We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ritzcal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ritzcal Hotel to your Saves list
Ritzcal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ritzcal Hotel
748-51, Nohak-dong, Sokcho, Gangwon-do, South Korea   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Sokcho
Hyderabad
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here last week for 3 nights. The place is clean, with clean rooms, clean bathrooms, air-conditioned and a restaurant serving basic stuff.
The hotel is reasonably well located with a couple of restaurants around and a short drive to town where there is a choice of restaurants including a McDonald!
However, the price we paid for rooms was a bit on the higher side for a place in a small town but I understand we were there on a long week end thus the higher rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here on a Friday night with 4 of my friends so we could hike Seoraksan early on Saturday morning. The rooms were a great price and we each had our own room. The rooms were a good size and much bigger than I was expecting for what we paid. We received a great rate on Agoda.com. Bathrooms are nice and you have pleasant amenities such as nice shampoo and even hair gel (if you need to look good for hiking). The man at the desk is friendly and stayed up late to await our arrival on Friday evening. Hotel is fairly close to Seoraksan Park, a little bit out of town, and easily accessible by taxi from the bus station. On early Saturday morning we asked the man at the desk in our broken Korean to book us two taxis to take us to the park, and they arrived promptly.

Only downsides: you will have a stiff mattress (but that is everywhere in Korea), and the breakfast restaurant wasn't open at 7am (which wasn't a big deal because there is plenty of food available on the mountain). Neither detracts from my top rating.

Great experience with this hotel and I would definitely stay here again next time I hike Seoraksan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed overnight here before going to Seoraksan. We got the ondol type room. The room is definitely more than I bargain for and it is a pleasant surprise. The receptionist was particularly helpful and very friendly. This is the best hotel that we'd stay-in during our 1-week trip. Just a bit of downside of the greatness, our room's toilet was easily blocked. It may be hit-it miss-it kind of room. They did gave a warning on that though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We got a very good rate from Agoda.com and were fully expecting a no-service motel. To our surprise, the hotel room (Western style) was large, decently furnished and very clean. Service at the reception was nice, with the staff giving us directions on public transport to Sokcho city and Seoraksan National Park.
As mentioned by earlier posters, the location, midway between Sokcho and the mountains, is not the best, with few amenities such as convenience stores and restaurants nearby. Best if one does not mind taking a bus or taxi (the fares are quite cheap, ranging between 5000 KRW to Sokcho and >10,000 KRW to Seoraksan). For those who prefer to stay more centrally, there are multiple lodging options in Sokcho and Seorakdong. Unfortunately, most are not advertised on non-Korean sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is midway between Sokcho Town and Mt Seoraksan. There is nothing much in the vicinity, though the hotel have a convenience store according to the information leaftlet they give us upon check-in.

The rooms are huge and have all the necessary facilities for a budget hotel. Air-con, wifi connection,TV. Hot water is available, as in the rest of the hotels we stayed in Korea, shampoo and shower gel are provided too.

Staff are friendly and able to help us with calling cab, and providing advise on getting to Mt Seoraksan.

Would not have stay here if the hotels in Seorak-dong are available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the korean style room (Ondol room) and really like it. It's clean and warm. Bathroom was clean and spacious, but no curtain attached. The receptionist guy was pretty helpful, some of them could speak good english (for Korea standard). 10 minutes from the Intercity bus terminal, and another 15 minutes to Mt namsan, we went there by taxi which cost us about 6000 won one way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night & booked it on last minute when we're in Seoul.
Location is far away from the city but you could try to one of the hot bath nearby the hotel which is only walking distance.
Our room was the korean-style room.
When we entered the elevator, you can immediately smell the cigarette.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ritzcal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritzcal Hotel

Address: 748-51, Nohak-dong, Sokcho, Gangwon-do, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Sokcho
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Sokcho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ritzcal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritzcal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.