We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort to your Saves list
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Golden Triangle, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Queenstown, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We used the two nights here as a relax from the madness of travelling all over Thailand, The room we chose was Chiang suite which was very nice on the 5th floor overlooking the Mekong river. The room was well kept and came with a large lounge with seperate balcony which we used as a second room for our daughter. WiFi was free and the staff were nice but have limited English but enough to get by.The breakfast was a reasonable buffet for where you are and the restaurant food was average.There isn't much to do but go into Laos and purchase hard to find relics that are worth a fair bit in the west. Taxi's are rare so use the hotel van which is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a river view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you very much for staying at The Imperial Golden Triangle during your recent stay here in Chiang Saen/Chiang Rai and are pleased that you have taken the time to review our hotel through Trip Adviser. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can continue to improve our services to match the demands of our discerning and loyal clientele.
In the meantime, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and continued loyalty.

Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    67
    39
    12
    2
See reviews for
27
58
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is having a great view towards their restaurant end. I felt this hotel is great mainly because of this restaurant, food and their service. We had breakfast, and dinner here.The room is reasonably good with a good view, and we got a free upgrading to super deluxe room (probably due to overbooking). The view from our room was great. And it's also close to almost every interesting places that you plan to visit (wat, golden triangle, borders etc). Besides the hotel u can also arrange for a boat ride, so that u could view Laos and Cambodia even more closer. The only negative thing I felt was some bad smell in the room immediately we felt on check in, for which they sprayed some aerosols too..the room is very spacious and I recommend this for travelers with more piece and a good night stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you very much for staying at The Imperial Golden Triangle during your recent stay here in Chiang Saen/Chiang Rai and are pleased that you have taken the time to review our hotel through Trip Adviser. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can continue to improve our services to match the demands of our discerning and loyal clientele. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the dismay caused. The mentioned matters will be shared with our executive team and we will take immediate actions on it as we take pride in putting guests as our 1st priority.
In the meantime, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and continued loyalty.

Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALAYSIA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights and it is by far the best hotel in or anywhere near the Golden Triangle. The location is perfect! Only a 100 yards from the golden Buddha and several beautiful Wats. The Hall of Opium is 1k down the road and well worth a visit as it the Museum of Opium just 100 yards away. We also did a very quick and easy visa run while staying here...long boat to Laos and back in 30 mins!
The rooms are spacious, air conned, very clean, comfortable beds (a rarity in Thailand!) and have a kettle with free tea and coffee replenished each day. Some English movie channels on the TV and free wifi.
ALL rooms have a lovely large balcony with quality wooden furniture and all overlook the fabulous Mekong river.
It's serenely quiet at night, a massive plus!
There's very little do do at night in this area as there no bars at all! However, the hotel's elevated restaurant overlooking the river serves a simple but tasty menu and drinks are very reasonably priced, especially if you buy during happy hour (6 - 8pm) when most drinks are 100 Baht (£2).
Glorious pool, with towels & padded loungers provided...and best of all, there's never anyone using it so we had it to ourselves!
All of the staff are lovely, very polite and professional. The assistant manager Tam was superb! A, real credit to the hotel, he's always ready to lend a hand or answer any queries & loves to chat to the guests. He really takes pride in his hotel and clearly wants his guests to leave here with happy memories, which we did!
We were very sad to leave this very inviting hotel & I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the Golden Triangle!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful....they ALL have a balcony and they ALL overlook the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Noel and Ms. Jacky

We thank you very much for staying at The Imperial Golden Triangle during your recent stay here in Chiang Saen/Chiang Rai and are pleased that you have taken the time to review our hotel through Trip Adviser. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can keep and continue to improve our services to match the demands of our discerning and loyal clientele.

In the meantime, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and continued loyalty.

Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a tour of Thailand and this is a lovely hotel. Large rooms, immaculately clean, nice pool.

We didn't eat evening meal at the hotel but at the restaurant across the road which was lovely.

Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Ms. Carol A. N,

Thank you for taking time to notify us of your experience during stayed with us. We are very pleased to hear that you were enjoyed our service and hotel’s atmosphere.
We will share it with our team, for motivated them to keep up the good work.
We are looking forward to welcome you, family, your friends or colleagues in the near future. If you would like any further assistance, please don't hesitate to let us know at any time.
Sincerely yours,

Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for the second time and what a surprise, the view is still wonderful . Unfortunately they had still the same old tv's. The rooms need a make over and the food at the restaurant is a little boring.
Staff is very nice and helpful. If I would come back? Sure, but not for full rate....

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you very much for staying at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort during your recent stay here in Chiang Rai and are pleased that you have taken the time to review us through Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can continue to improve our services to match the demands of our discerning and loyal clientele.
We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with our lovely view and also appreciated that our staffs and service matched your demand and we will pass your compliments to the staff concerned. On the same note, we are pleased to inform you that we already changed the television on last year.

Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Have stayed at the hotel many times over the years and it is always a good experience.
The hotel has character, ambience and nice staff.

After checking in today, had some problems connecting our laptops to the internet and had to call front desk for assistance.
Technician came immediately to the room and quickly and efficiently resolved the problem,which was our computers, not the hotel system.
Very professional and polite.
Excellent job and attention.

Will of course stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for staying at Imperial Golden Triangle Resort during your recent stay here in Chiang Rai and are pleased that you have taken the time to complete our guest questionnaire. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can continue to improve our services to match the demands of our discerning and loyal clientele.
In the meantime, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and continued loyalty.
Looking very much forward to being at your service again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very impressive looking hotel. Large clean rooms with a balcony overlooking the river. Nice quiet swimming pool area. Rooms in need of updating as very old style tv and and decor. Very noisy early morning with doors banging when guests leaving their rooms plus can here toilet from next door flushing .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort . We are very appreciated you comments and would like to apologies for any inconvenience this may cause you.
We are pleased to take your comments to discuss and improve our guest room and do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again.

Please accept our apology for any trouble we have caused you. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort

Address: 222 Golden Triangle, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Imperial Golden Triangle Hotel
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.