We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club to your Saves list
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
15% Discount
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Chonburi, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed at Viang Yonok several times during the past few years and hopefully will be there again next month;July 2013. It is very much like "another home" as the rooms are very well set up and furnished etc and as far as food goes the restaurant presents "whatever you want" and very nice too.Wasana's mum has always been a great friend too.

Room Tip: We always choose a room away from the road in front for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi Fallang,
Thank you very much for the review and we are happy that you have enjoyed staying at Viang Yonok so much during the the last few years. We look forward to seeing you in July if you can make it.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
131
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

There is little one can add to the other many accolades which Ian, Vassana, mum and staff receive. They fully express our own views and the lovely memories which we have of our last few days in Thailand before leaving for Laos. Forget Chiang Mai as your leaving point and head straight for Viang Yonok. Though not at the cheaper end of accomodation,here you will find luxury and beauty at a price far less than you would normally pay for this quality. Accomodation,gardens,pool,food, ambiance and views are all perfect.
As importantly, the service and local knowledge of owners and staff adds to the experience.
Ian and Vanessa have chosen and trained staff well.Chai,our waiter, tour guide and humourist,is a lovely gentle person.He passed on much knowledge and information about his culture and his country.He is a real asset to the hotel.
The local area has lots to offer and although the hotel is a tut tut drive away from the town this did not cause us any problems as transport can easily be arranged. One memorable event which will remain with us for ever, is the trip to a local village "fete" and "Rocket making " competition. Organised to see which village could get their rocket the highest.This was serious rocket making which Houston Texas, would have been proud of! We met lots of friendly local people and felt very much a part of the event.
Our onward trip to the Thai/Laos border at Chiang Khong arraged by Ian, was a glorious journey not to be missed.
All in all, Viang Yonak is well worth a stay.Many thanks Ian and Vassana.

Room Tip: A room at the front with uninterupted view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Vouch2u,
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit the review. It is most gratifying to read how you enjoyed your stay at Viang Yonok so much. The rocket festival is something special and one of the many very interesting aspects of this part of Thailand.
Best wishes
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The setting and surroundings are beautiful and peaceful but what makes this hotel truly unique and unforgettable are the owners and staff. Ian, Vassana, Nan and crew really make you feel welcome and at ease. My 3 days at the Viang Yonok are something I will never forget. My bungalow was comfortable, quiet and tastefully decorated. The hotel grounds are thoughtfully landscaped with beautiful flowers from all over the world. The trees are a haven for songbirds and everywhere you look is a picture waiting to be photographed. I feel fortunate to have had a chance to spend some time there and I hope to return one day soon. Most hotels are simply a place to lay your head but the Viang Yonok Hotel is a truly something special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi shecky_stardust,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Viang Yonok so much. If you do get a chance to visit again, we can show you some more of the sights around this lovely part of the world.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have lived in Chiang Mai for two years and my Thai girlfriend is from Chiang Rai and neither of us have ever been here. You are given attention and service here with you making the choices of what you want to do. Walk or ride a bike (borrowed from resort) in the area, kayak on the like, swim in the pool, or just sit and enjoy the serenity.
This is a place to be active or choose your relaxation.
The food is exceptional and the dinner (which you order at least an hour before dining) is fresh and delightful while you are awed by the natural setting around you.
Upon arrival in Chiang Saen you can rent a motorcycle or get the phone number of a Tuk Tuk driver to take you places in the area. You can also decide to make the resort your destination for romance and enjoyment of the area around the resort. We will return not only for the setting and food, but also for the kindness and hospitality of the owners and staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Dan P,
As you live in Chiang Mai, you will know the north of Thailand has some excellent hotels and restaurants, so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Viang Yonok Hotel, so much. We will pass on your comments about our exceptional food to Vassana's mother (the chief cook) and the rest of the kitchen staff. Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review for us and if you return to Chiang Saen, we look forward to seeing you again, in our little piece of paradise.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What should we say about Viang Yonok? It was a big surprise. We got the place recommended by a friend who had a stay there a view days ago and told us, the Viang Yonok is a MUST!
After a long day on our motorbike we finally reached the Resort, it is a bit outside the city near a nice lake......and everything is absolutely fantastic. They have 7 really nice bungalows and unfortunately we could stay there only one night because it was booked out for the next night.
So we arrived there, a nice and friendly youg guy, I forgot his name and will call him the "hotel manager" helped us the get our dirty luggage from the motorbike to the bungalow and while we sit down at the nice terrace with a great view to the lake, we got a great welcome-drink and a after a bottle of chang beer we felt like in heaven. followed the recommendation to have a jump into the pool after we ordered our dinner, it was really relaxing......after a shower we went to the nice restaurant, had a great dinner with some more Chang, got some nice conversation with the Hotel Manager and got intoduced to Ian and Vassana, the owners of the Hotel. Really nice and friendly people and we felt like to be within our own family.
The next morning, we had a great breakfast with fruit-pancakes.....and until they prepare the breakfast, Ian showed us his little treasury chamber.....an incredible clean garage with some old Triumph Motorbikes, really like an museum, nevertheless he is driving this bikes. That really makes me thinking to sell my new supersport-bike and also buy such a machine with history and soul.
It really aches to leave this nice place, but we will definitely come back....next time hopefully more days!

