We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated to Leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabarete
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates
Save
You added Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates to your Saves list
Calle Principal - Area Bahia De Arena | Cabarete, Cabarete 11111, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hated to Leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I and our 16 year old daughter just returned from a one week stay at the Cabarete Beach Houses at the Nanny Estates and we were pleased enough that we decided to do something unheard of for us--submit this review. I will try to make it helpful in the areas we lacked info in for those considering future travel to Cabarete in general and this place specifically, especially for travel in the summertime.

First, a general comment on the Caribbean and the DR at this time of year: yes it is hot, and it is definitely humid. But we were pleasantly surprised that as long as we were down by the beach, with the winds that blow this time of year in Cabarete, it was very comfortable. Walking around town during the afternoon on the pavement was not pleasant, and we ended up doing very little of that. We found the evenings to be comfortable even in town. Considering that we are from Arizona and are not at all used to humidity, we did just fine with the weather conditions and would definitely go back this time of year.

As to Cabarete specifically as a vacation destination, we loved it and found it a perfect blend of still small enough to have real character and culture/ yet developed enough to have anything one needed at their fingertips and PLENTY to do. We found the people there to be warm and engaging, although the people hawking stuff on the beach and the streets can wear a bit thin. We tried to keep in mind that they are just making their living, and we found that the vast majority of the time a polite 'No gracias' sufficed. The fact that the tourist base is very international, with Americans making up a small percentage, especially at this time of year, made it all that much more interesting to us. It was helpful that I speak some Spanish, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place to non-spanish speakers as well. The beach here by the way was great--Bozo beach, the main beach area in Cabarete for swimming/body surfing etc, was beautiful and the water was great. We have heard some people make negative comments about the beaches here but we strongly disagree, and feel they are first-rate as long as you're not looking for white sand.

Now, specifically to the Nanny Estates. We originally had traded a timeshare week through RCI for a different place in Cabarete, but had read some pretty unfavorable reviews and really thought we could get more value by just paying for a better quality of place--the rates in Cabarete are after all very competitive. The decision turned out to be a good one. The freedom of having a condo with a full-service kitchen is great in a place like this, and we did some grocery shopping upon arrival and prepared our own breakfasts and lunches. We really wanted to enjoy dinners at the great little local restaurants on the beach in Cabarete, and not having an all-inclusive that we felt obligated to get our money's worth for freed us up to do so. A word on the supermarkets--I really don't recommend the closer of the two 'supermarkets', Rosa's. It's small, it smells, some of the groceries are questionable as to their freshness. And it's quite a bit more expensive than Janet's, which is down at the end of the main strip in town. Janet's is a real grocery store with real aisles and a real produce department and butcher counter, and things look fresh and safe.

We found the accomodations at the Nanny Estates to be even more than we had expected. First, we have to give big kudos to Maria and Lourdes for really making us feel welcome, and for being there with helpful advice and answers whenever we had questions (tours, restaurants, shopping transpo, etc). We had asked Maria to arrange for our transportation from the airport at Puerto Plata, and it went much more smoothly than we expected. We have a timeshare in Puerto Vallarta and we have always hated being mobbed by people trying to sell us rides from the airport immediately upon getting through Customs. Here, there was none of that and the driver was waiting for us with a little card with our name on it. The cost of this ($35) was just added to our bill--well worth avoiding the hassle. By the way, as others have noted there is a fee for going through Customs here, it was $10 per person. No big deal and it added maybe 2 minutes for us.

Upon arrival Lourdes showed us our unit, #A-6. It was not one of the deluxe units, but it was clean and well-furnished, with everything we needed including nice portable phone, computer modem (wired in this unit), dish soap, a water cooler with a full 5-gallon bottle on it, full-sized refrigerator, TV (we never even turned it on), small stereo, and even quite a few paperback novels on the shelf. There is AC in both bedrooms, room-sized units that operate with remote controls. They do a great job for the bedrooms, which are upstairs, really don't have an effect on the downstairs living area. We found that by keeping the front door open and the back door also (it had an iron-bar security door), and with the two ceiling fans downstairs, we got plenty of air movement and even at this time of year it was comfortable. For my money, AC in the bedrooms like this is definitely preferrable to make nights sleeping more comfortable.

