We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club to your Saves list
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% Discount
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A rare find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arriving late evening into Chang Rai airport, we were instantly overwhelmed by the calm and peace of Northern Thailand. Having commenced our journey with a few days in Bangkok, the hype and frantic pace still within us from the big city quickly abated.
As we emerged from the baggage collection point, earlier glimpses of a warm smiling face in the arrivals hall brought delight when it then became evident that this young man would be our driver / our escort back to the 'paradise' we would call home for the next four days.
At approx 11pm we arrived at Viang Yonok to a most gracious greeting from Vasanna (the owner) who welcomed us, settled us in with a long cold drink and made sure we were comfortable before heading off.
The following four days we spent at Viang Yonok were nothing short of magical. The serene environment afforded to all guests staying in the bungalows looking across the lake, set amongst a tropical like haven of birds and trees, in surroundings manicured and loved to the enth degree was sheer heaven. Add to this a husband and wife team who treat guests like family and a core of staff who truly love their work; one would honestly believe they are in paradise!
Ian and Vasanna were fantastic; Ian assisted us to hire some scooters and we spent each day scooting the countryside like two kids with new toys. What's that saying about life beginning at 50!!! Vasanna enquired each day about our meal requests for dinner and then went about ensuring a mouthwatering meal was served each evening. Snapper pie to die for ... Vasanna thankyou so much!
Ian is so obliging and knowledgeable with local history and did not hesitate to take us up to a hill tribe atop a local mountain where the 360 degree views were breathtaking. (luckily we found a plastic bag in the car to place our dirty shoes in so Vasanna never got to see the evidence of what we walked through to get to the top :) !!!
Like most tourists, we found ourselves in Chiang Saen to be close to the departure point for the slow boat trip to Luang Prabang in Laos.
What we never expected was to find a truly magical resort in a truly magical little town where staying just one night could never do justice. Our 4 days passed by so quickly and we were not ready to leave when our departure day arrived. Nevertheless we feel so blessed that we have been able to find somewhere that will draw us back ... quite possibly again and again. Viang Yonok is like a gateway to the local history of an area steep in its past with owners who are nothing short of amazing. One night could never be enough to fully appreciate this divine region of northern Thailand. Our short stay provided us with first class accommodation, first class owners with extreme knowledge and insight of their local area and a first class experience that will draw us back for more! With sincere gratitude Ian and Vasanna ... We say thankyou. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Lynne i,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful area so much. I have no doubt that you will be back, as although you saw quite a lot of the local sights there is so much more yet to see. The fish pie certainly was delicious too.......
We look forward to seeing you back here to enjoy more of this lovely country and thanks again for the time you took with this review.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
133
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visiting the Golden Triangle is fine but if you chose this hotel you will have the chance to stay in Chiang Saen area which in my opinion is a much better choice than Chiang Rai and the Golden Triangle itself that does not have much to offer. Its a beautiful place with lots of history and charm. The Viang Yonok is situated by the lake and offers peaceful and relexing atmosphere. The family run hotel is well kept and with a very dedicted owners and staff. They will go out of their way to help you. The first feeling we had odf the rooms was an Indochina atmosphere, very cosy and with beautiful lake view. Pool, grounds and restaurant very nice with lots of attention to detail.
Food is excellent, really excellent so make sure you try their restaurant.
We could not have chosen any better accommodation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Krisbcd,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Chiang Saen is indeed a charming old town with a magical atmosphere of history. In fact the best example of a walled town in the whole country and former city of kings. We're happy you enjoyed your stay at Viang Yonok, by the beautiful lake and I will pass on the compliments about our restaurant to the chief cook... mother-in-law...
