We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayak River Adventures

Kayak River Adventures
23 Pro Cab, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
(001)8293056883
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer a variety of tours that fit different "tastes" of adventure. Wether you would enjoy rappelling down waterfalls, making insanely big jumps into crystal blue waters, spelunking through huge prehistoric caves, or lazily making your way down a river through the countryside with your friends and family. We have tours that adventurous for all!Our kayaking/River Sup tours you will paddle your way through rapids and clear pools under a canopy of lush tropical vegetation. Swing from Tarzan vines, jump in the water, swim with the fish, listen to the birds and enjoy the incredibly beautiful countryside. Fun and easy, ideal for families and friends, these trips are usually 4 hours long with transportation and lunch included.Our Canyoning/Canyoneering tours are the best of Dominican adventures. You will be jumping, climbing, rappelling, scrambling, and caving through the most spectacular landscapes and waterfalls. We can arrange either full or half day tours."La Cueva"- The cave is our newest high adventure tour. This tour starts with a 130 foot vertical rappel into 10 story cave where you will make your way through rivers,and over/under boulders. This is extreme adventure!
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It was an amazing day of canyoning down the river. I can't recommend it enough. A beautiful setting, fantastic guides and a real Dominican lunch. Do this now!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winters
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dominican magical mystery tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family just visited Jarabacoa (canyoneering and white water rafting the Baiguate/ Jimenoa falls), Las Galeras (Fronton beach/El Limon falls) and Cabarete (canyoneering "Magic Mushroom" falls/ Damajagua falls) in Northern Dominican Republic, since we are more interested in the natural beauty, adventurous activities, local foods and the people of the countries we visit. We can honestly say that Helmut's "Kayak River Adventures" fulfilled all our wildest dreams and more.
Let me begin with Helmut (avid surfer, Austrian skate board champion and new father) and his wife Sarah (director of "3 Mariposas" school for Dominican children of all economic backgrounds and mother of their son, Felix). It is because of their backgrounds and experiences that their new small adventure company, "Kayak River Adventures", takes advantage of the natural beauty of both the land and local people of the Cabarete area.
We only had time to do the "Magical Mushroom" canyoneering/repel with Helmut and Alberto, but it's up their with the most incredible, amazing and unique experiences we have had through out all our travels. Besides repelling down one of the most picturest falls we've ever seen (see photos), we then got to visit Alberto's mountain top home home (tippy-tap wash included) and meet his wife who had spent the morning preparing us one of the best tasting and freshest Dominican meals we had in the DR. My wife had to get her chicken recipe and we could see the tree she had picked our avocados from. We were then lucky enough on are way back to have time to visit Sarah's school (my entire family are all teachers) and experience the community where the people of Cabarete live ( a swampy land in complete contrast to the beach life Cabarete is known for) just a couple of streets off the main road.
If you're looking for the one experience that will encompass all the emotional beauty the Dominican Republic has to offer and a magical memory that will last you a life time, then the "Magical Mushroom" tour is for you. You can also purchase their company's t-shirt, which is the nicest one on the island, made in the DR and part of the cost goes to help Sarah's school.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our family's Favorite Day in Dominican Republic was Canyoning with Helmut! *<:`) Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Canyoning with Helmut and Alfredo was the ultimate! We got our adrenaline fix rappelling, jumping, sliding, zip lining, and swimming down an amazing mountain river with the grand Finale' sitting on top of the Magic Mushroom. We felt like little dwarfs hiking down the Emerald Green Canyon! Hi Ho! Hi Ho! Following Helmut we go! It was magical under the mushroom! Helmut made us feel safe the entire day. He's a GREAT guide and so fun loving! Hiking out of the canyon was exhilarating clinging to the roots and rocks of the canyon, wall slipping and sliding all the way, and then treated to the most scrumptious lunch prepared by Alberto's family. We totally loved the juicy chicken, rice & beans, fresh veggies, and sizzling plantains. Yum! Driving home Helmut gave us a tour of the back streets of Cabarete and sharing the lives of many of the families his wife educates in her preschool. Helmut and his wife are making a huge difference for many of the D. R. families, 40% who live under the poverty level. They do a lot of fund raising for their community to make life better for all, plus they employ many of the locals. What a Great company! Helmut not only gave our family our favorite adventure but shared so much of Dominican Republic life. We enjoyed 4 adventure tours while playing in the D.R. but we LOVED our day with Helmut. He is the BEST! Go NOW! I wish I could go again, and again, and again! Thank you!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We hiked with Helmut on the magic mushroom trail and had an amazing time! He is a great guide, the hike was beautiful, and the meal afterwards was the perfect way to end a great afternoon. Make sure to eat at Gordito's that night for dinner!!

This is a must do for any visit to Cabarete.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Canyoning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We took a canyoning trip (magic mushroom) with Kayak River Adventures. It was a very unique experience in many ways (e.g., the canyon, the vegetation, the river, the waterfalls, the jumps, and the repelling). The guides were very professional and friendly, making it possible to simply enjoy the scenery and the adventure. The tour we took also included a great Dominican meal at the end. We would highly recommend this adventure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak River Adventures also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Kayak River Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayak River Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.