We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fine dining experience in Cabarete” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bliss Restaurant Lounge Bar Pool

Bliss Restaurant Lounge Bar Pool
entrada callejon de la loma, Cabarete 0000, Dominican Republic
809 571 9721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 95 Restaurants in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining experience in Cabarete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Bliss was everything our group could have asked for. The restaurant is on a busy side street, but is designed to be a quiet oasis -- you can't even hear the street inside. The interior is beautiful and the Italian hosts are lovely people.

We were impressed that we were given an honest description of what was local and what was not (including some menu items listed as local that were currently not sourceable locally), and felt that all of our dishes were well-prepared and fresh. While Bliss may not quite reach the heights of an actual Italian trattoria or the better of New York Italian restaurants, it was easily the best Italian food we had in Cabarete -- and most of the food in Cabarete is Italian.

If you want to enjoy a relaxing evening with great food, good wine and a higher level of service, but without the punishing prices to go with it, Bliss is a perfect recommendation.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    30
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Were there with spouse. Very welcoming lady hostess. Relaxing atmosphere. But all the food was salty in our taste, Italian dishes were prepared by locals)) very good drinks, from water to wines.
waitresses are trying to behave European like, with average success.
Overall a place for one time visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N S, Owner at Bliss Restaurant Lounge Bar Pool, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Good Day, we are so sorry that you did not like our food and you found it very salty, it is a pity that you did not mentioned to me while you were here to give me the chance to change your plate. We accept your puntuacion and idea that we are an average place for one time visit, but I'm sorry we can not acept that you say our dishes are prepared by locals!! My husband that is Italian is in the kitchen all the time, he personally prepare all the home made pasta and deserts and personally traine all our great local kitchen staff ! We are one of the few restaurants where the owners are working on the floor and we are very proud of this! We do not understand very well what you mean when you say my waiteresses try to behave European like, they are all Dominican and they are trained by me (Italian) so of course they have an european influence.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Meal!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had an amazing meal at Bliss. From the appetizers (escargot to die for) to the gnocchi (sublime) to all the desserts. Everything was incredible, the service was amazing and the owners are the loveliest couple! If you are in Cabarete you NEED to go to Bliss!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bliss was blissful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Atmosphere: zen, gorgeous, romantic and dreamy.
Service: incredible, perfect, attentive without being too much.
Food: mmmmmm.... divine, heavenly, delicious.
Highlight: my birthday dessert, they went ALL OUT and spared nothing.
I look forward to enjoying the blissful pleasures of Bliss again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This tranquillo restaurant is a real gem. The owner is quite personable and the staff is unobtrusive, kind and very well trained. Great for special occasions and it looked like birthdays and family events were taking place all around us. I enjoyed a mixed salad and lobster pasta. Would return again!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bliss Restaurant Lounge Bar Pool also viewed

Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Bliss Restaurant Lounge Bar Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bliss Restaurant Lounge Bar Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.