We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery, good food, non-smoking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Motilor

Cabana Motilor
Main St., no. 375 | Marisel, Romania
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 932 Restaurants in Transylvania
Cuisines: Romanian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great scenery, good food, non-smoking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Marisel is some 60 km from Cluj-Napoca. The road winds through a popular area of lakeside retreats owned by prosperous Clujeans, rises through the forest into the mountains and eventually becomes an unpaved track. On our visit (December 2013), Marisel had a Swiss village feel to it - rolling green fields, patches of snow (it had been a "global warming" winter"), wooden chalets, pine and fir forests. Downsides: potholes, stray dogs, lots of new (and unfinished) concrete construction. Cabana Motilor is, however, a welcome stop for food and refreshment. Wonder of wonders (for Romania) ... it's non-smoking ... and (another wonder) the customers respect the non-smoking rule. Great views from the dining room. The restaurant is small, with just five tables, but simply and pleasantly furnished. The menu is simple, mainly traditional dishes, but you can ask for items that you don't see on the menu. Service is prompt and courteous. Prices are geared to the Romanian market, in other words, reasonable by European standards. The food is honest home cooking, no pretensions. Arriving in the early afternoon, we had fried eggs with potatoes au gratin, an order of mamaliga (cornmeal) with cheese and sour cream, a herbal tea, a beer and a coffee, which came in total to about RON 35 (USD 10). To take home, we also bought their home-made blueberry jam, blueberry liqueur, zacusca (a sort of vegetable puree) and pine syrup. We would gladly visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure Mountain Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Today we have been enjoying a delicious lunch. The food at Cabana Motilor is pure, authentic, mostly, nearly all, from local sources. Slow food, prepared with love, and you taste it! Also great choice for vegetarians! We experienced great hospitality and enjoyed the best view of 'snowy mountains'. The best destination for a day out of Cluj Napoca!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
“I would not recommend it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

the service is terrible,the food is average. Not worth the bumpy way up. The access road is in pretty bad shape.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastianhosu, Owner at Cabana Motilor, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are very sorry that you did not like our place. Though we are trying our best to offer good food and service, we sometimes fail. A more descriptive review would have helped us improve what you did not like.
It is true that the road is not in a good shape, but most of our guests find it acceptable for a mountain road in Romania and feel that it's worth the effort for the view you have when you get to the top.
Please offer us the chance of a second impression. :-) I am sure we will do much better this time and you will enjoy your visit like most of our guests do.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although it is hard to reach, it is worth the travel. The area is beautiful, the service is very friendly and polite and the food is great. Not the cheapest prices ever, but I am sure they prepare all from natural ingredients. We also bought syrup to go and some souvenirs. Very good idea! A, and they have a jumping board for kids, so we could also relax while the little one had his fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romanian tradition and authentic owners and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is really a place you have to go to! It takes some time to reach the restaurant, but the typical, homemade, regional food and the very polite owners are awesome! They explain all in perfect English, take care of every guest and you can finally even get the homemade jam and other wonderful tasting things... If you pay cash they like, but even my credit card was accepted! I can already promise to come back, as this is a al perfect location!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabana Motilor also viewed

Transylvania, Romania

Been to Cabana Motilor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Motilor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.