We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy but perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort to your Saves list
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   229 Moo 1, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pricy but perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Absolutely exquisite hotel. Impeccable discrete service.
We arrived exhausted, late at night, had room service and went to bed.
We woke early to the most beautiful view from the bedroom window over the river.
Lovely big bath could fit 4 people in.
Pricy but very special.
Very little to do in the vicinity but ideal for a few days relaxation and peace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    79
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
128
305
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Anantara Golden Triangle was by far our favorite resort on our recent trip to Thailand and Cambodia. The service was impeccable, staff English was very good, restaurant staff were extremely nice and helpful. The attention to detail was stunning. At the end of our stay, we couldn't think of a single thing to criticize.

The elephants were, of course, a highlight. We did a Royal Elephant Arrival, which was a great way to start our vacation (and again, the attention to detail was suberb - we even got a fresh coconut to drink while riding the elephant, and the shells were then fed to the elephant). When we would wake up (early) in the morning, we could hear the elephants calling and could see them from our room.

Every morning a baby elephant was brought to breakfast, and the mahout stayed there each day until everyone had their chance to say hello and get some photos. The mahout training was great, and the volunteers were amazing - our camera battery died about 5 min into things, and a wonderful volunteer took great photos of us all day with her own camera and then gave us the photos on a USB stick. The hotel does a great job of incorporating the elephants as much as possible, so that guests get as much time with them as they want during their stay.

We did mahout training and the 3 country tour, both of which were incredible. The attention to detail in the planning of the 3 country tour really exceeded our expectations - every time we got into the car, there was fresh cold water and cold scented towels waiting for us, which was extremely refreshing in the heat (also they must have had a whole cooler full of cold scented towels!). Our tour guide was excellent, and while she did take us through a few markets that we had no interest in (e.g. the knockoff market in Burma), they were still interesting to see and she moved us along quickly once she saw we had no interest in shopping. We saw many temples, and our guide explained to us the history of each and the difference in the Thai and Burmese styles. The picnic lunch was also perfection, set up in a very nice spot (and with cold towels both before and after!). The food (from Anantara) was excellent and the driver and guide left us to enjoy our picnic alone, which was a nice touch.

We were there for Christmas, and the hotel did an amazing job of making guests feel at home. On Christmas Eve, the hotel even brought stockings filled with goodies to each room. That night, the hotel had a very nice celebration at their hilltop space, which featured local performers and artisans, as well as canapes, cocktails and baby elephants! A delicious gala dinner followed with more performances and another visit from a baby elephant. At the end of the night, they took you to light and send off a luminary, which was very thoughtful and beautiful. It was a very, very nice celebration, and unlike most hotel holiday celebrations, it was included in the all-inclusive package.

On our last day, we visited the spa, which was perfection. The couples spa suite was gorgeous, open air and had the same stunning views as the hotel rooms. Since we had to leave for the airport shortly after our treatment, we arranged for room service so that we could eat while we packed, and when we returned from our room the food was beautifully set out for us (and piping hot!). This perfect timing and thoughtful set up was exemplary of the service we received throughout our stay.

Overall I very highly recommend staying here, even if it means going out of your way. The elephants make for a very special experience, and the hotel service is some of the best we've had around the world.

Room Tip: A basic room is fine, all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Tuscany
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our four days here kickstarting our honeymoon.

DESIGN: Jungle lodge meets resort complex. Lots of wood, verandas and planting. Sense of the jungle surrounding and growing into the place.

STAFF: Fab all 'round. Some of the team have been here more than 15 years and it shows that they love their jobs. They are very happy, very experienced and very keen to help.

HIGHLIGHTS: Baby elephants visits every morning at breakfast... A great welcome for those arriving in the evening.
The sound of the jungle in the evenings and early mornings.... Plus the roar of elephants in the distance... Wonderful.
EXCURSIONS: Would recommend the Mahout Training with the elephants, the cookery classes and the spa treatments.

FOOD/CATERING: All-inclusive can sometimes be a disappointment but works brilliantly here... Lots of good food, the wines are acceptable and the choice of Thai or Italian works well in two different dining spaces so you can break up any monotony.

NEGATIVES: Some of the rooms were looking a little tired in places... And the balconies were gloomy, north-facing (so you got the views over to Mynamar/Laos and the elephant park) but they were dark and not very nice to sit out on and read a book...
Only other negative was the loudness of the pool jet-spa table... (water jets coming up through a bench)... It really destroyed the serenity.

ADVICE TO MANAGEMENT (minor things):
- Checkin girl forgot it was our honeymoon.
- Tour/excursion information was a little lacking.
- Should advise people doing cookery class to arrive hungry.
- There was a photoshoot taking place during our stay which closed off several areas. We should have been told in advance and apologies given for the disturbances (one day at the pool all we could here was the photo team in one of the bedrooms.... Not very peaceful).
GM didn't say hello or goodbye... In fact, we had to say hello...
- Some rooms need a refresh. A few cracks in the baths and woodwork on the balconies looking tired.


