We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nirvana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA to your Saves list
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Paseo del Sol #5, Perla Marina, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Just back from a visit early April, probably the best vacation I've ever had - and I'm in the 50+ group. What was considered a double room turned out to be a 2-room bungalow - immaculate and rustic at the same time. Lovely patio with rattan sofa, hammock as well as a ceiling fan and light so we could read into the wee hours of the morning. Inside there was only a ceiling fan, but never once did we feel hot. The paths to various locations - the restaurant, the beach, main office etc - were neatly swept and manicured everyday so that we felt comfortable walking around this lush exotic setting. Breakfast was a dream - small set up - but still offered something for every palette - the most delicious toasted granola I've ever had, fresh fruit, breads and of course, the standard egg dishes and breakfast meats every morning.

But of all the qualities, the service at Natura Cabana was the finest! Gracious staff from the groundsmen up to the front desk people and the manager - all were an absolute delight. Accommodating, forthcoming, provided reliable sightseeing info with advice on how to get a "local taxi" and giving a realistic lay of the land. -- Hope to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    30
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
72
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for 5 days in January. Because it was the off-season, it often felt like we were the only people there (besides the staff). If you only stay on the property, there's one option for lunch and another for dinner. The food is decent, but can get old quickly. We ventured out to Sosua and Caberete for lunch a couple days, but preferred heading back before it got dark. Be warned, to do pretty much anything besides relax on the beach or yoga, you'll need to take a taxi. The front desk is very helpful when it comes to coordinating transportation, though.

The private beach is nice, and luckily it only rained a little overnight. However, the actual cabanas were a little less "standard" than I had anticipated. We stayed in the Coral cabana, which was two stories. The second floor had a bed, while the first just had a bathroom with a wall of seashells hanging from strings acting as a door. I'll just say it provided very little in the way of privacy. We also had to wait a bit to let the hot water warm up and even then it only lasted a couple minutes when showering. We didn't notice any bugs during the day, but at night they were drawn to light in our room and we ended up getting bitten quite a bit. We eventually asked the front desk for bug spray, but had wished we brought our own.

Overall, it's a nice place, but next time I'll be staying at a regular resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This resort is really tucked away off of the main road, which makes it romantic, but, basically, once you are there it is hard to leave (unless you have rented a car). My boyfriend and I only stayed for one night and in that one night probably spent as much money as we had spent for the previous 8 days of our vacation, and we were not exactly on a shoe string budget. Since the place is so removed from the main drag, you eat at the hotel bar - which is lovely (food is average) and is quite expensive.

Also, annoying is that you have no options other than to buy bottled water at the hotel. These seemed to us a bit rich. I am sure that there is a more cost effective (and frankly environmentally-friendly) way to service this most basic need of your guests than relying on bottled water.

We got the spa services (also lovely) and also expensive!! But if you are looking for a scenic place to totally relax this will do the trick. You have a private beach where you can lay back, sip on mojitios, and then retreat to your bungalow and lye on your hammock for a nap.

Also, if you are interested in interacting with Dominican culture, this is not the place for you. This is a pure style-oriented resort experience that you could have anyway where in the world. It is very nice, but is not exactly a place that takes advantage of its context or cultural surroundings.

Awesome place if you are willing to spend $$$ and don't mind some of the drawbacks discussed above. Think first.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

As two busy New Yorkers we only had four days to relax and this was for us perfection. In a mere 20 minute cab ride from PP we were on the beach. The whole experience from start to end was impossible to fault. Great staff and service, our Cabana (India) was beautiful, food was great, yoga, the spa, horse riding (we sampled it all)...and don't have a bad word to say. We couldn't recommend this more highly. Our special thanks to Jairo, a true gent, who kindly agreed to let two city girls crash his weekend by showing us how the Dominican's party. THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: If you're a couple the coral cabana looks interesting (though we haven't actually seen insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Beware, this place charges by person - not per room. Also, there is a discount if you pay cash. Other than that, it is a really beautiful, well kept place. The view from breakfast is amazing. The hotel is kind of in the middle of nowhere, so you may want to consider renting a car - which is a bit of an adventure in and of itself. We did a canyoning tour at the waterfalls, I'd recommend that.

Make sure to check out cabaretta (tourist) and sosua beach (local). Dominican as a whole is not as inexpensive as you might think. In fact, prices are comparable to Canada.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Our time spent at Natura Cabana was simply AMAZING! With the gorgeous surroundings and friendly, plus attentive, staff, it would be impossible to have an experience that's anything less that wonderful!

My husband and I stumbled upon Natura Cabana by ‘accident’. However, I don’t believe in ‘accidents’…our discovery of this unique gem was definitely divine intervention. It was literally our first stop on our wedding site hunt. As soon as we arrived, we were amazed by its beauty and charm; we knew it was the place.

I forgot to mention that our wedding was to be in 3 days and we had absolutely nothing planned. No floral arrangements, nothing! In fact, we didn’t even know what type of flowers we wanted. If you’re not familiar with ‘island time’, just know that nothing happens too fast. What we were asking was a difficult task, but Natura Cabana was able to get everything ready for our nuptials in record timing, and without sacrificing quality.

Thank you Natura Cabana for helping make our wedding day perfect! We can’t wait to visit again!

Dale and Marissa

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Overall I would say that Natura Cabanas what about what we had expected based on the photos on the website, descriptions, etc. The cabana we stayed in had 2 King beds, a small kitchen and living room and hammock and outdoor furniture. It was well-appointed, however the cabana inside was very dark, even in the daytime. It did stay nice and cool and we had no trouble sleeping. The bed was comfortable and the cleaning staff did an excellent job each day. The woman who responded to our reservations did not always answer our questions completely, but she was very nice once we arrived and helped us out with local information regarding restaurants, etc. The staff overall was pleasant and helpful. We were a bit disappointed in the main courses at the restaurant. The Chef was entertaining however and the waiters and other staff were so friendly (everyone we met in Cabarete was nice). I really loved how well the grounds of the hotel were maintained and how quiet it was there. It was nice to just hang around there for a few days, enjoy the beach, walk along the water, etc. We rented a car so we did not stay on the property a lot. We had dinner at Natura Cabana only our first night. I have one complaint, and it really bothered me on principle. The hotel stocks the fridge with sodas, beer and water and it's a mini bar. This could be convenient and I don't have a problem with mini bars. However, I believe if you stay in a country that does not have water safe to drink that the hotel should supply a jug of water for your room. This is typical in every hotel/cabana we've stayed in Mexico, etc. The fact that you had to buy your own, or pay $1 per small bottle of water from the hotel was disappointing. It's just a small detail and in no way ruined our trip - I just don't think it's good business. We used the spa services one day. The massage was nice, but I'm not sure if the massage person washed her hands between services. I saw her walk out w/ my friend and then walk in with me and had one more service after mine. We went horseback riding on the beach one day which was super fun! We also walked down the beach to have lunch at Chez Aresenio twice which was also very nice. The rest of the days we spent traveling around checking out different areas. Overall, we had a nice stay. A few of our friends got sick. We were told this is not normal... maybe something was going around the month we were there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA

Address: Paseo del Sol #5, Perla Marina, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NATURA, immersed in the tropical beauty of Cabarete, is an ecological paradise renowned for its architecture and decor, which fosters the call to tranquility and rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.