We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to be in CABARETE!!! Big time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Del Mare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabarete
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porta Del Mare
Save
You added Porta Del Mare to your Saves list
Calle Principal, Cabarete G0G 1E3, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicoutimi, Canada
1 review
“THE place to be in CABARETE!!! Big time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Was at Porta Del Mare for a week during Xmas time and it was simply amazing. The trip was kiteboarding oriented and everybody in the group were so stoked about the perfect location of PDM for kitesurfing: right between kitebeach and Cabarete's bay. Inflate the kites on the grass just by the pool!!!!

Claudia, the place's manager was so terrific for us and our vacations...she took care of everything we need. There a lots of thing to do around even if the wind is present or not: she bring us at a perfect flat spot that we are uses to see in the movie!!! After the ride....a BBQ was setted on the beach. In the morning we went couple times, surfing.......the spot is located 5 minutes from the PDM. There're wave for pro's and beginners on this surf's break.

The nightlife is very active in Cabarete. Claudia will give you some good hints!!!

The PDM is pretty well located, really confortable, the appartements are almost brand new and well decorated. I recommand it without any hesitation for the perfect vacation in Cabarete.

Have fun at PDM!!!!

Room Tip: There all well decorated, moderns and well equiped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent 1 month at Porta Del Mar, m'y heart is still in RD the place is very friendly,very clean the rooms are very spacious and the beds are very confortable to sleep.We had family coming over and everybody loved there vacation:) I m very glad to have meet Claudia and Annie they
Are attentive to your stay and make sure that you are completly satisfied ,This place is so beatiful ,if you look for quiet and Nice place and spectacular view of the ocean i give a 10/10.
Special thanks to Claudia,Annie,Tito .See you next year.
I recommand Porta Del Mar to everyone that is looking for a very spécial place to be on vacation...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We spent out thanksgiving weekend in this place. We were a party of 5 , 2 adults and 3 kids (ages 6,13, 16)
We had a 2 bedroom apartment, modern furniture, Wi-Fi, a/c, washer and drier, one TV. Our place had a few problems with hot water and cable TV, but Claudia (Property Manager) helps us to solve these problems. Please be aware of mosquitoes, bring some insects repellent. Also there are many dogs in the area (owners live there) so if you are not a dog person this might be a problem. The view is fantastic, quiet, is the perfect place to relax. This place has a BBQ area that all apartments share and Claudia has an employee that can assist you with your BBQ. Also Claudia can tell you the location of a good supermarket nearby so you can buy some groceries. All I can say is that I can't wait to go back...!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I spent a week at Porta del mare and I did not want to leave! The place is amazing! right on the ocean with also a pool and hot tub! The rooms are realy nice and I also really like the style of the place! It was such a fun trip! It felt like a family right from the first day!
I will defenetly come back again next year but for longer this time! ;)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have been to Porta Del Mare from July 30th to August 13th and did not want to go back home! I will not forget those vacations, ever! Claudia and Annie are the greatest hosts in the world! They will show you around if you ask them to or provide names of good places to go depending on what you feel like. Furthermore, the units are nice and cozy.

You want to kitesurf, the beach is right in front of you. This is the best spot! You feel like surfing? You are at 5 min by cab/car from Encuentro beach, You feel like having a drink, a snack or a nice dinner, you will find several bars and restaurants nearby, right on the beach. You can get there by walking on the beach or I suggest the experience of taking a motoconcho who will drive you to your destination with pleasure. Also a "must" in Cabarete, horsebackriding on the beach or in the mountains. Magic!

Those vacations were unforgettable! I intend to go back soon and visit my new friends again. Count on me!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

The best choice to by on vacation and the best quality / price..... Dont miss it....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Porta Del Mare......Amazing place for all kind of vacations that you wanna past here a Cabarete!!! You are right on the spot for the kitesurfing....!!! Walking little bit on the beach, and you arrive in the downtown of Cabarete with all the restos and bars....The place is beautiful...Appartements are nice and very clean. You have to most perfect view in the backyard with the pools and the beach!!!! Let the wind tell you the secret of the perfect life here!! I here since may 28th, and all it's soooooooooooooooooo nice!!! Great people here, nice mood...relaxe and enjoy!!! Come see all that soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Del Mare

Address: Calle Principal, Cabarete G0G 1E3, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cabarete
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right at the point of Kitebeach in Cabarete. All our apartments have a balcony ocean front. This is so far THE best spot for kiting. We are 5 minutes away from the popular Surf spot Encuentro and around 10 minutes walking from town. The staff here is awesome. They will show you around and make sure you have a good time! Pleasure guaranteed! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.