We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different kind of museum.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hall of Opium Museum

Hall of Opium Museum
Moo 1 Ban Sop Ruak | Wiang, Chiang Saen 57150 , Thailand
+66 (0) 5378 4444 - 6
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$97*
and up
Private Tour: A Glimpse of Myanmar and the Golden...
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Chiang Saen
4.5 of 5 stars 272 Reviews
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of the infamous Golden Triangle, this museum is dedicated to educating visitors about the history of the opium trade and the dangers of addiction.
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Different kind of museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Interesting to learn of the importance and history of opium in a museum setting. Excellent displays and information. Check it out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    81
    28
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very interesting & educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We didn't have high expectations as we are not big fans of museums but we spent 2.5 hours there and quite enjoyed it. The amount of work that has gone into the displays is quite impressive. The history of opium is explained very well, from early trading between countries, up to the involvement of the hill tribes, on to the King's mother's involvement in trying to help the hill tribes escape their dependence on the opium trade and create employment opportunities for them. We learned a lot. I would recommend a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting even for someone who hates museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was a little skeptical because I really hate museums but this place was really well done and quite interesting. We had a feisty 18 month old with us and we found it was fairly toddler-friendly. Not a lot of breakables like some museums so he could sort of run around the exhibits without disturbing anything. We had to move through kind of quickly because his attention span was short but we enjoyed it and probably could have stayed longer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Amazing place to learn and reflect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

A must see if you travel the Golden Triangle, spare the Optium Museum and drive a half mile north to the Hall of Opium. You will learn a great deal about the history of Opium and the associated social and economical challenges.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very well done museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Definitely worth taking a couple of hours to see this. It was very interesting and extremely well done.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hall of Opium Museum also viewed

Chiang Saen, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Mae Fa Luang, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Hall of Opium Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hall of Opium Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.