class, and puts out some of the best food we've eaten anywhere. We only went out for dinner two nights; it was hard to give up his food.

It's a perfect place if you want to simply relax. The bungalows have fabulous porches for chilling. Take a book, put up your feet and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a find! This is a bohemian gringo’s idea of paradise. Stone bungalows with thatched roofs and endless creative, handcrafted details. Comfortable and clean. Kind people, good food, a private beach, yoga, massage. The pictures tell it all. The only thing that was rather odd was that the other guests weren’t very friendly. Maybe they were just incredibly relaxed and self-absorbed. We didn’t mind, but some interesting connections were probably missed. We enjoyed Cabrera, the nearby town, as well. I highly recommend this place and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingaro, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I did a search on internet "spiritual places in the Caribbean". Natura Cabana came up and I knew immediately I have found what we were looking for on this vacation. First I want to tell what we was NOT looking for: all inclusive, party party, city life, shopping, lots of people. We wanted to get away, being near the nature, going for long walks on the beach, not feeling you are in the midst of the turist industry where you are supposed to consume wherever you go. We were looking for a special place with charm and caracter, and of course good and fresh food. We found it all at Natura Cabana. We stayed ten nights, in two different cabanas. Both were absolutely fantastic, the love and creativity that has been put down into every detail is fantastic. They name it boutique hotel but I will rather say it is an upper class B&B. We slept so good, almost like sleeping outdoor with the sounds of the waves always present and the fresh air because the cabanas are built very airy without glass windows. The breakfast included is fantastic, exactly what we wanted. Fresh fruits, cereals, bread, honey and any kind of eggs, made on demand. The dinner restaurant we thought first was a bit over priced, but we went into Cabarete (one hour nice walk) to have dinner and the restaurants in the same class had similar prices. You have to put 33 % on top of the prices in the menu because of taxes and service fees. We truly enjoyed all dishes we had except for the egg plant starter. None of us eats meat and we had much to choose from. The staff everywhere at Natura Cabana were fabulous, so nice. Don't miss the Yoga classes with the fantastic teacher Kieran Barry. They have a Yoga Temple very near the ocean and you can go to two yoga classes per day if you want. The price is 20 dollar, a good investment for body and soul. If one of you are already doing yoga you can bring your partner, you will both enjoy. There were experienced Yogis together with beginners on the mats. Everyone taken care of in the best ways. So, if you are looking for a spiritual place and would like to come away from the hectic bar life, go for Natura Cabana.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had a brain fart and booked a Groupon to an 'all-inclusive' in Puerto Plata. My boyfriend and I arrived and instantly knew that place (Lifestyles Crown Residence) was not for us. We went online, found Natura Cabana and the next night were in paradise. Completely peaceful, calm, beautiful and remote, this was exactly what we were looking for. The food was good, the beach was perfect - completely isolated, at any given point there were at max 10 other people, at times none. We rode horses at sunset along the gorgeous natural, empty beaches. We got massages on the beach. The cabana we stayed in was absolutely wonderful - natural, elegant, but eco-friendly - spacious, roomy, with a kitchen, bathroom, and two floors - 2 beds upstairs, 2 smaller downstairs (you could have a whole family of 4 in these). I read in the hammock on our porch. It was my birthday while we were there, and they even left some sparkling fruit wine in our room. Utterly relaxing and remote, Natura Cabana also offered yoga, meditation and other classes. I hope to return here. It was a little pricey for our budget, but well worth the spend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Natura Cabana February 22nd for our anniversary. It was a "stop-over" before we boarded our boat at Cofresi, DR, to swim with the Humpback whales. We were 100% pleased by this lovely private property located directly on it's own gorgeous beach. The atmosphere was elegant yet casual, the accommodations beautifully designed and decorated, the food and service excellent in every way. We especially liked the lack of any commercialism! It was also uncrowded, probably because of it's remoteness. Easy to drive to but hidden away. We dined no more than 100' to the seashore in a charming dining area, open-air with soft music playing. We couldn't have been more pleased and highly recommend Natura Cabana! We will surely be back in the future. What a gem!

Room Tip: Can't think of a thing except we chose a nice palapa away from the two open-air restaurants (one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent months researching Caribbean vacation destinations before booking Natura Cabana. We were looking for something small, peaceful, NOT all-inclusive, eco-sensitive, reasonably priced, beachfront, with excellent food. We found it. Having said that, it is perhaps not the place for everyone. You have to truly love nature, because this is nature wild and unrefined. Though technically public, the beach is stunning and very sparsely populated, but the waves and currents are rough (our children, strong swimmers aged 8 & 9, had to be watched at every moment in the surf). Furthermore, because the cabanas are "open air" thatched roof huts, they are subject to the occasional visit by nature's smaller creatures (namely spiders, roaches, tiny lizards). This bothered us the first night, but we quickly grew accustomed to it. They weren't particularly interested in us, so we just let them be and it all become harmonious. Other reviewers have mentioned lack of privacy... and although we were in Caribe, adjacent to the "reception cabana", the spa & the pool, we didn't find this to be a problem. The place only has 10 cabanas so it's typically very quiet indeed. Other guests were very diverse (many European), who smiled politely but generally kept to themselves (which we appreciated). The food at the two restaurants was really fantastic (we ate nearly every meal right here on site), and the chef came out (fairly often) to chat with the guests (not all of whom are staying at Natura Cabana). In fact, the staff overall -- restaurant, spa, or otherwise --could not be faulted. They were friendly, trustworthy, and accommodating (especially Arulfo and Geury, whom we adored). The daily Anusara yoga on offer in a dedicated on-site seaside pavillion (costs $20 for 90 minutes -- a fair commitment) turned out to be an incredibly profound experience for both body and soul, with the instructor, Kieran, focusing on the quality of each pose. Overall the practice was at a much higher level than I was expecting and added much-needed depth to our holiday. We also went horseback riding on the beach -- so lovely!! -- and had massages on the beach -- incredibly relaxing! Although we were there to chill, we did adventure further afield a few times: lunch on the beach at nearby Cabarete was good fun as were surfing lessons just down the beach (about 20 mins walk away). As for the country itself, we had heard from friends that it is ugly, so we were very surprised to feel quite the opposite about it. Yes, the evidence of relative poverty abounds, but we found so much beauty here, especially in the countryside and among the people, who are generally warm, relaxed & friendly. We were not harassed (as we had been led to believe we might be) and we felt very safe (even in more "downmarket" Sosua). We did not want an antiseptic, packaged holiday where our children were either trotted off to Kids Club everyday or consumed with playing with other children. We wanted to understand the country a little bit, and we wanted remote peace & quiet with local flavor. We got that, and more. Our children LOVED this holiday, because it was about the four of us spending quality downtime together. We talked over long meals, we enjoyed lazy afternoons in the pool or on the beach, we played cards until the wee hours, we slept in, we ate well, we had some adventure, we learned some new Spanish words, we got to know some of the staff, we recharged our batteries. It was everything we wanted our holiday to be and we are very, very happy that we chose Natura Cabana. As I say, it may not be right for everyone... but it was definitely right for us. We have already planned to return (in four years, when both children will be old enough to tackle all 27 Falls of the Damajagua!). nb: see our separate reviews of Ocean World and of the Outback Safari tour.

Room Tip: All cabanas are different and annoyingly the website doesn't offer detail. We stayed in Caribe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA

Address: Paseo del Sol #5, Perla Marina, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURA, immersed in the tropical beauty of Cabarete, is an ecological paradise renowned for its architecture and decor, which fosters the call to tranquility and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.