We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and cold sudden showers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Belisario Dominguez Km 1081, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29020, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hot and cold sudden showers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

After 10 hours driving to Tuxtla, Gutierrez, all we wanted was to take a shower and sleep. Very disappointed. Shower delivered steaming hot and ice cold water unexpectedly. Room was OK, however it only offered one wastebasket. Holiday Inn's policy to save the Earth by not changing towels everyday, didn't work. We left our towels hanging in the bathroom as suggested and we got fresh towels every day. We ended up with 6 towels for 2 people. The hotel ran out of ice in each and every food and beverage location offered in the premises. Servers said the ice machines had not been working for a while, reason why they were constantly buying ice bags across the street. Porter at the motor lobby needs greeting training. He never acknowledged us driving in. Awful location due to the 24 hour traffic rush street. Main roads to tourist attractions were under repair or reconstruction. Construction dust covered the whole city. Look for another hotel where to stay if considering the area as a possible vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear HectorRodriguez,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. Our goal is to ensure complete guest satisfaction however it is regrettable that we weren't able to provide one on this occasion particularly with the shower facility's condition and amenities' state being a disappointment. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve.

Again, thank you for your time in writing us a review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
11
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My rating of two stars is based on hotels in this price range and not on all hotels.

PLUSES

 A nice swimming pool with seating.
 Conveniently located for a VIPS (OK Mexican food – affordable and salads surprisingly good) a Chedraui supermarket and buses around town. The main ADO / OCC bus terminal is 2km away (MEX$35 by taxi).
 Usual Holiday Inn features: safe in the room, coffee machine, desk, flat screen TV, plenty of towels, etc.


NEGATIVES

 Internet slow – not possible to watch YouTube and even radio dropped several times. Access to websites very slow and many wouldn’t load unless I repeated my request. A little card in my room told me that there was complimentary hi-speed internet access: it certainly wasn’t delivered. They changed the internet software during my stay but left it to guests to go to reception and find out why they could no longer access the internet. Not good service.
 Room dated, with a musty old motel smell – just about acceptable but not nice. The desk chair is basically broken with the seat height not adjustable and the back bent: no back support and not great for anyone of above average height. There is a soft chair in the room that smells musty and looks like the type of chair an elderly aunt / uncle would use in the 1960s.
 The windows are single panes and louvers at the top make them poor at stopping noise. My room overlooked the pool and I can hear the musak clearly – nothing I would choose to listen to. It went on until 10pm (even though no one used the pool or sat around it all evening). A large air conditioner is nearby and it has a deep rumble. This unit ran all night (even though it wasn’t a hot night) and I needed earplugs to block out the noise.
 There are few restaurants nearby: a short taxi ride to the center takes you to more restaurants.

I changed room after one night. I replaced a rumbling air conditioning unit for a noisy road at the other end of the hotel. But this room was less musty.

CONCLUSION

For a holiday I want a pleasant place to stay: this hotel was tolerable but not pleasant. For this price there are better hotels in town. The Fiesta Inn and Hilton Gardens Inn are both newer, ranked higher on Trip Advisor and both have good pools. I wouldn’t stay here again, and had I not pre-paid I would have checked-out after one night and gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Joe_33,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities particularly with the room condition and internet service. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I booked a room with points since it was very convenient compared to other IHG options in the area. I know this hotel from long time ago, when it used to be named Flamboyant. Despite its age, I was glad to see that the hotel has been renovated and in very good conditions. The highlight: very helpful and kind staff. I needed to keep a box in refrigeration during my stay and they offered to do it in the restaurant kitchen, which was a great help. It is located right next to a shopping mall with reataurants, cafes and lots of services, not far from the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garcia S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado thetravelerabc:
Muchas gracias por su reseña de nuestro hotel. Me complace saber que disfrutó su estancia con nosotros y que considere que recibió un buen servicio. Es motivo de gran orgullo para nuestro personal, por lo que valoramos muchos sus comentarios. Nos aseguraremos de transmitir sus amables comentarios a todo nuestro personal.
La próxima vez que visite nuestro restaurante, dele un vistazo a nuestro extenso menú de postres, ¡el cual es delicioso! Gracias nuevamente por hospedarse con nosotros. Como miembro de IHG Rewards Club, realmente lo agradecemos.

Sinceramente,
Susana García Bastida
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed there for two nights, not consecutive. First time the staff was nice, helpful. Room was nice, good windows, good bed, good pillows.Second time back, the front desk (Abraham) person was awful, he could not find our reservations and told us they were full.
We had to go through our mails to find them and demonstrate/prove we had reserved a room for the night.
Then, we had to haggle, because he didn't want to give us the same rate as a two days before (and the day before at the San cristóbal de las casas Holiday Inn), in the end we had to pay a bit more. The room was small, bed was terrible, pillows full of lumps, we had to call and ask for the wifi keyword and the coffee, didn´t get the scratch coupon... Food is so-so. Wifi is terrible all the time. It was clean both times. Very nice gift shop. You might get less than what you paid for, specially on the client service area, but then again, you might find it a very ok place. Two hotels in one!

Room Tip: Ask for a big room, they have some very small ones. Also, check the pillows! They have some very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Cristina M,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to consistently provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am pleased that you returned to the hotel, but I am sorry that your experience this time was not as pleasant as your previous stay. It is regrettable that you received service that was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is well located being near restaurants and a shopping mall. Check-in was painfully slow. The hotel restaurants are a bit pricey but have very good service and food. There is a huge pool area that is alive with songbirds. The rooms are spacious with good bathrooms and are kept clean. The beds were comfortable with a selection of pillows. All staff were friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a nice chain hotel with a shopping-mall close to do any quick shopping. The pool is nice, the food in the buffet is also good and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The internet service is located in one partner hotel (Crowne Plaza) where you can print and check your mail.

The only inconvenience we found was for the New Year's event reservation where they told us that there was no more tables (even if we did the reservation a month before) and the manager yelled at us. At the end they solved the misunderstanding by putting us in a table very close to the stage and the speakers.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view, pick the rooms with Pool-View, that's the nicest you'll get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear juanvzla,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding food selection and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel was nice but very old. The room were not very well maintained and the shower area was not very clean. The reception guy at the night we arrived was helpfull and gave us lots of good advices on the city and the area but the woman that was there during the morning didn't knew a thing, even the prices she gave us on the hotel services were wrong.
The Wifi was terrible and didn't work during most of our stay, but they let us use the buisness center of the Crown plaza hotel (Same hotel different reception).
The breakfast was excellent but it's not included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear agartal,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding customer service.

However, We’re sorry we fel below your expectation regarding the room condition, cleanliness and internet access. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez

Address: Belisario Dominguez Km 1081, Tuxtla Gutierrez 29020, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Tuxtla Gutierrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Tuxtla Gutierrez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place of Magic, Natural Adventure and beauties. Chiapas offers an enormous variety of Beauties, Climates and CulturesTuxtla Gutierrez is the entrance to know the Culture Maya...Tuxtla Gutiérrez invites to know the different attractive tourist natural as the Cañon del Sumidero, Chiapa de Corzo, Garden Botanical, Zoo, Regional museum and the Cathedral of San Marcos among many points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuxtla Gutierrez Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Tuxtla Gutierrez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.