We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Peaceful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piratas del Caribe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piratas del Caribe to your Saves list
Hotel Piratas del Caribe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Arzobispo Nouel N0 1 | Paraiso, Barahona, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barahona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Peaceful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Piratas is an excellent place to stay and visit the southern part of the Dominican Republic. I am happy to announce they have resolved the noise issue from and adjoining business and peace and quite are back. Ester and Phillip are the best host and will treat you like royalty. Their cooking is great!!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the ocean, although you wont have a view the waves crashing great sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe G, Propietario at Hotel Piratas del Caribe, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Tito

Estamos profundamente agradecidos por sus comentarios. Es un privilegio saber que nuestros esfuerzos han logrado nuestro objetivo.

Saludos cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
24
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Piratas del Caribe with our 5 year old son for 3 days in March. It is a beautiful facility. The family operated Hotel is a great treat in a still not so much traveled part of the Dominican Republic. The food is excellent. The family gives you the feeling being home at Piratas. They also give you great advice for tours to the beautiful lagoon or paradise like beaches. The rooms are big and the private terraces are beautifully designed. I can highly recommend breakfast and dinner. Both if you like served on your private deck. We would go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we did not stop here to stay, but only had a quick lunch on our way through the SW DR. the service was good ( a llittle slow but it was new years eve and only one staff member on duty) and the food ok, a small haven in the rural district of SW DR.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place was such a surprising find! After roughing it in much more rustic hostels/ hotels around the southwest of the DR, this place was a paradise! The owner is a lovely French man who takes a lot of pride in his property which at the time was about 1 year old. You drive through a wooden gate that they open for you, which feels so exclusive and fancy especially given the area. The hotel has about 6 rooms I believe, all beautifully done, very beachy, open and all in white. New and high-tech amenities like a huge-screen TV, stereo, beautiful bathroom and shower, huge balcony, amazing bed! And the food! There is an on-site chef (maybe it's the owner's wife?) who cooks a whole menu of international gourmet cuisine to order which you are welcome to eat on your balcony while listening to the waves crash (you're right next to the beach). We had some mixup with the amount of time we were staying there, and instead of being very upset since it was during Holy Week, one of their busiest times, the owner was quite gracious and understanding. The place we ended up leaving early for was actually quite a disappointment and I wish we would have stayed the full 2 nights! Also- since it was Holy Week, the bar or restaurant next door had extremely loud music until all hours of the night, but I'm pretty sure that only happens during Holy Week, and still doesn't sour my experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We fell in love the minute we walked into the hotel and met the owners. Not only was this an incredible vacation but moreover a wedding dream come true. The owners and staff were attentive to all our wedding preparation needs and made sure we had everything we needed for our joyous union. Thank you Pirates del Caribe for being a part of our special day and making it all so memorable! See pictures below.

My family (four families) stayed at this very clean and private hotel for a week and thoroughly enjoyed exceptional service and spectacular food. The staff and owners made all of our special occasions (birthday, rehearsal dinner, wedding, etc.) truly magical by their refined attention to detail and thoughtfulness. We had a blast exploring the sites in the area (Bahia de las Aguilas, La Cueva de la Virgin, Los Patos, San Rafael, Quemaito beach, Villa Miriam, Rancho Platon, etc.) and would highly recommend this outstanding hotel for anyone visiting the southwest region on the DR. We all truly felt at home at Pirates del Caribe.

Note to foreigners...bring earplugs when traveling to the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is an enchanting place. Beautiful scenery, wonderful service great food. The accomodations superb. We will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, Nueva Zelanda
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

This is phantasmagorical, I didn't expect to found a place like this one coming around Paraiso village (Eng.=paradise).
Once you get into the hotel environment, it take you to a place similar as the village's name where this hotel is situated.
Every thing is so great, the rooms are huge and air-conditioned, the food is... oh my god! and the owners are really nice and joyful European couple.
All what I wanna do is, be able to come back as soon as I could and keep on discovering all those wonderful places around Paraiso and more incredible kite-surfing spots

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piratas del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piratas del Caribe

Address: Calle Arzobispo Nouel N0 1 | Paraiso, Barahona, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Barahona Province > Barahona
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barahona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piratas del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Piratas del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piratas del Caribe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.