We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing New Years Feast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casita De Papi

La Casita De Papi
Carretera Principal | Cabarete Central Beach, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
+1 809-986-3750
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 92 Restaurants in Cabarete
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Casita de Papi has been serving the finest seafood on Cabarete Beach for 20 years. Join us and dine with sand under your feet, the sound of ocean waves gently rolling and the stars and palm trees above. See you soon!
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing New Years Feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

On New Years Eve we visited this restaurant and it lived up to our expectations. We had seafood which tasted amazing. The home made ice scream was also very tasty as well as the cocktails. The only bad thing was that we tried to call several times to make a reservation but were always asked to call again at a different hour to talk to the manager but when we called during that hour no one picked up the phone, so because of that we did not get a table at the beach.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    63
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Final Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a great night sitting under the lights and right on the beach for our final dinner before we had to leave the DR. It was a fantastic meal and the waitress was so great.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasileia, AC
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful. 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent service. Perfect atmosphere. Delicious food. I'm not sure you can find better and when the bill comes you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Went Twice in the Space of 3 Days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's busy and it can be hard to get a table if you don't reserve, the waiters can be very overstretched and service slow, but the food is excellentand it's definitely somewhere you must eat, if you are in Cabarete.

I tried both the conch and the crab-cakes for starters and the former was delicious with its vinaigrette dressing, the latter were so light, fresh and fluffy they were easily the best examples of crab-cake I've ever had.

For main courses there's only one proper choice here which is the langoustines (actually small lobsters) a la Papi (served in a sauce made of cream, pastis, spices). You get five halves in a serving and that is extremely filling. Absolutely delicious and at about £15 a portion, incredibly good value.

If I find myself back in Cabarete, I will be making a beeline for Papis for dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, poor staging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is one of the must go restaurants on the Cabarete area, basically for the "Camarones or Langostinos a la Papi"....fresh local seafood with a delicious special house recipe, made with Pernod.
The place is always packed even though the other restaurants are available........tables on the sand and always a mix of international and local people
In my opinion the only "spot" on this place are the tables and chairs,,,,plastic and worn.....no need to be so hippy......when you deliver such a great worldwide known dish....
If you are a little picky.....you will suffer......

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita De Papi also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to La Casita De Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casita De Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.