We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a nice stay at this well-located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort to your Saves list
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Golden Triangle, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
604 reviews 604 reviews
372 hotel reviews
Reviews in 372 cities Reviews in 372 cities
782 helpful votes 782 helpful votes
“We had a nice stay at this well-located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you read the reviews here, you'll see that this is a 4-star hotel a little past it's prime. But so what. Rates on the web seem to run about $50/night including breakfast, and at that price it's an excellent value. The grounds are attractive and the rooms are still very comfortable and reasonably maintained. And there's a great view across the road of the Mekhong river and Laos and Burma. The breakfast buffet is decent, but not great. We, too, missed the bacon often found (surprisingly!) on many Thai breakfast buffets. At least there's a guy make omlettes and other egg dishes fresh upon request.

We found the Golden Triangle village to be more enjoyable and less tourist-thronged (maybe we came on a tour-bus-free day) than some guidebooks warned. The absolute best thing to do is take a 400 baht per boat, 1-hour ride up the Mekhong and to a small Laotian tourist market (entrance fee to Laos is only 30 baht here). Very pleasant if the weather is good. The dock is across the street from the hotel next to the Sriwan restaurant. The other not-to-be-missed attraction is the Hall of Opium (not to be confused with the smaller and less expensive House of Opium, which is pleasant enough but missable). The Hall is one of the most interesting museums I've ever been too, and you learn everything you ever needed to know about opium, drug abuse and the somewhat sordid history between Asia and the West.

The Sriwan is the best place to have dinner. Not the best Thai restaurant we encountered, but decent, affordable and with a nice riverside location.

If you're looking for souvenirs, there are many small shops lining the main street that will meet your needs. There's also a large Budda and some other temple-related structures in town that are worth a quick look. One day in this town is plenty.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort recently
We are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with our service and appreciate highly that you trust and given a chance we welcome you again.
We are looking forward to welcome you, family, your friends or colleagues in the near future. If you would like any further assistance, please don't hesitate to let us know at any time.

Thank you and best regards,

Theerada I
Hatel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    78
    44
    14
    3
See reviews for
28
75
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Booked a night after running out of a horrible guest house in Chiang Saen. The Imperial chain in Thailand was probably great 20 years ago but their properties are old and tired and this was no exception. Staff is friendly and courteous in the Northern Thai way. Hotel had great views of the Mehkong River and Myanmar and Laos are right outside your window. Rooms are tired and drab with lots of band-aids applied. Unless you're willing to spend hundreds, if not thousands per night at the Four Seasons or Anantara, this is a decent option. Honest breakfast buffet with cooking station for eggs but no bacon to be found. Huh? Pork missing in Thailand? Odd. Recommended for a night or two.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Mehkong. Some have renovated bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to notify us of your experience during stayed with us.

Since the hotel has constructed for a long time as the northern typical decoration and we do have attempts to maintain it in good condition by regularly maintenance and improvements. However, there may be some point to improve more as you comment and it will be in our renovation plan both rooms and variety of food as well.

Please accept our sincere apologize for any uncomfortable caused you. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us and awareness in becoming better.

We do hope you will give us a chance to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location right on the golden triangle. Rooms are dated and worn, with several scuffs and peeling wallpaper. Food was fairly average for a tour bus stopover point. All in all it's relatively inexpensive in a good location where there aren't many other options.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during stayed with us.

Since the hotel has constructed for a long time of northern typical decoration and we have tried to maintain it in good condition throughout. Therefore we have annual plan for renovation the hotel and your comment will be put in our plan as well.

Please accept our sincerest apologize for any uncomfortable caused you. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us and awareness in becoming better.

We do hope you will give us a chance to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Theeada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The bonus was the Thai restaurant across the road. Our room was on the first floor with a superb view over the river and a balcony. The first sound of crickets we had experience=d during the tour. The room was large but the bathroom was dirty, with pubic hairs in the bath, mildew on all the sealants and shower mat. The water pipes from the other rooms were noisy during the night and the buffet brerskfast was good if you like eggs or eggs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to notify us of your experience during stayed with us.
Please accept our sincere apologize for the uncomfortable caused you. We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us to improve and awareness in becoming better.

Looking forward to let us a chance to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

You wake up and look out of your window and you see the Mekong river with Burma on one ride and Laos on the other, a great view. The service in the hotel is great, rooms clean, restaurant is nice (SIT OUTSIDE). The pool is nice but there is no bar can take a little while to get drinks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your stay with The Golden Triangle Resort recently and high appreciated your positive review to trip Advisor.
You're satisfied with our hotel and staff service that is gratefully. We commit to keep it and would try to do for better.

Thank you again and we’re looking forward to welcome you again in the near future. If you would like any further assistance, please don't hesitate to let us know at any time.

Best regards,

Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here in 2007...as TA doesn't have a later date to enter so put it at jan 2012.....what a property and awesom spacious room and beautiful views and the location is very good all walking distances to shopping areas and the most important of all many many foot massages place all over the walk...so go for shopping and on your way back get your foot massage...what more can you ask for...

Room Tip: take room on the upper floors...as they have better views...next time i will
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to notify us of your experience during stayed with us. We are very pleased to hear that you were enjoyed our hotel’s atmosphere.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for more information at any times.

Sincerely yours,

Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed 1 night at the Imperial Golden Triangle as a base to cross to Laos via Chiang Khong.
I spent a bit extra to get the best location of the Golden Triangle, just a short walk to the sightseeing and shopping.
Found a great restaurant just across the road as the bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ImperialGolden, Manager at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you’re stayed at The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, and appreciated your good commends for us .
We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you and your colleagues again in the next visit If you have any requirement at the Golden Triangle please do not hesitate to let us know at any time.

Thank you very much.
Best regards,
Theerada I.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort

Address: 222 Golden Triangle, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Golden Triangle Hotel Chiang Saen
Imperial Golden Triangle Hotel
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.