We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Circus!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiceitos Circus School

Kaiceitos Circus School
eXtreme hotel, Kite Beach | Carretera Sosua Cabarete 10.5 km, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Cabarete
Type: Sports Complexes
Attraction Details
Stanford, California, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Circus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I took about 3 weeks of lessons with Kaiceitos. You can choose from learning flying trapeze (scary but sooo cool!), trampoline (fun!), aerial skills (very hard but soooo beautiful!), and juggling. It was a very serious workout, and a lot of fun! And I loved the circus team!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Flying High”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Amazing service, amazing heights....we got to go flying through the air on a trapeze, flip over bars on the trampoline and tumbling in the halfpipe. Poppy Gallo is amazing

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A MUST DO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I purchased a Groupon that included a week of accomodations at the Extreme (see review) and a week of circus lessons. I used two Groupons back to back and stayed for two weeks. Kaiceitos Circus School is something you have to do if you stay in or near Cabarete. This is not just an activity for kids (I am 28) as quite a few adults stopped by the school during the week. You can do trapeze, trampoline, aerial scarves, tightrope, and aerial hoop lessons. Lessons are held twice a day everyday except Saturday (I think). Paul (the owner) is very professional and runs a great program here. The guys who work for him (Marcus, Ricardo, and Yoel) are very patient teachers who are very knowledgable in what they do. They can clearly explain how to do skills to all ages and will have you doing tricks the first day of flying. I went to class everyday and had an absolutely amazing time. As soon as my schedule allows I plan on making a return trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome circus school!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We love Paul and the gang - circus is such a blast for kids and adults, our kids keep wanting to come back to Kite Beach to fly on the trapeze and learn new tricks on the trampoline.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You MUST do this! Fun for EVERYONE! Even spectators!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I just spent a week with a a couple of adults and an 8-year-old learning to swing through the air with the greatest of ease! It is so fabulous. The three guys - the boss and his wife were on vacation, but the experience can't possibly have been improved upon - were the best instructors. They were cheerful, instructive, and fun! Two of the guys speak English well, and the other is just as helpful even without the language. They are amazingly encouraging and constantly keeping it fresh with new things to do to improve on the skills.

Without a doubt the 8-year-old made the most progress. In one week, he was almost making the catch from one trapeze to the guy hanging from another! In the first lesson, he learned the basic swinging technique. By day 3, he was hanging from his knees and doing flips off the bar. It's all very safe. He wore a harness the whole time.

If heights aren't your thing, the circus school still has plenty to offer! You can learn the tightrope from about 2 feet off the ground, take some juggling lessons, and jump on the trampoline, even doing flips using a harness. The guys also have some amazing routines with strength and balance training where you stand on their shoulders or balance standing on their hands while they lift you off the ground. These guys are so strong it's worth paying the circus school a visit just to see it!

It's Mondays from 4pm-6pm, and Tuesday thru Saturdays, twice a day, from 9:30-11:30 and 4pm-6pm, though on Thursday afternoons (I think) it's a kids class in the jujitsu area where they lower the long cloth ropes from the rafters and have the kids doing moves ala Cirque du Soleil!

They teach great routines on the trampoline and offer such praise you'd think you were going to be able to run off and join the circus. And I was really terrible!

We were there this week (late June), which is the off season. That meant we got a lot of personal attention. But the guys assure us that there is always a lot of one on one interaction and instruction, and there's never so many people that you can't try out whatever you want to learn.

I can't say enough good things about this school. It's a 20 minute walk from Cabarete, and about 10-15 minutes drive from Sosua on Kite Beach. It's inside the Extreme Hotel grounds, so it's fairly easy to find. There's a restaurant on the beach, just past the pool, so you can stop off for refreshments after your adventure. So go for it! Sign up for one class or a week of unlimited classes! You absolutely will not regret it! I'm so glad we found this place! We're hoping we can go back soon!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaiceitos Circus School also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Kaiceitos Circus School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiceitos Circus School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.