We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Triangle - what more needs to be said!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Triangle

Golden Triangle
Sob Ruak Village, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 attractions in Chiang Saen
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This was originally the opium-growing region of northern Thailand, eastern Burma and western Laos, but is now mainly a tourist attraction.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Golden Triangle - what more needs to be said!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at the Golden Triangle so no need to travel out. For me, its a small quaint town with some eateries. There are loads of stalls offering boat rides on the Mekong which will show you the Casino in Myanmar and the one Laos. It is actually quite amazing that the mighty Mekong is so wide even though it is so far inland.

The boat ride (long tail boat without cover) cost me TBh600. The ride on the river was about 20 minutes or so but the boat boy will stop along the river if you want to take photos etc. Before going back, they will stop you at the market which sells loads of handicrafts, opium smoking apparatus and handbags from China. I also went to Chiang Mai night market, I suggest that you buy at Chiang Mai as the prices here are a little more than Chiang Mai.

The boat trip is worth a ride for the experience.

Do go to the Hall of Opium. I would say that this is probably one of the best, if not the best museum in the region and it beats many of the other museums worldwide. A must-go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    49
    44
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are in the area go and see it to say you have been to the Golden Triangle. The Mekong experience you can have in other nicer places. Geographically situated viewing three countries in once but other than that....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful place amazing view of three country. beast way is a boat ride to take a tour u will love the place big statue of lord Buddha of golden color , people are very friendly and they will take your quick pic and will give u after the boat ride.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Golden Triangle tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked a golden triangle day tour with Asia discovery, fantastic day out.
Excellent tour guide named Tea, knew a lot about the history of Chiang Mai / Chiang Rai and the golden triangle area. Plenty of stops for toilet breaks and refreshments, cold water given out for free too. On the way to Chiang Rai, we visited the White Palace, it is an absolute must see. Very beautiful. We have been traveling for a few weeks through Europe and South East Asia - the White Palace is one of our favourite places we have been to. Stunning from start to finish.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great trip but a very long journey!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We absolutely loved the golden triangle tour we did. It included calling at the long neck Karen tribe which was awesome!
The journey is very long (avg 4 hours). You stop at somewhere on the way to the triangle but the way back is non-stop. You definately have a numb bum!
We did a boat trip (this wasn't included in the price but didn't cost hardly anything) around the triangle and stopped in Laos for an hour. Here you can try different whiskeys/wines with your options being snake whiskey, tiger penis whiskey and scorpian whiskey. If you take your passports you can get it stamped here or you can have a card stamped if you do not wish to take your passport.
The hilltribe was a highlight. You get a great insight into what the tribe do day-day and why they wear the rings around their necks. You get to try some ringed necklaces yourself. The children here are so cute and love having pictures taken!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Triangle also viewed

Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
Chiang Rai, Chiang Rai Province
 
Chiang Saen, Chiang Rai Province
 

Been to Golden Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Triangle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Golden Triangle to your Saves list