The maid service each day (except Sundays) was wonderful, and our lady did a great job. As others have noted, a small tip for the staff members goes a long way. We left a couple of hundred pesos (about $5) each day for the maid. Up to you what you choose to do. We always had fresh towels and she even put any dishes we had in the drying rack away into the cabinets.

Some others have touched on the safety/security issue, so I will too: we never, ever felt unsafe at any moment during our stay. We did pay for the safe in our room ($3 per day), and kept our valuables in it. Didn't bring a laptop, wouldn't fit in the safe unless its a netbook or such. There is security very apparent (a man at each side of the complex--beach and street) from around 6pm to 7am each night, and during the daytime there is so much staff always cleaning, maintaining the landscape etc, it's hard to imagine much of a problem. We took care not to take unnecessary risks, for example we took taxis home after going out each evening rather than walking home along the beach. Honestly we saw many others on the beach at night though and really didn't see it as a major concern. Taxis by the way are 200 pesos for anywhere to anywhere in Cabarete (for a car) and 55 pesos for a Moto taxi (a motorbike) which we were not brave enough to try (and there were three of us so that was out). The walk to the restaurants on the beach from Nanny Estates by the way is an easy one, and we found it pleasant to start out just before nightfall, a little after 7 or so and it was a 15 minute walk.

Finally, a word on tours. We took the snorkel tour offered by Mel Tours (take a 1-1/2 hour 'safari' to a small marina where you board a Catamaran for a 1-1/2 hour trip to a small cove). If you expect the unexpected and can roll with the punches you'll probably enjoy it. If you expect it to be just as advertised you will feel ripped off. The snorkeling was basically a joke but we really enjoyed seeing more of the area and interacting a bit with some locals during the trip.

Bottom line we loved our stay at the Nanny Estates in Cabarete and will almost defintely be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We just came back from Cabarete where we rented a condo at Nanny Estate. This is a really good place where to stay with a family for the following reasons:

- Excellent and friendly staff, although it helps to speak Spanish.
- Safe area for little children.
- Quiet place at night.
- Lots of knowledgeable people living here for years.
- Charming area.
- Nice condos.

The condo was clean, the sofa was brand new, the kitchen well furnished, and all the electronics were working. Our bed was very comfortable and there was ample storage room. There is a safe for your valuable in the main room.
We missed a little more of "personal touch" in the decoration, but that did not alter our stay! One should also beware with the stairs, as children may easily fall. The room facing Cabarete (not the beach) was not dark enough at night, because of a light right outside the house. It's also a little noisy, because there's a Dominican bar not too far away. This did not affect our son's sleep by any mean :-)

Some kiteboarding comments:
- One can inflate its kite right in front of the house, on the lawn (awesome!). The staff knows how to rig, start and land kites (really awesome!).
- Cabarete kite school is about 5 min walking down the beach.
- The beach in front of the condo is mainly used by beginners and there can be (too) many kites in the air when the wind is good.
- The water is choppy this time of the year.
- The location is about 5-10 min away from Kitebeach...

Other comments:
- Major restaurants are "downtown". This means a 15 min walk by the beach or a 25-50 pesos moto ride, or a 30 pesos 'guagua' ride or finally a 200 pesos taxi ride. There's a good Japanese about half way between the condo and Cabarete center. There's a delicious restaurant about 2 min away by the beach.
- Supermercado Rosa is good compared to others and not far away (5 min walking along the main street). The Pharmacy is right next to it and it has a lot of goods.
- The walk at night along the beach seemed safe (although people tend not to recommend it). There are armed guards (yes armed with shotguns!) in front of the Ocean Dream resort and in front of the Tangerine (ie: 2/3 of the walk). Furthermore you will meet a lot of other tourists.
- The whole condo is very secure too. The staff runs after any unauthorized person, whether this person is a Dominican or a tourist. So beware if you bring any friends!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will probably come back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-petersburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Very nice condos. Very stylish and cosy. Just some steps from the beach. Good security. Very pleasant emploers. They speak ENGLISH! Good: every day expt sunday they cleaned the condo. Bad: in the 2-nd bedroom the aircondition worked only 1 day from 7. Every day they tried to fix it - but it was working after repair only a few hours. But when we was leaving the condo they promised to change the conditioner. For unconvinience they've made a discount.

