We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viscri, a very old village with a well preserved Fortified Church” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villages with Fortified Churches

Villages with Fortified Churches
Romania
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 296 Attractions in Transylvania
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
bucharest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Viscri, a very old village with a well preserved Fortified Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Viscri is a small village, in Brasov county, which can be reached if you travel from Brasov towards Sighisoara, on the E60 European road - 7km from the European road.
This village, as many others in this region in Romania, was inhabited by german-routed people, who gradually, after the 1989 revolution, fleed the village and returned to Germany.

Most of the houses which they left behind, built in the very specific German-style - have been recently re-constructed, preserving fully their initial architecture and look. The result is that the village has regained its ancient look yet giving its remaining inhabitans the comfort of leaving in proper accomodations.

The village has also a fortified church - the Viscri Fortified Church - built in the 12th century and situated up on a small hill, with an excellent view on the surrounding pastoral-like area. The church has also been recently re-constructed and it can be visited daily, until 6pm (this hour is valid for the summer time, in winter they may have shorter opening times).

The trip to Viscri is definatly worth your while, especially if you would like to see very interesting, genuine old places which are still "alive" in the country.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful architecture, settings and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

There are some 150 village with fortified churches and I've seen quite a few of them, the whole region is wonderful and the churches give it a medieval feel. Besides the most visited one at Biertan, Saschiz and Viscri there are few other which are worth a visit: Hosman, Valea Viilor, Cristian nearby Sibiu, Calnic, Harman.
In the region there a lot of sheepfolds, charcoal makers and blacksmiths and it is worth experiencing the rural life locals have. Hikes, horse-riding and biking are great way to explore the region and get in touch with nature.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Malancrav - a beautiful, saxon fortified Church in Transylvania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

If you arrive somehow in Transylvania, in Sighisoara area - I strongly recommend that you visit a couple of saxon fortified churches such as: Malancrav, Biertan, Atel, Viscri or Saschiz.
In Transylvania there are over 160 such churches, each one very beautiful and interesting, maybe not all of them in very good shape nowadays.
At Malancrav - the church has been recently renovated and the place looks BEAUTIFUL! Inside the church, you can admire the old painting which is in very good condition and it resisted in a miraculous way to several changes in the religious dogma throughout the years.
Right behind the church, you can see Apafi Manor, the newly renovated mansion of a very old and rich family who used to be the owners of these lands in ancient times. If you want, you can also live at the mansion for a few days - all the details can be found on the website of mihai eminescu trust, the foundation which takes care of this site.
The location of malancrav is also unique, amidst beautiful green hills and smooth plains.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting history of Transylvania”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Our trip was actually in June 2009 but I can't select a date earlier than 2010.

We rented a car and visited three fortified churches; of the seven UNESCO -designated fortified churches, Prejmer was the only one we saw. The fortification at Prejmer is really interesting and the staff gave us additional information and suggested we walk the wall perimeter inside - between the outer wall and inner wall. We didn't even notice we could until we were told! It was definitely worth a visit. Try to look in all the open doors and go up and down the staircases to see the most of it.

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A spectacular morning in Transylvania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We found an excellent tour guide through the visitor's center at Sighisoara and drove to Malancrav, Biertan and Richis. Malancrav was my favorite. As we approached Malancrav we drove carefully through geese who crowded the tiny roads. We were greeted by two women chopping firewood. It was chilly for October. There was a spent fire still smoking up on the hill. The trees had their vibrant fall colors, creating a perfect backdrop for the brown corn stalks, colorful village homes and quiet cemetery. It was like something out of a picture book. The church had recently celebrated the harvest season, and there were "offerings" of corn, tomatoes, walnuts and grapes all lined up carefully on each side of the alter. We were given some of the grapes to eat which had an excellent flavor. Driving out to our next stop, we again had to slow down to allow turkeys to cross the road. At Biertan, I took some of my best photos. Goats watched us as we climbed the stairs there. At Richis, we were led about by an elderly man who is apparently the last of the Saxons in the village (along with his wife). He was very enthusiastic and informative as he revealed the Pagan symbols hidden about the church. He had a genuine, "old world" warmth about him. On our way back to Sighisoara, pigs (and piglets!) ran alongside our car. In sum, if you have any interest in authentic villages reminiscent of times past, nice people, farm animals and absolutely beautiful countryside then this is the place for you! There was a definite magic to this place and I would recommend it to anyone interested in these types of experiences.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villages with Fortified Churches also viewed

 

Been to Villages with Fortified Churches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villages with Fortified Churches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.