We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just peace and joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club to your Saves list
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW 15% Discount
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
5.0 of 5 stars 230 Reviews
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“just peace and joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

went there to stay for a night, ended up staying for three instead. and have been back five or six times since... great place to unwind, relax, bike, read, eat, dream...Just a short ride to the city of Chiang Saen, Viang Yonok is located on a vast lake, irresistibly soothing to the eye and soul, home to not only the local fish but -more interesting because one can see them- plenty of migrant birds. It ranks among my three favourite locations in Thailand

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Herbertbkk,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so lucky to be in this beautiful tranquil location.
Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
121
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after Ian had picked us up after a 2 day trip up the Mekong River from Laos and we were so delighted that we had chosen to stay here.. To be honest I felt like we were on a home stay =, we were made to feel so welcome, relaxed and we really did not have to think or organise anything it was all done by Ian and Vanessa. I enjoyed the fabulous cooking which is done by Vanessa's mother and the loved that you did not have to choose and order you just basically ate what was served up and we were extremely happy with the selection that was served you could however order a special request and appreciated the special Phad Thai that was served to us for lunch after having not eaten anything for 12 hours from our travels across the Lao border. Chai took us out for the day on a drive through the countryside visiting local hilltribe stalls, coffee stops on the side of the mountain and to the beautiful flower gardens (cannot remember the name of these - hopefully Ian will add the name to this review). One of the staff drove us into town to buy our onward bus tickets to Chiang Mai and then dropped us off at the Opium museum. We also enjoyed Ian's home videos he showed us at dinner and it was lovely to see how proud Vanessa was of these. We took the pushbikes for a ride to the bamboo pier and spotted 2 Lyre birds with their feathers all fluffed and plumed - just gorgeous, we then rode around the lake for a little...We slept at night with just the flyscreen doors and listened to the night life of birds signing and whatever else made those noises. This was a very relaxing stay for us in a very small, intimate, home style resort... you will not go wrong with a stay here. thank for a wonderful stay Ian and Vanessa... hope your bike adventure went well xx

Room Tip: all rooms have a lake view.. choose on the bedding you desire..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi AussieVick,
That's a great review, thank you very much indeed. Yes, I suppose we are a bit homestay-like in our way of operating. Friendliness seems to work with most people..... Vassana's mother certainly does a great job in the kitchen, even the managers from the local luxury hotels come and eat in our restaurant. Chai knows the local area very well and does a great job with the tours. The ornamental gardens are the Doi Tung Royal gardens and are indeed beautiful. We're happy you enjoyed your stay here so much. Yes, we had a great time on our bike tour, thank you.
Best Wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

When you stay at this family-run hotel, its feels like you are visiting friends. Husband and wife owners Ian and Vassana put a lot of love into their business. They were friendly and helpful and took time to get to know us. Employee Chai, helped out everywhere (restaurant, transportation, answering questions) and has a great sense of humor. One day, he took us to town to get bus tickets and then to see Wat Pradhat Pro-Ngao. If you miss your pets, you can make friends with one of the resident dogs or cats. We got to know Lucky and Momem.

There are seven bungalows surrounding a lush lawn with a pool, patio, and lounge chairs. The view from the pool of Chiang Sean Lake is beautiful, especially at sunset. Our room, Whistling Duck, had a king and twin bed, TV, wi-fi, safe, mini fridge, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, plenty of bottled water, and cute balcony with table and chairs. The small gym had an elliptical, multi-purpose weight machine, free weights, and that wonderful lake view. There are bikes and kayaks, but we didn’t get a chance to use them.

One of our favorite spots was the outdoor restaurant with comfortable chairs and a view of the lake. We browsed the selection of books and chatted with fellow travelers like Margaret and Harvey from Tasmania. Oh, and the food was wonderful - all cooked by Vassana’s mom. Our breakfast favorites were kaow dtom gai and pancake filled with fresh fruit, topped with a touch of honey.

