We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and menu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Claro

Cafe Claro
Calle Principal | Hotel Casa Blanca, Cabarete 00001, Dominican Republic
8098891406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 86 restaurants in Cabarete
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Cafe Claro is the local's secret find for fresh and friendly breakfast and lunch dishes served with a smile. All orders are made from scratch with homemade love. All fruit juices are made in-house. Vegetarian friendly. Kid friendly with all the arts and crafts to keep them busy for a full meal. Signature meals and signature drinks. World famous Banana Almond Pancakes with Rum Maple Syrup. Handcrafted gazpacho, wraps, salads and sandwiches. Only a few steps from Cabarete Center and the Beach. 8am to 2pm Tuesday through Sunday. Reservations recommended especially on Sundays.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service and menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was the restaurant/cafe attached to our hotel, so it was convenient and much appreciated. The staff and manager were exceptional. The menu and food quality as well as presentation was superb.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    52
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second Best Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

In Cabarete. Vacabar still gets my vote as number one but Claro is a close second. Located near the super market at the end of town this garden spot is not easy to find. Once you do you are treated to a beautiful setting, excellent food and friendly staff. The banana bread French toast lived up to the hype. So sweet on its own you do not need syrup. Great huevos rancheros as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Claro is a cool little restaurant hidden in a beatiful property. I ate there for breakfast three times and each time was great! The coffee was strong and unlimited, the service was great, and the food was yummy! I had the green goddess, the American breakfast, and the breakfast casserole dish ... all awesome. Thank you for making us feel special for wedding!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I only tried the breakfast so I don't know about lunch. I had the Puerto Rican Pie the first, and it was amazing. The only problem I had with it was that I couldn't finish it. The next meal was a spicy burrito that was very good as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

very welcoming, friendly service. The food is outstanding! Everything from their fruit and yogurt to pancakes and bananabred french toast is just fresh anf very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Claro also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Cafe Claro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Claro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.