We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xcaret

Xcaret
Federal Highway, Km. 282, Chetumal, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Xcaret like an insider
Special Offer
$239*
and up
Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and...
Attraction details
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was truly impressed with this park. The maintenance, service and attractions make it a must see if you are in Cancun or Riviera Maia. I recommend Xcaret Plus package, it includes lunch and snorkling equipment for the underground rivers. If you want to borrow the equipment for other areas, you have to make a 25usd deposit, which they give you back when you give back the equipment. Towel rental is 3usd. La Cocina restaurant has traditional mexican food, and for me honestly it was the best restaurant of the whole trip to Mexico. The food was amazing! Try chicken with mole and the traditional café de olla ( coffee with cinnamon). The evening show is a great way to know a bit more about mexican culture and see traditional local dances. It has so much to see that one day is not enough.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    96
    38
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best fun i have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We tried xcaret for the advices that we received from our friends. You have to experience it by yourself to know what we experienced. This fun park is part of group park with over 150000 employee that all working really hard to provide you with best services. Hi advance technology combines with natural attraction to fill your time for at least one day.
We bought exclusive plus and received free launch and snorkels. Swimming in hidden river was the first adventure we tried, it took about 45 minutes, i recommend to have a waterproof camera ready for this part or at lease get a waterproof cover for your cellphone to take picture or capture some clips of these amazing underground river.
We entered late to the park, so we went for launch to international restaurants (resturant C) the quality of food was great.
Right after this resturant, you can see prides of jungle: jaguars, mountain lions, leopards are very interesting not just for kids but also for adult.
We love auditorium with Mexican dance, fertility pray with man spinning from a pole with 80ft height, shark section, turtles and small aquarium.
There were lots of other sections like dolphins, monkeys islands, snorkeling beach, country side horse ridding, old style chapel, butterfly section.
We also tried spinning towers that lift you up to 80meters height and show you all facilities. You could watch the whole beach and all parks, unbelievable rain forest, sea for about 15 minutes.
Finally two hours show, you could get a taste of Mexican history and different state dances, which was in large scale and more like small scale olympic ceremony.

What you should take: all skin care has to be bio grade, waterproof cameras, slippers and T shirt. When you put your staff at locker, still you can have your slippers and others things by a special bag , which they carry for you to the end of river. If you have snorkel, take it too.
They have a complete list of goods for sale, you can buy from them despite their price. I bought my waterproof camera outside for 25 dollars with no flash. They had reusable with flash for $50.
I highly recommend this park, don't forget to go there as early as possible.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Xcaret dinner show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Took a group of 110 people to the night dinner and show. The food was fantastic and the show is spectacular! They recently changed the show slightly and it has so many facets and things happening it is wonderful to see! What a great lesson of the culture and history of the area with dance and so much more. We did not do the park so I can not comment on that but the dinner and show is a must do in Riviera Maya/Cancun area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would have been better if charter bus got their earlier ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked charter with Olympics tours, prices to this park are outrageous, but it was something I wanted to experience. For some reason all the water attractions closed at 430 pm, we had to pay extra for dolphin encounter, and scuba dive, would have been great if the charter bus would have gotten us their when the park opened and not at 11:30pm, after we did our paid extra attractions we did not have time to see any part of the park besides the show and lunch included at any restaurant at the part. Basically I paid over 400$$ to scuba and play with the dolphins. I recommend to spend 2 days here and drive yourself or get the earliest bus ride to the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Xcaret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This may sound like and expenssive day trip but it is worth it. We arrived at 8:00 am and were busy until the park closed at 8:35pm. The night show starts at 6:00 pm and ends at 8:35. Constant music, dances, games and history for 2:30 hrs. Enven if you do not understand Spanish it is worth seeing the production.
It has activities for every age.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xcaret also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Chetumal, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Xcaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xcaret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.