Viang Yonok is one of those special places that leave a lasting impression. We loved the laid back, casual atmosphere – we didn’t even need shoes to go the pool or restaurant. Ian and Vassana gave us a gift and a hug when we left. We will return!

If you would like to read about what we did in the Golden Triangle, please visit our travel blog, http://latitudeb.com/golden-triangle-thailand/.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi LoriBarber,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. It's good to hear you liked our friendly style of operation together with our beautiful location and varied facilities. We look forward to your return.
Best Wishes and Good Luck on your travel odyssey.
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a cosy, peaceful place! Chai made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Very comfy beds, clean chalets and excellent "full monty" breakfast. Each chalet has a verandah with a view of the lake, the garden is full of birds and an adequate plunge pool to cool off and enjoy your sundowners by. Definitely will be back for some more down time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Sarah M,
We're sorry we did not get to meet you, as we were on holiday when you came to visit Viang Yonok. Never mind, it's good hear that Mr Chai looked after you well and you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to your return.
Best Wishes
Ian & vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Viang Yonok is a wonderful hotel with small, private comfortable bungalows. The location is remote, and unless you want to visit local sites (the hotel is very close to the Golden Triangle of Thailand, Laos and Myanmar), you can curl up with a good book and enjoy the hotel's excellent cuisine. If you do want to tour the area, there are many nice day trips and the hotel's owners will arrange them for you at your convenience and at a very reasonable cost.
The owners, Vassana and Ian do everything possible to ensure you enjoy your stay and no request is too large or small. Pad Thai for breakfast? No problem.. Vassana's mother commands the kitchen and they turn out wonderful dishes..
From the moment the hotel picks you up at the airport (if you are arriving by plane) until they return you, you will have a terrific time.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kingfisher. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi jacombs70,
Thank you so much for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your holiday with us. Good also, to hear that you thought our cuisine was excellent and we will convey your comments to the kitchen staff.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sadly, we only stayed at Viang Yonok for one night on our cycle tour. Ian and Vassana were wonderful hosts. Our bungalow was extremely clean and comfortable with a lovely verandah to relax on and watch the sunset over the lake. We followed Vassana's menu recommendations and enjoyed a super meal - one of the best we had in Thailand. We hope to be able to return and stay a bit longer next time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Lg6343,
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your brief stay in our little piece of paradise.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a day each in Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai, we were filled up with the tourist traps. We drove towards Chiang Saen and realized that we had escaped the madness when we drove into the grounds of Viang Yonok Hotel. Ian and Vassana are very smart, laid-back hosts who only wanted to make us happy. The view outside the cabin was of a very tranquil freshwater lake and even included a small one-man fishing boat in the morning. That evening they served grilled fish caught that day from the lake cooked on a charcoal grill by Vassana's mother and in their open terraced restaurant. Breakfast there the next morning was excellent with ham and eggs cooked to our taste and lots of fresh Thai fruit and coffee.

I agree with one of the earlier reviewers that the local town is fun to visit in the evening to see the market and the local people enjoying themselves. The foods and deserts there were good and the bargaining a kick.

You will certainly enjoy yourself here and definitely decompress if you have had your fill of Bangkok and Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Guest150,
Thank you very much for your review. Indeed, if you need a place to chill out for a while...... this is it. We realised that some years ago, when we moved here. The still water of Chiang Saen lake does have a calming effect on the soul..... Great to hear you enjoyed our food & facilities and the ancient town of Chiang Saen certainly has more character than the big cities.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Address: 201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Paradise. Family run hotel with a 5 star touch at the magical tranquil bird sanctuary of Chiang Saen Lake. Seven private bungalows and garden restaurant. Free; sports club, swimming pool, gym, sauna, high speed wifi, kayaks, mountain bikes, shuttle transport 4 klms to Chiang Saen. Airport, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong transfers & day trips or tours. No ++ on the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viang Yonok Chiang Saen
Hotel Viang Yonok
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.