We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand out meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Capital Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Heroes 171-A | Colonia Centro, Chetumal 77000, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Chetumal
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Stand out meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable beds and relaxing bath. But given 5 stars because of restaurant meal. Group got in late at 9 pm on a Sunday and went down to eat in empty restaurant expecting expensive bland hotel food. But mixed meat and veg "jaguar" dish for 2 at 220 pesos was our best meal of 16 night trip and we'd always gone to local trip advised restaurants. Be warned- others had more average food.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    39
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
54
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is not the Ritz, but neither is Chetumal Paris. The hotel is modern. The rooms are fine although the bathroom was a bit tight. Our room looked over the courtyard and the small pool, and so was very quiet. The restaurant menu had a reasonable choice and the food was OK. Internet is free and the service friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Chetumal was our last stop on our trip circling the Yucatan Pennisula, before we set down roots in Puerto Aventuras for a while. First of all we were very pleasantly surprised with the town of Chetumal, having been led to believe it was a not so nice border town. Not so, the streets are wide and well maintained, nice buildings and waterfront promanade.
Holiday Inn was a bit old but the owners and staff are trying to keep it in good condition. The room was comfortable and clean with all one would need, free internet, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and in room safe. Althouh there is a restaurant on site, we went by to see a menu and there was none available so we actually ate at the small Turkish restaurat just outside the hotel door.
The only complaint I have is that our room door was ill fitting, gaps aroud it, letting in a lot of noise any time guests were going by with their luggage.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel rooms are large and comfortable. The free internet service is fast and the restaurant serves a very inexpensive and good breakfast. All staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and the bathroom good. The mattress on my bed needed to be replaced, however. The hotel is conveniently located across from the Mayan Museum on the main street of the town. You really can't beat the price of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Weerobbie,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
1,330 helpful votes 1,330 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Positive points - Rooms were large and clean, breakfast good. Comfortable bed.
Negative points- some of electrics in room unintelligible. TV system was so complex that few in the group got it to work - there were NO INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE IDIOTIC SYSTEM.
A coffee making machine was provided, but on use it sprayed boiling water all over the table top,
and scolded your hands- the only way to stop it was to pull out the plug since the stop switch did not work.
The evening meal in the restaurant was mediocre.
Although only a transit town, you could do better Holiday Inn! Interesting to see if you respond.

Room Tip: Don't expect electrics in room to work-they don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear malholme,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your positive comments on our room accommodations, breakfast quality and comfortable beds. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry about the issues you may have experienced in your room in particular the coffee machine and electric outlets. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker, Belize
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

While not much curb appeal, once you enter the front door, very nice property. In a good central location. Staff members were very professional, helpful, warm and welcoming. Rooms and property in general were very clean and well maintained. We had a first floor room only 2 steps outside the sliding door to the pool. Initially was concerned it might be noisy but was not at all. Once the door is closed we did not hear anything - even with a child's birthday party taking place. Of note, as Chetumal is not a big tourist destination, if you do not speak Spanish, expect some language barriers. We struggled through a few things, but the computer translator got us through the rough spots.

Room Tip: We had room 106 right at the pool and were very happy with it. Noise was not an issue as we thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for one night, two couples in two rooms. One was fine, a good room with no problem. The other was bad - air condioning didn't work at first. After two visits from maintenance it worked but sent out the most noxious smell so we had to move rooms. In the second room the tv didn't work - a minor thing but when you pay for the advertised services you expect them. Also we were ripped off by the barman who added tips to our bill!
The swimming pool is lovely, beautifully clean and shaded. Location is good - right opposite the museum.
We would probably go back but only because there are few alternatives, but we did email our complaints through to the Holiday Inn customer services.
We had coffee and toast for breakfast so can't really comment on the food. It was okay, nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear G E H,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize for the over-all issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: Avenida Heroes 171-A | Colonia Centro, Chetumal 77000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Chetumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Chetumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chetumal's capital hotel. Where your comfort is our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Plaza Hotel Chetumal, Mexico - Quintana Roo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.