We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seoraksan National Park

Seoraksan National Park
Sokcho, Gangwon-do, South Korea
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Sokcho
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A national park with beautiful mountainous nature, green forests, old Buddhist temples, a nearby beach and many other attractions for young and old. The air is fresh and it is simply gorgeous. There are many hotels in the area and other lodging options. It is worth it to stay here for a few days and just enjoy hiking in the mountains or walking in the beautiful nature.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    66
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Most beautiful place I've ever seen in my life. When going to Seoraksan, Geumganggul Cave is a must. My favorite part of the journey.

It's also nice to go when the leaves are changing colors, but obviously that's a limited time sort of thing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Seoraksan NP excellent for hiking, if crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Beautiful views, tons of other park visitors on holidays and weekends. Easy to follow trails, lots of Korean restaurants in the park.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This area is spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have now been to this area twice. Last year it was snowing and was like a crystal wonderland.
This year was at the end of summer and the area was so lush and green.
I went up in the cable car and it was well worth the trip.
The national park is very popular for hiking with Koreans but I think many of the wonders are yet to be discovered by foreigners. I was lucky to have a Korean showing me around.
Some of the areas are only accessible by hiking but there are many beautiful natural and rugged areas accessible by car.
A place make sure is on your itinerary.
There are entry fees for some areas and others are free.
Local food can be purchased in cafes and stalls around the main parking areas.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best trip on our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Busan and Jeju do not hold a candle to the raw beauty traveling from Seoul to Mt Seorak. The area is beautiful, Traffic a mess but if you use a taxi from bottom not bad. Make sure you carry umbrella as showers are common in fall. DO NOT MISS.
$Bill

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seoraksan National Park also viewed

 
Sokcho, Gangwon-do
 

Been to Seoraksan National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seoraksan National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.