We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabarete's freshest restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiosco Beach

Kiosco Beach
Calle Sosua de Cabarete | opposite Costa Azul resort and golf course, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 95 Restaurants in Cabarete
Description: Small friendly family run restaurant/bar, located on a quiet beach, just off the main road from Sosua to Cabarete (just after Coconut Palms resort coming from Sosua). The setting is beautiful,just off the main road and away from the normal tourist areas, perfect for a visit to the beach followed by lunch under the palms, or an evening meal. Food is very good and very reasonably priced, main meals consists of either chicken, pork, fish or sea food, all cooked in local traditional style. All is cooked freshly to order. The owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, more like an old friend than a customer. There is a security so the beach area is very safe for people who wish to swim in the sea, or just lounge on the sandy beach. There is a covered area on the beach for the use of customers, free of charge. At weekends they hold a bonfire on the beach which adds to the atmoshpere. We would highly recommend Kiosco Beach to anyone, tourists or locals alike, families, couples or a group of friends. Well worth the trip outside of the all inclusive hotels.
Restaurant details
Description: Small friendly family run restaurant/bar, located on a quiet beach, just off the main road from Sosua to Cabarete (just after Coconut Palms resort coming from Sosua). The setting is beautiful,just off the main road and away from the normal tourist areas, perfect for a visit to the beach followed by lunch under the palms, or an evening meal. Food is very good and very reasonably priced, main meals consists of either chicken, pork, fish or sea food, all cooked in local traditional style. All is cooked freshly to order. The owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, more like an old friend than a customer. There is a security so the beach area is very safe for people who wish to swim in the sea, or just lounge on the sandy beach. There is a covered area on the beach for the use of customers, free of charge. At weekends they hold a bonfire on the beach which adds to the atmoshpere. We would highly recommend Kiosco Beach to anyone, tourists or locals alike, families, couples or a group of friends. Well worth the trip outside of the all inclusive hotels.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cabarete's freshest restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This restaurant is about a quarter of a mile west of Kite Beach a short 10 minute walk.It is a Dominican owned restaurant where everything is made to order from fresh ingredients. You must try the fish soup and the grilled snapper. They also do breakfast and lunch and are opened until the last person leaves.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Don't see why it gets such great reviews. What am I missing? Location is not that great either

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of the best in cabarete atmosphere people food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I spent 9days in cabarete and ate there 5 coming from a restaurant family I like to think that I know what I am talking about I became addicted to this place. Try the mero or the carribean lobster you will love it. I have had so many bad experiences dining here inthe dr the past five years and to come across this little place absolutely brought me joy best restaurant in the dr

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Kiosko Beach Bar & Restaurant is a tropical oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Anyone and everyone should visit Kiosko Beach Bar & Restaurant. It's a topical oasis, complete with thatched roof, cocktails served in coconuts and pineapples, ice-cold beer (a necessity after a day in the sun), and phenomenal cuisine (we later learned that the Chef has worked at 5-star resorts throughout the country). We had the lobster topped with cheese sauce (not a combination you hear of often, but trust me it was delicious!) as well as lambi (conch) scampi. The garlic/butter sauce was the best I've ever had. Let me say that again... the BEST I have ever had!

Kiosko Beach is a great spot to relax during the day as well. They're right on the beach (very private area) and have a thatched-roof tent-like structure set up on the beach so that you're protected from the sun, if you wish to be. Picnic tables are set up, as well as lounge chairs...the only thing you'll need is a beverage from the bar and you're looking at an awesome beach day! Stroll on up to the restaurant for lunch or dinner, or eat on the beach. There's really no reason to leave Kiosko!

I forgot to mention that they're open at 8 am for breakfast, too. It truly doesn't get much better than a mug of coffee directly on the beach followed by a hearty breakfast. Great spot to stop at for breakfast after surfing at Encuentro or before kitesurfing at Kite Beach.

Husband and wife owners, Manny and Evelyn; and Manny's brother, Johnny, were so welcoming and warm, wonderful people. I only wish we had found Kiosko earlier in our trip...we miss it and can't wait to return!




Stroll o

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dominican republic
1 review
“Small, friendly, welcoming restaurant in beautiful beach front location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Small friendly family run restaurant/bar, located on a quiet beach,
just off the main road from Sosua to Cabarete (just after Coconut Palms
resort coming from Sosua). The setting is beautiful,just off the main road
and away from the normal tourist areas, perfect for a visit to the beach
followed by lunch under the palms, or an evening meal. Food is very good
and very reasonably priced, main meals consists of either chicken,
pork, fish or sea food, all cooked in local traditional style. All is cooked
freshly to order. The owners are very friendly and make you feel very
welcome, more like an old friend than a customer. There is a security so the
beach area is very safe for people who wish to swim in the sea, or
just lounge on the sandy beach. There is a covered area on the beach for the
use of customers, free of charge. At weekends they hold a bonfire on the beach
which adds to the atmoshpere. We would highly recommend Kiosco Beach to anyone,
tourists or locals alike, families, couples or a group of friends. Well worth
the trip outside of the all inclusive hotels.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiosco Beach also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Kiosco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiosco Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.