We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle to your Saves list
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 18, Chiang Saen Post Office, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Bellevue
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Escape of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Welcomed by a boat trip away from reality into your new temporary reality of luxury and learning.
Arrive and climb to a wonderful and personal introduction to a tented paradise of personal service and luxury. With only 16 'tents' complete with every amenity including snacks and liquors, and soft drinks ( yes there are no TV's but internet connections abound), the next 2-4 days will have you wanting for nothing: food prepared to your liking, drinks by the pool or the wine cellar. They even had skewers and s'mores on the veranda after dinner after my suggestion!
Boat or van trips arranged to various locations in the area. Awaken to elephants trumpeting and see the landscape change colors with the sunset. And the elephant experience, from training, to riding, to getting doused in the river cannot be explained in mere words. Affordable? Debatable. Unforgettable? Definitely. But what price can you put on something that can not be duplicated? A 5+ star escape.

Room Tip: Closer to the eating pavilion if you do want to walk 1/4 to 1/3 mile on path to your tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M, Camp Manager at Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such thoughtful and detailed review! Much appreciated. It is great that you enjoyed the luxurious setting of the camp, the food, the activities and most importantly, our Staff and personalized service.

I am also thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your very close interaction with our Elephants, and it was amazing to see how difficult it is to find the write word to describe this amazing experience with the gentle giants.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Camp, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ali Mohammed
Camp Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
158
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. It's typical Four Seasons service and luxury but in the middle of the jungle in Thailand. Don't get put off by the word tent - this is the sort of luxury tent that has everything the best hotels in the world have - except for a TV - and that doesn't matter in the slightest. The opportunity to see, touch, feed and ride elephants is one you will never forget.

Yes it is expensive - but it is worth every penny - and more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M, Camp Manager at Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the nice review and great comments. I am very happy to learn that you have enjoyed an experience that is hard to forget, and you loved your tent, the location and most importantly our gentle giants.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we are very looking forward to welcoming you back to our Magical Camp in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ali Mohammed
Camp Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best experience in our life! Everyrhing was so petfect and I couldnt see any flaw of this place.

We had an amazing time with the elephants and we think they liked us too.

The staff were super friendly and helpful. We enjoyed every seconds there!

Overall, best experience ever and we will come back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M, Camp Manager at Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for an AMAZING review and nice words. I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that your enjoyed your very close interaction with our Gentle Giants, and you felt well taken care of by our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share with us your amazing time at our magical camp, and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ali Mohammed
Camp Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The tents are indeed stunning, very special and with every detail thought of (apart from the lack of anywhere to unpack your clothes into though that's apparently deliberate and not a big deal for us). Glad they have aircon - trust me!

Everyone seems to stay here for 3-4 nights though 4 is perfect in our view as it allows enough time to truly settle in, relax and just fully take in this remote location and it's stunning views.

General assumption is that you arrive, get presented with your proposed itinerary and do everything on it. Staff slightly shocked that we didn't do all the activities and chose to just enjoy the moment sometimes. Definitely worth relaxing a bit otherwise it's time to leave before you've even realised where you are!

Service exceptional and genuine. Food and drink fine. Every detail thought about carefully (eg cold flannels on arrival at the Burma bar after walking in the heat).

Weather very hot for us in June as humid and little/no breeze. Rains at night (alot sometimes) and clears up during the day.

Not really bothered much by mosquitos which surprised me though there were a few (but never in tents). Some guests told us they got eaten alive during massages at spa or on own tent veranda so they did our massage inside our tent which was perfect!

We were advised in UK against taking anti-malarials for this location so didn't but most Americans we asked seemed to take them.

Elephant experience was unexpectedly mind-blowing. Scary initially but quickly adapted. Will never forget sitting astride a fully-submerged elephant in the river!

Very relaxed set-up. Informal clothes fine. My wife says that decent footwear essential for walking around camp on slippery paths when wet (deckshoes/docksiders OK). Probably 2/3 full now thus max 10 couples. Majority are honeymooners which we are not.

