We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cheap food in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordito's Fresh Mex

Gordito's Fresh Mex
RD #5 | Plaza Ocean Dream, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
+1 829-844-3434
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 81 restaurants in Cabarete
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Gordito's Fresh Mex is a fast serve restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating. We serve super fresh salad bowls, burritos and tacos. We can cater to children and vegans as well.Home of the famous "Mambo Fish Taco"
Cabarete
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best cheap food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I eat there almost everyday. The food is consistently great and so is the friendly service. It is cheap and very fast. I have not a single bad word to say about this amazing establishment and it's lovely owners.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    322
    54
    18
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was by far my favorite place in Cabarete! After all of your activities, it is very filling food for a great price! It is more of a tex-mex style and the always have fresh fish and juices. But what sets Gorditos apart is the staff. I knew everyone by name after the first visit. I have food allergies and they were very accommodating, more so than the other restaurants I ate at while in Cabarete. I even tried their restaurant, Gorditos Cantina, and they were very particular about making sure that I got food that still tasted good. And when I got sick, they gave me complimentary coconut water. Finally, they made me a meal on my last evening to say good-bye. They really treat you like family. They will be my first stop when I get back to Cabarete!

Keep doing what you are doing!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What can you say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The locals and tourists always pack this place out....Fish tacos are excellent and the guac is heavenly. Gordito's Cantina (next door) is even better if you want a more formal dining experience....the Cantina Chef is crazy. He'll have you eating off the floor...yes, he's that good....ask for the Chef's menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“As fresh as can be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great healthy food along with a fun atmosphere .mexican with a local flair. Relax setting in which you don't want to leave.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Fresh and amazing! Sat outside and ate six of the best tacos I have ever had. The owner wouldn't even let me pay for the first two !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordito's Fresh Mex also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Gordito's Fresh Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordito's Fresh Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.