We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serene at Chiangrai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Serene at Chiangrai Hotel to your Saves list
Serene at Chiangrai Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   569 Moo 1 Tambol Wiang, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Chiang Saen B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Serene is probably the best hotel option you're going to find on the Thai side of the Golden Triangle. Make sure you get a river side view because that's where all the action is.

I'd give the restaurant a miss. They throw in breakfast with the room, but it's not great. You also have to pay with cash.

Room Tip: Ask for a river side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    29
    19
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
49
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night - it's beautiful place! The sight from the restaurant as well as the pool was very nice (as you can see in the many travellers photos) and so was the service. The town hasn't got much to offer but the hotel is absolutely great at a very good rate.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had two nights at this hotel as a convenient location before heading into Laos and Luang Prabang on the boat. The hotel was fine, and had all conveniences you would expect from a tourist hotel.
We had a street view room, and although it was not noisy, the river view would certainly be a better option. These are slightly bigger and more expensive.
The view from the hotel over the golden triangle (from the bar) is very impressive.

We didn't use the pool as we didnt have time.

We ate at the hotel bar and this was very reasonably priced and good quality. Service was a bit slow, and the hotel was extremely quiet.

It is a short walk up to the golden triangle and big buddha and it is worth going to the temple at the top of the hill for a great view over to Myanmar and Laos.

Breakfast was quite basic but edible and overlooking the Mekong.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan da Cunha
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had to stay there before crossing the border to Laos and going to Luang Prabang. There is not much to see in the area and the other good hotels in the area seem outrageously expensive.

The Serene is not a bad hotel but although the rooms are spacious, they're very basic for the price. The river view is worth if you're going to spend some time in your room.
The restaurant is not so good and looks like a school cantina but unfortunately everything else was closed when we arrived.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The view is the only thing going for this hotel. We had a street view room which was prone to be noisy (even though the resort itself is deserted of an evening once the tour buses have left) Apparently there is a locals market down an opposite street selling fresh produce starting at 4am. We asked to move to a river view room but the cost was £20 per night extra so as we don't tend to spend much time in the room we thought we could enjoy the view from the restaurant which has a wonderful view of Laos and Burma, this wasn't to be. The breakfast is very poor, albeit an egg chef is available there isn't any other staff, weak orange squash, help yourself to cold coffee in a flask, such a shame considering the view off the seating verandah. Again no choice for an evening meal, we where told no Al a carte just the special board available which wasn't to our taste. Swimming pool to be fair we didn't use as it was cool whilst their, but no pool towels available and no padding on the few wooden beds. Disappointed with facilities overall.

Room Tip: Compare river view rates before travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Located on the Mekong River, the Serene is a centrally located, pleasant hotel with reasonable service, large, comfortable rooms overlooking the river and unremarkable breakfasts. This is not an issue as one can walk to other restaurants for meals. Near the market and tourist sights. Stay in the rooms overlooking the river if possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

1) I arrived at 4 pm, had a river view and had 2 twin beds made into king. Not too comfortable. Typical hard Thai bed...!
2) Had a foot massage, expensive and barely adequate. I am sure the young woman had limited experience.
3) Went for a walk to the night bazaar, nothing special except for some wonderful Thai traditional dance. Oddly there was a rock band playing simultaneously so the music competed and made it difficult to enjoy. Poorly planned.
4) Had dinner at the hotel restaurant, food was great, but the service was awful. I could not determine if it was because I was an older woman traveling solo, or merely poorly trained staff. English speaking waiter abandoned his tables.
5) I unknowingly, and accidentally nicked (lightly hit) a car in the parking lot on my way out. I was tracked down and told to return. Then I had to wait. Turns out it was the car of an employee and the dent was very small. To offset problems I offered to pay cash for the repair. The guy told me 3,000 baht. Turns out that a repair that size in most Thai body shops would cost a minimum of 750 - 1000 baht. I really felt that the guy saw me as a dollar sign and took big advantage of me.
Bottom line - why bother staying when it was not much better than a budget resort with the exception of the view? Poor value.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serene at Chiangrai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serene at Chiangrai Hotel

Address: 569 Moo 1 Tambol Wiang, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Saen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serene at Chiangrai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Serene at Chiangrai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene At Chiangrai Hotel Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serene at Chiangrai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.