We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry in Cabarete? This is the spot!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita De Papi

La Casita De Papi
Carretera Principal | Cabarete Central Beach, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
+1 809-986-3750
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 95 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casita de Papi has been serving the finest seafood on Cabarete Beach for 20 years. Join us and dine with sand under your feet, the sound of ocean waves gently rolling and the stars and palm trees above. See you soon!
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hungry in Cabarete? This is the spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We absolutely loved Papi's- so much so we ate there 6 out the 9 night we stayed in Cabarete. The food was fresh, exciting and delicious every time. The service was great as well. We sat on the beach, the terrace and the balcony - and each spot had its own unique ambiance. The ceviche was fantastic as was all the seafood. Their specialty was the longistino's in the Papi sauce - this dish can NOT be missed! We even tried the steak one night and were very pleasantly surprised. It was cooked to perfection. The staff were very friendly, attentive and had great knowledge of not only the menu but the culture of Caberete. The cocktails were beautiful as well. Papi is the one restaurant in Caberete everyone needs to go!! Its not hard to pick though as it's bustling atmosphere distinguishes it from the desert lands of the surrounding eateries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    76
    25
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

we had such a fantastic dinner with friends at Papi- food and service are both done right. we will definitely return on the next trip to the DR. thank you!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Service ruined it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I just wasn't impressed with this restaurant. As a person who spent time in the service industry, I have pretty high expectations regarding service particularly when paying for a meal that is higher than most in Cabarete. Our service was awful and my daughter's drink was forgotten. When we were finally able to get the attention of our server more than 30 minutes later and politely ask for a bottle of water her words were, "Although I do not need to apologize for this, I will say that I am sorry. I wrote the ticket and it was someone else's fault the water was not delivered." I was stunned. We were there to celebrate an event, not hear about the failure of other staff. Food was good but like I said, with prices that high the service better be top notch and it wasn't. I would not return.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So good we went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stumbled on the this gem. We didn't plan for this trip so had to rely on the taxi driver to take us to a typical Dominican restaurant. He dropped us at an Asian fusion place. Needless to say we didn't stay. We happened to wander in the right direction, and found papi.
We had a little of everything, and everything was perfect! We were being annoying tourist's with our indecisiveness and Jonny was a gentle mind reader and was able to help us decide on exactly what we wanted. The location and atmosphere was incredible, the staff was fun and helpful. To top it off forgot my card and they told me, "no problem, pay us tomorrow". no questions asked.
My wife wanted loved it so much that we went again the next night.
What a great place!
Thanks soo much,

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“have to do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

One of the only places in Cabarete that teaches their servers how to "serve".
Had crab cakes = perfect 10 so good
Langosta in curry sauce= 10 so good as well
Flaming Banana and ice cream dessert= 10 don't be cheap and skimp on dessert. Foolish good

Loved the complimentary bread and salsa ,and aperitif shot which came after dinner. Would have cost $400 in Canada for this calibre of meal. Great location, atmosphere, service, hands up to CHEF.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita De Papi also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to La Casita De Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita De Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.