SUMMARY:
The great reviews here are testimony to the fact that this place is very special. It's not everyday you can spend time with elephants in such a setting.... then 10mins later be sipping a cocktail by a pool.
Go back? Yes, certainly...
Recommend? Oh yes...

Room Tip: Beware of the transfer... Our driver took us on an unprogrammed detour to a "Long Neck Karen/Ka...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

From the arrival we had one of their local experiences with the incredible arrival first pick up in the airport then a boat by the Mekong river and then a final arrival by elephant it made our arrival unique my wife and our friends love it. That the way o arrive to a hotel :).

We have to say that the staff is amazing always welcoming and ready to accommodate the customer at all times. In terms of the food we have an incredible experience for the 31th of December where the hotel managed to have a perfect organisation for all the multiple events and the cove beef with foie gra was just the cherry I in the top of the cake.

In terms of the elephant experience I have to say that it has been one of the most amazing things I have ever done in my live to go swimming in an elephant is just out of this world and the elephant are just amazing animals and everything is very well organized, recommend to do this mahout training.

In terms of the room they are very nice but they could have a little something to make the experience even greater but in general everything was just perfect from the swimming pool the views and 5 star service from the entire staff.
I have to say that the GM Christian and Marion made our stay perfect and took care of personally.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked this hotel for a few days as part of a tour of Thailand, we had been to Patong twice and wanted to see a bit more of the country this time.
This hotel is easily one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, there really is not any negatives I could give about it.
The view from the room/hotel is something totally unique to this area and you would have to see it for yourself to understand.
The way the whole hotel and grounds are presented fit in well with the surroundings and are perfectly maintained.
The staff are very attentive and pleasant at all times, just like I have experienced in all Thai hotels.
The food in the hotel is amazing, we used the Thai restaurant at night and had the breakfast. The food was excellent and the baby elephant joining you for breakfast is a good touch.
The elephant camp attached to the hotel is obviously the icing on the cake, we did the half day mahoot training where we went to meet our elephants, gave them a bath in a river then went for a track in the jungle around the hotel. Despite being in agony by the end I loved every minute of it.
The Opium museum is very close to the hotel, it is well worth a look. We walked the short walk there and the museum gave us a free lift back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked one night at this hotel at the end of a whirlwind trip through Cambodia and Thailand. It was a great relaxing way to end the trip. Everything about the hotel is top notch, and the grounds are just beautiful. Anyone going her should definitely choose the mahout training for your activity. Kong, Evan, Laura and the Mahouts were great and the whole experience was truly a once in a lifetime experience.

My only complaint is that the hotel is just too expensive. At $1400+ per night, we could only afford one night here, and that was a total splurge for us since it was our honeymoon. In addition, since we checked in early on the first day, we had to pay extra for lunch on the 2nd day because they only include 3 meals per night. For that cost, it doesn't seem like they should nickle and dime you over a meal!

That being said, I wish we could have spent more time here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This all inclusive package was the perfect way to end our fast paced trip through Southeast Asia. It's a gorgeous place to relax and the all-inclusive component made it so easy! The staff is really top notch, they quickly learned our names and were always helpful and there to be of assistance but not in an overbearing way. The food was phenomenal, (too good I probably gained five pounds in the few days we were there, haha). The mahut training was fantastic. I loved that there was a morning session, then some time to relax and then the afternoon portion. Also includes entry to the Hall of Opium which was fantastic, I just wish we had allotted a little more time for it (an hour was not enough). I would go back in a heartbeat and I will surely be recommending it!!

Very good for couples, families or even friends traveling together. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort

Address: 229 Moo 1, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into 160 acres of ancient jungle in northern Thailand, Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort rests on a bluff overlooking the fabled convergence of two rivers and three countries. The region also boasts a rich cultural heritage, as seen in the many hill tribe peoples or at the Hall of Opium Museum. At Anantara Golden Triangle, the natural and cultural merge at our unique onsite Elephant Camp, modelled on traditional mahout villages and home to the resort’s very own gentle giants. Book any of our indulgent All Inclusive Packages and enjoy the following benefits:•Accommodation with daily buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner for every night stayed•Roundtrip transfers from and to Chiang Rai Airport•Beverages (select range of non-alcoholic drinks, house wine, beer and spirits)•Internet access•In-room mini bar•One time visit to the Opium Museum•One activity for every night stayed from a choice of:oElephant Camp ExperienceoLanna Cooking ClassoAnantara Spa TreatmentoGolden Triangle Private ExcursionWhatever the experience, your Golden Triangle story begins with Anantara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Anantara Golden Triangle Resort And Spa
Anantara Resort Golden Triangle
Anantara Hotel Golden Triangle
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.