thany you very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi erbu70,
Great to hear you enjoyed your relaxing stopover on your bike tour. Thank you very much for writing a review for us. We are lucky to be living in a little bit of paradise, so it is good to be able to share it with others. Hope to see you again sometime.
Best wishes
Ian & Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our first trip to Thailand (to meet up with our adult son who lives in HK), a wonderful experience from the moment we were met by Chai at the airport. Nothing was too much trouble. A beautiful location, calm, the peace only broken by the wonderful birdsong all around, it was a perfect place to stay. The accommodation was comfortable and had everything we needed. When Chai said "If you want anything, just shout Chai!" he meant it. The trips, variosuly with Ian and Chai, were imaginative, informative and fascinating. The warmth of Ian and Vassana's welcome was matched by the outstanding cooking of Vassana's mother: we ate nothing to match it (including in an over priced restaurant in Bangkok recommended on here), we gave up looking at the menu having the total confidence to let her choose and she was very happy to accommodate odd hours such as when she produced a sort of 'high tea' of delicious Pad Thai before our early evening flight. We swam, enjoyed the beautiful gardens, walked, used the mountain bikes and our son took advantage of the canoe and a motor bike. We cannot recommend it highly enough either as a place from which to explore the region, a place to relax or both.

Room Tip: The only issue would be if you want a lake view (recommended) as otherwise the accommodation was all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi SimonW923,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your family get-together at Viang Yonok. If you get a chance to visit again, we will show you some more of the wonderful sights of the area.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here before our boat trip down the Mekong. Ian and Vassana treated us as friends rather than hotel guests. They went out of their way to show us the region. Ian took us on an all day trip through the mountains up to and along the Burma border, finishing at a unique and fascinating 7 tribe village where they were holding their annual festival. Apart from one other, Ian and we were the only Westerners at this festival. Bikes are also available to explore the countryside. Highly recommended place to stay with many interesting things to do and sights to see around the area. As others have said, the meals are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hi Ross P,
Thank you very much for your great review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay in our little bit of paradise in this fascinating area.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Address: 201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Paradise. Family run hotel with a 5 star touch at the magical tranquil bird sanctuary of Chiang Saen Lake. Seven private bungalows and garden restaurant. Free; sports club, swimming pool, gym, sauna, high speed wifi, kayaks, mountain bikes, shuttle transport 4 klms to Chiang Saen. Airport, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong transfers & day trips or tours. No ++ on the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viang Yonok Chiang Saen
Hotel Viang Yonok
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.