This is truly all-inclusive and we leave tomorrow morning with no bill to pay whatsoever which will be a first. Even room service isn't extra. Liberating!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M, Camp Manager at Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the review, and I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Camp, and all the different aspects of the visit. Even though we would love for every guests to enjoy all our very thoughtful, fun and interesting activities that we have planned for them ahead, we also believe that spending time at the Camp and doing absolutely nothing but relaxing and enjoying our beautiful tents or our unique pool side is also as a great experience and as enjoyable as all the other activities.

Once again, thank you for such nice review, and I am very looking forward to welcoming you back to our Magical Camp in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ali Mohammed
Camp Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I just had the most amazing experience at the tented camp. We were so sad to leave. When you arrive, you take a boat to the hotel. While this isn't necessary, it adds to the overall experience. The tents are gorgeous, comfortable, very well air conditioned. We could've lived there forever. The food was also excellent, they will make anything for you to your specifications. The service is incredible and everything is tailored specifically to you. While this all contributed to our experience at the camp, the elephants and the staff really set this place apart from anywhere else in the world.

The elephants and mahouts are incredible. We really felt like we bonded with our elephants (Bounma and Thongkam) and mahouts, especially Seng. We tried to do every elephant activity and would've done more had there been more time. Our elephant polo activity was easily one of the most fun things we've ever done in our lifetimes. It is much harder than it looks too!! But the best part of that activity was playing with the hotel staff and the mahouts. After we played, we bathed the elephants and my husband dropped his camera in the river and the staff all jumped in to help him look. Somkid (a staff member) found the camera and we all celebrated splashing in the river. Somkid also took us on an excursion to Myanmar and the golden triangle and was very informative and fun to be around.

While you are there, you really get to know the staff. Ali, Vikas, Seng, Somkid, and many many more made the trip unforgettable. I could sit here and type about our experience forever.. we already miss our elephants and we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M, Camp Manager at Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review and a very insightful description of your experience at the Camp. I am thrilled to know that you have loved the tent, the food, the elephants and most importantly our staff and service. I am very happy to know that we have lived up to your expectations and we were able to make your stay such an enjoyable one.

We have all enjoyed our polo game with you and we are very looking forward to welcoming you back soon as you intend to return to us.

Once again, thank you for spending your vacation with us, and we have all enjoyed your company.

Best Regards,
Ali Mohammed
Camp Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is one of the most special places we have ever visited (and we've been to 80 countries).
With fewer than 30 guests (only 6-10 during this season) the experience is intimate and special. Wonderful care by all staff members; fabulous and authentic design and decor makes one feel like you are part of an expedition from decades ago. Great food, interesting day trips but the prime attraction here is to interact and get to know the resident elephants and their mahoots. To feed the baby elephants each morning during our own breakfast time was like no other experience! We highly highly recommend this place (if you can get by the price tag).

Room Tip: Every tent is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M, Camp Manager at Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the nice review and comments. I appreciate the time you took to share with us your very unique experience at our Magical Camp. I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and you loved the close interaction with our gentle giants. Indeed, feeding them and getting that close, is a second to none experience.
Once again, thank you for the review, and we all very looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ali Mohammed
Camp Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The service is amazing, the location and the experience is just perfect. The level of detail and personalization is just crazy. You cant feel you are in a tent, its so luxurios! And the food was great!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali M, Camp Manager at Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for the simply spectacular review describing your very special experience at the Camp. I am glad that you have enjoyed your visit to our Magical Jungle, and you were happy with everything the Camp was able to offer, from the location, the tents, the food and most importantly, our personalized service.

Thank you for staying with us, and we are hoping to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
Ali Mohammed
Camp Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle

Address: P.O. Box 18, Chiang Saen Post Office, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the natural wonders of Northern Thailand, just south of Burma, west of Laos, for an unforgettable experience. On our unique min 2 nights stay excursions, you'll have the adventure of a lifetime trekking elephants through lush jungle and spectacular mountain trails. Unwind in our superb luxury tented accommodations, which feature stunning views and Four Seasons luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
4 Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
Four Seasons Chiang Rai
Chiang Rai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.