We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice diversion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Izapa Ruins

Izapa Ruins
Highway 200, Tapachula, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Tapachula
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
West Hollywood, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice diversion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I'm hiking around the world, and came across this site as I walked down Highway 200. First off, the site's incredibly well maintained by the family that lives on site, who are wonderful and more than helpful I might add. As far as Mayan ruins go, it's hard for me to rate this high as a tourist attraction based on aesthetic appeal and the wonderful maintainers alone, as there simply I not much to it. Monika (another reviewer) mentions two sites, so maybe I missed out on the wider appeal, but comparing this to Tulum, Chitzen Itza, it's simply ok. And to jadeadvocate's point - the place is simply too small and is a nice to see, but the facilities and services offered are more than adequate considering the size and variety of what's here. If you're in the area, it's worth a stop over, but this place is definitely not worth going way out of your way for!

Oh one last thing... The dogs. Love Mitzi, but she wasn't fond of my backpack and lunged at me, good thing I had pants on, she might have taken skin. the dogs that guard the area are aggressive, so be careful with the kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not for tourist boom but for deeper interest on the Maya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It takes you a while until you find your way to the Izapa Ruins, but you get rewarded for it, when you do not look for the big tourist glamour. Take time to go there and study first more about these ruins, than you will be satisfied. There are 2 different sites and both have their charm - mostly because you find yourself there almost alone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the key to understanding the Mayas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The ruins are so important but there needs to be a visitors center and museum so thatvisitors understand what they are looking ay

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The ruins are located just outside of Tapachula on the way to the Tacaná volcano. They are right next to the highway but it is easy to miss them if you aren't paying attention. There are a few low profile monuments that you are allowed to walk on and take pictures of. There are also displays of various types of stone carvings. Definitely worth stooping on the way to visit some of the small towns on the volcano. Btw, a half day trip to a few of the various towns on the volcano is also worth it. It is about 15 degrees cooler than Tapachula and there are lots of beautiful views.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mexican Ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A rather enjoyable hour spent here. you are allowed to walk on the ruins and they have been kept well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izapa Ruins also viewed

 
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas
Chiapa de Corzo, Chiapas
 

Been to Izapa Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izapa Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.