We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in the centre of San Juan del Rio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Layseca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Layseca to your Saves list
Hotel Layseca
Avenida Juarez Oriente 9, San Juan del Rio 76800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in the centre of San Juan del Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved the Hotel Layseca. It is right on the main street but the rooms are behind a wall in a courtyard so it was very peaceful. Our room was large with 16 foot ceilings and lovely hand carved beds. The courtyard was full of tropical plants and flowers and had several spots where you could sit and read or check your email. Staff was pleasant and friendly and everything was very clean. The beds were a little bit hard, that was the only drawback. Some nice eating places nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
4
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edo. Mex.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I used to stay there, it was cheap and clean, and location is awesome, but for recent time they have doubled their fares. IMO they don't worth the actual value.

Solia hospedarme en este hotel, sus tarifas eran razonables, los cuartos limpios y la ubicacion inmejorable, pero de un tiempo para acá duplicaron el precio. En mi opinión, no los vale.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the 'new' section -in the back of the hotel- they're quiet and... new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location is good, the building is in very good conditions. In general de hotel is clean, the rooms are confortable.
In general de staff is nice, only the administrator is not kind at all, but when the owner is there he changes. The owner is very kind and nice. I give 5 because I had a nice stay with my family. And of course the price is excelente!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Most places that we stay we either feel good or bad about. With this hotel there are some good things and some not so good. On the positive side the prices if fantastic and the grounds are beautiful. The rooms were spotless. The location was amazing right across for the main plaza. This means some street noise but to us it was worth it. Some traffic noise is to be expected and the ever present church bells. But the other noise, guests watching TV at 4 a.m. and talking loudly, staff calling back and forth to each other and holding loud conversations while some guests are still sleeping was not appreciated, nor was the sound of machinery and repairs. Twice we couldn't shower because they were doing some plumbing repairs and didn't let us know. All through our 5 day stay the Internet service was spotty at best. We talked to them and they seemed apologetic but...that didn't help when my wife was in the middle of booking a flight online and giving her credit card info and things crashed. I was in the middle of some important interchange with a major Canadian federal government agency when the system crashed on me. We were trying to deal with bankers and realtors and it was a nightmare. The staff was not friendly but not hostile. Overall flip a coin, if you want value and location you will probably enjoy this place. If you want reliability and tranquility maybe not. The beds gave us both backaches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Wonderful ambiance, location, furnishings, light, and sound (quiet). Exceptional value.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

this small hotel is a unique colonial spot with beautiful confortable rooms, quiet and nice.
right in the downtown area.
the antique furniture combined with modern bathrooms, will give you the confort and privacy
you need.
I highly recommend this place.
The town is also wonderful to visit.

Room Tip: the rooms in the back of the patio are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Layseca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Layseca

Address: Avenida Juarez Oriente 9, San Juan del Rio 76800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > San Juan del Rio
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Layseca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Layseca San Juan Del Rio, Queretaro, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Layseca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.