We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in Mae Sot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AiYA - CLOSED

AiYA
Intharakhiri rd, Mae Sot, Thailand
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Burmese
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best food in Mae Sot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The service here is not good... it is true that the staff are sullen and a bit unwelcoming. But don't come here for that.. come here for the amazing food! You can't go wrong with anything you order on the menu and trust that it will be delicious - we didn't have one mediocre meal. Especially the tea leaf salad, which we already miss.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Burmese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food is really great, I have ordered many different things and they are all delicious. Service is quite relaxed (aka slow) but polite.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice meal - modest prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a dinner here and the food was very nice and well presented. I have had better service other places, but I will still recommend this place due to the quality and price. If you go there, they have a box at the bar where you can donate money to children of burmese refugees. I recommend you to give them your tip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice looking place...food and staff drab”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If had seen this place many times and decided to give it a try as it looks nice and atmosheric and has a good library of Burma/political books.However, most of what we wanted was not available and the guy taking the order was very sullen...no Thai spoken either. What we had was sort of OK, but as you have Casa Mia up the road, there's no real need to come here I'm afraid...besides that most of the staff were smoking inside the restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Refreshing gin and tonics. Tea leaf salad was amazing, as was the chicken and peanut curry and the deep fired spring rolls. Service was a little slow at times.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AiYA also viewed

 
Mae Sot, Tak Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AiYA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.