  • Liked — stylish
  • Disliked — too loud conditioner, too far from the center - 1-2 km, little pool, no tea spot
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

Nanny continues to be the best place you can stay in Cabarete. I've spent ALOT of time in Cabarete and nothing beats Nanny in my mind. It is just gorgeous and the staff is incredible. We got married April 19 and almost everyone stayed at Nanny and had nothing but great things to say.

The 2 bedroom condos are designed perfectly, roof-top terrances, funky furniture and the gardens and pool are precious. Maria and her staff were wonderful in helping guests with airport transport, stocking the kitchen (beer too!) and just generally making everyone feel welcomed. Nanny is in the perfect spot- just a 10 minute walk from the center of town (along the beach) so you feel close to the action, but also with some quiet space too. And then 5 minute walk to kite beach too! In beach in front is beautiful and again, the pool is great too.

We and all 26+ guests we had would go back for sure. I don't think anything can beat it in Cabarete. Check it out!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Our last stay at Cabarete Beach Houses was our fourth, and we will be returning many more times. We rented one of the condo units for a week, and each visit has been the most relaxing, beautiful, tropical holiday. Flying into the airport at Puerto Plata means that within a 30 minute taxi ride (for approx. $35US), we are being greeted by the friendly staff at Nanny's Estates. We're immediately shown to our condo, which, like all the others, has 2 bedrooms - one with a king bed and a balcony facing the ocean, a fully-equipped kitchen, a patio, and a roof deck. We love it there! There's even daily maid service! Every morning, we walk the gorgeous beach, take a swim, and wait for the wind to pick up so that we can watch the kite- and windsurfers color the sky. (We're not brave enough to try it yet!) It's an easy 10-15 minute walk on the beach into the small town of Cabarete, where you have many choices of restaurants with fresh sea food and more. I'd highly recommend staying at Cabarete Beach Houses, especially if you're not the loud partying type, but enjoy the peace and quiet of soaking in the sun and listening to the waves.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

My husband, daugher, and i stayed at Nanny Estates in February based on wonderful reviews hat we had read on Trip Advisor. Upon arriving, we were shown to our beautiful oceanside condo.We were robbed within the first five minutes of being there. A man crowbarred the bars on the kitchen window, climbed through the window and stole my husbands bag with computer and all of his cash while we were being shown the upstairs by the management.The thief was found down the beach shortly after..but we never retrieved our money. My husband spent the first few days of our vacation shuttling between the police station and court. We will never know if it was an inside job...it seemed very odd that the person who robbed us knew that we were upstairs at the time. The lax security made for a horrible vacation. beautiful setting, nice beach....but certainly not a feeling of safety.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — security
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

We had an absolutely wonderful time! Maria and her staff helped us before we arrived, arranging for a taxi to pick up up in the airport and stocking or kitchen with the essentials. The condo itself was clean, airy, and bright. There was a lot of space and tons of windows. The staff is vigilant about keeping all areas of the complex, inside and out, clean. Security was also ever present, to keep away the less desirable elements. The people were friendly and welcoming and the location was great: about a 15 minute walk to the more "commercial" section, which put a nice buffer of quiet between home and evening activities.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates

Address: Calle Principal - Area Bahia De Arena | Cabarete, Cabarete 11111, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Caribbean two story two bedroom townhouses are surrounded by beautiful tropical landscaping on private oceanfront property overlooking Cabarete Bay . Our property offers a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, tennis court and free parking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabarete Beach House At Nanny Estates Hotel Cabarete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabarete Beach House at Nanny Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.