Best wishes
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a couple of wild nights in Bangkok it was absolute bliss to arrive at the Viang Yonok Hotel in Chiang Saen. Greeted warmly by Ian and Vassana whose relaxed attitude put everyone at ease immediately; drinks were on hand, anything and everything was available. There were endless opportunities for exploration with Ian offering a fascinating insight to the region in which he was so knowledgable about, willing to share all he had learnt over the years. I borrowed a motorbike and spent some evenings roaming the roads, we were taken to an elephant park, a boat trip down the Mekong river, temple/museum visits, silk farms, tea/coffee plantations were some of the activities that filled are action-packed days. This is exactly the sort of place one wishes was more abundant across Asia - take advantage if you're in the region. I'd go back in a jiffy if I there weren't 101 other places to investigate in S.E. Asia. Thank you for your hospitality! Charles

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Charles W,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay at our little paradise of Viang Yonok. It was good too, that you were able to stay for several days and see some of the marvellous sights of the area.
Best wishes for the rest of your travels
Ian & Vassana (& Chai)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Chan, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Whenever I travel through the area a lunch stop at Viang Yonok is a must. Ian and Vassana have created a wonderful resort just next to the beautiful Chiang Saen lake. Food is great try any of the Thai dishes or the Indian style chicken curry. Add a cold beer, beautiful sourroundings, great hosts and you have a perfect afternoon. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Joakim H,
Thank you indeed for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed the curry. Maybe we'll see you here again one day and you can sample some other dishes.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a warm welcome in Viang Yonok, and were upgraded to a beautiful room with a dream- view over the lake. But what we especially appriciated were the owners and manager who did really everything to make our stay pleasant. After a delicious dinner we sat in the restaurant area, chatted about travelling and life. Vasanna and Ian shared their vision about how they want to share their happiness with other people and take care of nature by having this dreamhotel, and that's a thought we respect and will take back home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi JantineMichael,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. You are most generous with your kind words.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and wish it had been more. The owners, Ian and Vassana, were so welcoming and keen to do whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable. When first arranging our trip, they arranged for us to be picked up in Chiang Mai by the wonderful Chai - he took us on a fabulous tour en route to Chiang Saen, which included a trip to an elephant park, caves and then stopped off for an amazing lunch. Chai ensured we had a great day and was even a brilliant photographer - thanks to Chai we have some amazing photographs of our stay that we would never have been able to get ourselves. Ian and Vassana were perfects hosts and Vassana's mum made us some wonderful meals. The bungalows are beautiful, decorated in a Thai style, set amongst lovely gardens and pool overlooking the lake. There are bikes to borrow and are perfect for exploring this peaceful area. There is also the use of a kayak - Chai drove us to the edge of the lake and launched this for us early one morning - and was once again happy to take photographs for us. After the madness of Bangkok we were more than ready for this chance to relax around the pool for a day and the following day Chai took us on a tour to the Golden Triangle and was really informative. They even arranged our bus back to Chiang Mai - amazing value at about £5 each for a luxury coach trip lasting about 3 hours!!! Many thanks to Ian, Vassana and Chai - and we hope to see you again one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Nettie13,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is most gratifying to all of us here that you enjoyed your stay so much. We will pass on your kind words to all the staff and especially Mum and Chai.
If you do get a chance to visit again, we can show you some more of the wonderful sights in the area.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Travelling through Northern Tailand with the family (couple and 2 Teenagers) we stayed there four two nights as the only guests, since it was low season. The bungalows are very well styled and show the attitude of the owners: show the guests their warm and careful hospitality. The tips for the route back to Chiang Mai have been very helpful and appreciated. Really a place to stay!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Peter K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay at Viang Yonok and appreciated the route tips for your return journey.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
6.7 mi away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
23.1 mi away
Day Waterfront Hotel
Day Waterfront Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chiang Khong
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
16.9 mi away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
7.9 mi away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
7.5 mi away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Address: 201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Paradise. Family run hotel with a 5 star touch at the magical tranquil bird sanctuary of Chiang Saen Lake. Seven private bungalows and garden restaurant. Free; sports club, swimming pool, gym, sauna, high speed wifi, kayaks, mountain bikes, shuttle transport 4 klms to Chiang Saen. Airport, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong transfers & day trips or tours. No ++ on the rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Viang Yonok Chiang Saen
Hotel Viang Yonok
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.